We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Torrance, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Location is everything at La Jolla Beach. This hotel was nice and we had a great time. The third floor beach view room was great. They set up chairs and umbrellas for you to sit in the sand. Facilities were clean and staff was great. A couple of ping pong tables were used by the kids quite a bit. Food was very good but a little pricey.
Overall, this hotel was a good value. Rooms are a little aged but it is a beach hotel not a fancy resort. Everyone is casual and laid back. We would go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    260
    92
    51
    36
See reviews for
383
206
29
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We loved everything about this hotel. Yes, the property has been around the block a few times, but we felt the staff and other services made our stay one of our best beach vacations. We were less then 20 yards from the beach where they offer great beach service such as beach chairs, umbrellas and even a beach BBQ if requested. The view from both inside and outside the restuarant and lounge is beautful and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My family and I just got back from a stay at La Jolla. This hotel can definitely use a makeover but to stay at a hotel on the beach in La Jolla, for this price, with this kind of customer service, I can over look the older decor. We were able to walk to great restaurants, a sundries store, rent kayaks, swim with sharks and seals, play at the park, and hang out on the beach (where the hotel sets up your chairs, towels and umbrella). So yes, be prepared, the hotel itself could be prettier, but everything else was stellar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristieEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We LOVED this hotel. We went to La Jolla Shores looking for a hotel we could spend most of our time at and be close to the beach. What we didn't know before our arrival is the ocean just a few yards from hotel door is a preserved area. Tourism was huge in the area. The beach was filled with snorkelers, scuba divers, kayaks, surfers, seals, sea lions, sharks (that don't bite humans), sting rays, and other sea life. The hotel dining experience was amazing because it was delicious and priced affordable. The hotel staff was very nice and friendly. The cleaning ladies were amazing. This vacation was everything we wanted and more. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I read the reviews on here prior to booking the hotel and they are spot on....this is why I LOVE trip advisor! I will just give brief overview of my stay. To put this into perspective, I was leaving a Ritz Carlton in Dana Point and coming to La Jolla Shores.....PLEASE understand that at the Ritz you pay for the experience as well as incredibly nice rooms--At La Jolla Shores you are paying strictly for location. Yes the room was nice, I booked room 335 (Which I would book again), an oceanfront suite which was again, nice (Spacious, vaulted ceiling) but the quality is lacking. I have NO problem with this as I knew exactly what I was booking so I was not disappointed. However, had I not read the reviews I may have been somewhat confused with cost/quality.
That having been said, the location was PERFECT! I mapped out everything I wanted to do and was able to do even more than that due to the convenience of the way the city is mapped out as well as ease of getting places. It was on the weekend so I'm sure the lack of traffic worked in my favor. I had less than 48 hours in San Diego and was able to do everything I wanted. La Jolla Beach, Cove, saw the seals, Museum of Contemporary Art, the Living Room for coffee, dinner by La Jolla Beach and in downtown La Jolla, gelato, and then the few hours I had before needing to be at the airport I was able to briefly check out downtown San Diego. Shout out to Ben at the front desk of La Jolla Shores who not only gave me great recommendations on restaurants but walked me outside to put me in the right direction of them.
Overall, I would absolutely stay here again and I would also recommend this to beach lovers who truly want a great overall experience, not afraid to pay a little extra for it, and not obsessive over the lack of marble sinks and pristine bedding.

Room Tip: 335-King bed suite all the way! Oceanfront, Sunset views, top floor! Why stay at the beach if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a beachfront unit with kitchen. Yes the room was a little dated, but it was clean and the views were wonderful. We were up early every day and were able to walk the beach or head to town to walk along the Cove. As far as issues, the air conditioning unit was not particularly effective and its location near the floor in the corner was difficult to get to and air floor was blocked by the bedside stand. The curtains that covered the wall to wall windows and door to the deck also were strangely situated. You had to open them all the way from left to right to clear the sliding door to the deck. It would have been nice to open the opposite way so you could open them just far enough to get out onto the deck, particularly if the other person wanted to continue sleeping.

The service was fine and the young men tending the beach chairs and towels were always nearby. You are charged $18 per night parking which I feel is nitpicky. For the price you pay it should just be included in the daily room rate. We would stay at the Shores again sometime. You can't beat the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I celebrated my 60th birthday with about 50 friends and family and several of us stayed the whole weekend in the beachfront rooms overlooking the ocean and beach. All of my guests said they had a wonderful time and what a beautiful place it was to hold a celebration party. The food was wonderful, the sunset was gorgeous and the sound of the ocean. It doesn't get any better than that.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but the beachfront room is my favorite. You can sit on your balcony and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
#4 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Property: La Jolla Shores Hotel
Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3199 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TIG Global, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing