We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"System Error"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Reservation and booking nightmare!! I went ahead and booked my reservation online and received a wonderful military rate of $60 per night since we were traveling in October for a one night stay...I thought the rate was fantastic...until today when I received an email letting me know that my rate was a "error" and that they were sorry and would have to charge me the $139 military rate...I am a week away from my travel date and now I have to look for another place to stay...I DO NOT appreciate having to pay for their "system error" I would uphold them to doing the right thing and maintaining the rate the confirmed through my initial reservation...getting an email was irritating and seeing how they jumped at the opportunity to cancel my reservation means I will NEVER stay at the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines...I will find another place who is not prone to system errors!! Travelers beware!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
3  Thank claucrasoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am extremely sorry and absolutely embarrassed for this issue. System error or not, none of our guests should ever be inconvenienced in such a way. I am sincerely sorry that this issue has caused you frustration as that is never our intention. I would like to further discuss this situation with you and see what we can do to make it right. Can you please email me directly at katie.ellison@hilton.com so that we can discuss in further detail. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,415 - 1,421 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a great time and highly recommend this location. We stayed in the standard room on the top (4th) floor and had a beautiful view of the garden and ocean in the distance from our private balcony. Book in advance on-line for best pricing and be sure to have them give you package with parking included if you drove in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Cary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to San Diego. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the beautiful views directly from your guest room. Thank you for your feedback and for providing your helpful tips to our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Location is beautiful, place is clean, and representatives pleasant. But don't try to check in before 4 PM, don't eat here, and know that there is no express checkout. 1. I checked out at 4 AM. How could there not be a bill under my door like every other hotel? 2. I had a turkey club for lunch. The turkey appeared to be of the kind you got prepackaged from the cooler section of your local supermarket. It was atrocious and you should be embarrassed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Kenneth M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of the property and that you found your accommodations clean and comfortable. I am delighted to hear that you found the team members pleasant and courteous throughout your stay. I am sincerely sorry that your bill was not available under your door when you were ready to check-out, however, you can collect this from the front desk if need be. I am also very sorry that the sandwich you received was not what you were expecting and that it was not to your satisfaction. I want to assure you that none of our food is prepackaged or of supermarket quality. All of our food is prepared fresh daily and made to order. My apologies that the sandwich you received was not to your liking. Please accept my sincerest apologies and I hope that these small incidences do not keep you from coming back for a future visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was my fourth visit to Hilton T.P in LaJolla. This time, I had a newly renovated room, which was quite nice. The employees are always top-notch and will go out of their way to make requests come to fruition.
I appreciate the amenities from being a Hilton Honors member, as well as the discounts on breakfast. The breakfast is average fare, but served well and you can't beat the views from this hotel-even from the restaurant. If the weather is nice, try to have breakfast on the large veranda. Nice!
Location is great for golf and/or jogging/hiking. I run to and from the Torrey Pines State Park trails each time I am at this property. Fabulous perk!
Definitely a go-to for business travel if you want to get some sense of "vac-a" on a business trip.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best, as they have better views and less noise from outside. 4th floor is best of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and for your continued loyalty to both our hotel and the Hilton brand. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit and that you loved your brand new guest room. I am ecstatic to learn that you found all the team members courteous and helpful throughout your stay and that you loved all the beautiful views from the hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I exclusively stay at this property when business brings me to San Diego. I love the view of the ocean and famous golf coarse. Of coarse the pool is magnificent and it the best way to enjoy the end or beginning of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Norma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visited the Hilton at Torrey Pines for three nights and we had a wonderful stay. The Hotel itself is situated on the Torrey Pines golf course with views of the ocean. It is conveniently located to La Jolla and San Diego without being situated in a loud touristy location. Big plus for us!

We loved the pool and spa as well as access to the Scripps exercise facility. The staff was very accommodating and service was fine. We only had breakfast drinks and a poolside snack one evening, which was good.

I would highly recommend the Hilton La Jolla at Torrey Pines. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the area. The lobby and pool areas are beautiful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMNYC60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you loved our relaxing and serene location overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course and the Pacific Ocean. I am pleased to know that you appreciated all the amenities we offer our guests and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We made reservations at another hotel and when we got there the hotel wasn't like the pictures
and the room smelled of mold. We were able to book the Hilton on line at the last minute and spent our whole vacation there. The service, the rooms, and the food was great. Saved the vacation.
Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 752Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us. I am overjoyed to learn that you were able to book a room last minute and that we were able to help save your vacation. I am pleased to know that you loved our brand new guest rooms and that you had wonderful service throughout your stay. We welcome you back the next time you are in San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
2.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,420 reviews
4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,091 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,151 reviews
4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $151 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing