We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great hotel, not great food”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying here. The room was spacious and spotless, the hot tub was great, the grounds were nice and the view of the golf course was beautiful. Our only complaint is the food. It's not worth the high prices. We had strip steaks for dinner that were just OK, and we ordered turkey BLTs from room service the following evening and were disappointed. However, breakfast was very good. Overall, we would stay here again, but will go elsewhere for meals. Also, I don't know if they have a spa, but there was a brochure in the room advertising in-room massage but it said to book in advance and so it was too late. I looked for spa information on the hotl's website but could not find anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves2travel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our future guests. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with your brand new guest room as well as the amazing views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean. I am sincerely sorry to hear that the food you received was not what you were hoping for. I will be sure to relay your feedback to our culinary team for review. For your reference, we do offer spa services here at the hotel through Pure Body Spa, which you can reach directly through your room at extension 5225. In addition, you can also check out the Spa at Torrey Pines, located directly next to the hotel. If you have trouble finding this information, please let our front desk know and they would be happy to assist in booking you a spa service. All this information can be found on our website under the hotel tab/Spa and Wellness on the main home page. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    480
    209
    89
    51
See reviews for
344
380
56
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a quick business trip. Got in late and had dinner at the restaurant. I'm hilton diamond so they upgraded me to a really great room overlooking the course and the pool. The breakfast was great as well and enjoyed the service from the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willgr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with your upgraded new guest room. Thank you for your loyalty as a HHonors member and for your continued support and commitment to the Hilton family. We truly appreciate your business. I am glad to know that you loved the beautiful views as well as the delicious food at our famous Torreyana Grille breakfast buffet. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSoto, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend at this hotel and it was delightful. Courteous and helpful staff, great location close to San Diego and spacious rooms. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avery397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent 5 star review and for choosing us as your San Diego hotel destination. I am delighted to know that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the courteous and attentive service that you received from the team. Thank you for your recommendation to our future guests and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This beautiful hotel is conveniently located close to the Torrey Pines Golf Course, UCSD University, art museum, etc. as well as the beach. Great for conventions or just a family outing. The rooms are large and clean. Garden and swimming pool area are relaxing and provide an excellent view of the ocean. Good food and drinks in the lounge for happy hour.

Room Tip: Ground floor has bush enclosed patio while upper floors have a better view but no privacy on the pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you loved our convenient and serene location nestled on the famous Torrey Pines Golf Course and overlooking the Pacific Ocean. I am pleased to learn that you were impressed with your large and brand new guest room as well as the delicious food and drinks in our Torreyana Lounge. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We love the Hilton at Torrey Pines. We have stayed there twice. The price is exceptional for the area. The views are just beautiful. You can walk to the Torrey Pines Park and Hiking trails in 10 minutes which has even more spectacular views. You can be at the Torrey Pine Beach in 20 minutes if you walk and about 5-10 if you drive. Ask for a room toward the end (away from the main building) of one of the hallways. I believe the views are better from there. You can be in La Jolla for dinning within 10-15 minutes. Great location for outdoor fun, and we don't even golf.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAndTiffanyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. I am overjoyed to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and that you felt our location was perfect for your travel needs. I am pleased to learn that you took advantage of all the amazing outdoor activities surrounding the property and that you love our hotel so much that this was your second visit. We truly appreciate your loyalty and recommendations to our future guests and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California, USA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This property is beautiful...offering a lovely ocean view. Nice bar, and centrally located near golf course. We went to Harry's Bar & Grill while we were here, but had drinks in the bar area and out on the patio which was lovely.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with the property as well as the amazing views. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your time at our Torreyana Lounge and that you were delighted by the drinks and service you received while visiting. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

For a hotel located in the middle of nowhere to charge $25/night for self parking seems outrageous when every other hotel offers it complimentary. There is no way to get to this hotel unless you drive, so I find it ironic. We swam at the pool which was nice, but the hot-tub in the spa had so much chlorine it was foaming over, burning our nostrils and basically forced us to leave after just a few minutes. Overall the rooms were clean, comfortable beds, and recently remodeled. If you expect a complimentary breakfast, think again. They charge $28 for scrambled eggs.

No thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your spacious and comfortable guest room and that you appreciated the amenities we offer our guests. I am sincerely sorry that the hot tub had too much chlorine in it. I will be sure to let our team know so that can be adjusted. I am very sorry that the parking fee was higher than you would have preferred and that you were displeased with the breakfast you ordered. For future reference we do have a full breakfast buffet for just $20 that includes a vast selection of fruits, cereals, yogurts and fresh baked breakfast breads, hot items and made-to-order eggs and omelets, juices, coffee or tea. This option may suit you better as it has a variety of options including eggs. Thank you for your feedback and I do hope that you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,051 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,163 reviews
2.6 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
4.0 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Property: Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing