We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, good food, not the best for ambiance in the dining and public areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pismo Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, good food, not the best for ambiance in the dining and public areas”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was there on a business conference trip. The room was large, the beds were comfortable, but the hotel felt a little old in the hallways. Noise from hallways were pretty loud. There wasn't enough area to accommodate people for meals for convention so I had room service most days which ended up being much easier than dealing with long lines and less than appealing food choices. (this could have been the fault of poor planning on the event directors and not the hotel) I did expect the hotel to be a little more high end, but it was a business trip, so I could overlook. I would not plan a vacation there unless I was there to golf. Beautiful views of the ocean and sunset from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonkers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    484
    211
    89
    52
See reviews for
351
387
56
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

For such a beautiful hotel, well kept, the dining experiece was the worst I have ever seen. Friends drove down from Los Angeles to enjoy a nice quiet experience looking over the ocean. Little did I know that the hotel allows kids to run through the restaurant yelling at each other and yelling from the staircase. I should have picked up with my guests and left because it got worse. NOT a great $300 experience.

Room Tip: Management told me they like to cater to families when asking them about this scene in the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel as well as our beautiful grounds and location. I am sincerely sorry to hear that your dining experience was not what you were hoping for and that you were disturbed during your dinner. I want to let you know that we don’t want any of our guests to be inconvenienced at any time and I am very sorry that your evening was not the relaxing one you were hoping for. I will be sure to relay your feedback to my team for review and consideration. I do hope that this one experience does not keep you from coming back to visit us in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a business geared hotel so usually the pool is either free of kids or not many, which is nice for adults. Great location between La Jolla and Del Mar and great for hiking in the Torrey Pines Reserve next door. Also do not miss going to watch the paragliders at the Gliderport nearby. It is mesmerizing to watch. The staff were all extremely polite, friendly and helpful. Only reason I don't give it an excellent is because it isn't a super luxurious resort, but it is very clean with good food and room amenities. And again, great location. Great patio to eat outside on overlooking golf course and horizon ocean view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great venue, super place to relax and unwind. A bit expensive but worth it. The hotel is within walking distance of the Torrey Pines Golf Course which is especially nice. Breakfast buffet is fabulous with all one can imagine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit with us. I am pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the property. I am happy to hear that you felt very relaxed and comfortable throughout your visit and that you appreciated our location situated right on the Torrey Pines Golf Course with beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean. I’m delighted to learn that you loved our delicious breakfast buffet at Torreyana Grille and that you had a pleasant visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

this hotel was stunning with it's ocean view right from the lobby to the pool and golf course. the staff was very friendly and service was efficient. I love hiltons they are always clean and very spacious. I will definitely be recommending Torrey Pines La Jolla to all friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent 5 star review. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel including the beautiful views and grounds of the property. I am delighted to learn that you found all the team members friendly and accommodating and your accommodations clean and comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I've stayed at this Hilton twice and hope to return many more times. Great service, comfortable rooms and a beautiful location! It is located near the Torrey Pines trails that allow you access to wonderful ocean views. Hike the trail and then return to the hotel for a swim. A perfect way to wind down after a busy day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing to stay with us for a second time on your recent trip to San Diego. I am happy to hear how much you loved the property as well as the amazing service, inviting guest rooms, and fantastic location and views. I am glad to know that you had a relaxing and rejuvenating getaway and we look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have been staying here for meeting and vacation time.mFirst floor rooms with garden view and patio are quiet. All recently renovated and beautifully decorated. All staff here are very helpful and friendly. Hotel is very lose to the Torrey Pines Nature Reserve.Make sure you take few bottles of water as these hikes are out in sun and some go down to beach. Great to be so close to this local treasure . Wear comfortable sneakers not sandals. Trails right along the Ocean with breathtaking views. Best thing is no cell phone towers so you don't have to listen to annoying loud conversations! Best to watch where you are walking so you do not fall off cliffs! Pool is lovely here and municipal gulf course is fantastic right next to hotel. Glide Port nearby too and you can sit there and watch the hang gliders or take a ride yourself! Just 10 minutes from hotel and you can have hotel shuttle take you there. Also hotel has great exercise facility if you wants to workout inside. Downside for hotel as not near other restaurants . You have to drive 15 minutes to downtown which is not that far but parking in La Jolla is at a premium. Best to take hotel shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardave413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,088 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
2.6 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
4.0 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Property: Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing