We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but needs updated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lovely town and lovely views, but this hotel was built in 1970, and you can tell. Staff is great, and while it is very clean, I was not impressed with the room for the price. There are some great restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: You want the ocean side not ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dddaniel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed a couple nights at La Jolla shores hotel. Overall I would rate the hotel above average. I would say the hotel itself is average, but the fact that it is right on the beach makes it above average.
I will simply express the pros and cons:

PROS:
Right on the beach.
Right next to a park (nice with kids)
Restraunts and shops only 1 block away.
Wifi included
Front desk check in was professional (can't say the same about checking out)

Cons:
Pay 17$ per day for parking below the hotel. We were there on a Saturday night and it was tough to find a spot. No problems finding spots on the other nights.

Rooms are dated. Carpets are frayed, wallpaper frayed.

No HDTV

May put you right next to a wedding party we were not even a part of. (this can be a coastline view room such as ours)...so caution on weekends.

Ben, the gentleman who checked us out wasn't very professional in my opinion. When he asked how our stay was...I said fine except that first night was very loud with the wedding reception right outside our room (loud music, ect). His response was "that sounds about right". Was not too impressed about that response. I do not think he realized how this comes off, and will say that all the other staff I dealed with were very kind.

So overall above average hotel because of location only.
If you don't mind some noise, don't mind the rooms being a bit dated, want to be right on the beach then this is the hotel for you.

I would stay here again, but only if I stayed in ocean front room. We stayed at coastline view room.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xShanex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We planned 2 surprise parties for our daughters 16th birthday. Our rooms were ready early and we were able to decorate and drop off items before she arrived. Staff was so helpful and friendly. We took advantage of beach services and had tables and chairs set up for our guests, along with a BBQ. What an easy way to have a beach party! Great location, great friends and great staff. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The rooms where fabulous, beds were very comfortable. The location is amazing, walking distance to everything and its right on the beach!!!
The staff was very helpful and pleasent. We will be returning here for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilochkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the La Jolla Shores Hotel as this was site of the wedding we attended for the weekend. The wedding was fabulous and the dinner was excellent. This is a good place to stay if you want to be by the beach. Beach side staff are really helpful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If the ocean is your #1 priority and you are willing to pay any price to be ON the beach, then this is the hotel for you. Book a third floor, full ocean view room and you won't be disappointed. However, if you have priorities that extend beyond the ocean, reconsider your choice. I have mostly positive things to say about LJSH; although I feel compelled to issue a public service announcement about expectation management. This is one of a very few hotels in the greater San Diego area that is smack dab ON the beach. As such, you will pay a small fortune to stay here, especially if you book an ocean view room. The value that you place on your proximity to the beach will determine how you feel about the price you are paying, because the beach is the only reason they are able to charge as much as they do. The hotel rooms are nice, but they are not luxuriously appointed by any stretch. It is an outdoor hotel with no interior walkways and neat freaks will likely take issue with the amount of sand/bugs/birds they will come in contact with. Our hotel room (3rd floor, full ocean view) was incredibly spacious and adequate. We were beyond pleased with the quality of service and food at the hotel restaurant. Likewise with regards to room service. The hotel offers a wide range of beach amenities, but they are hit or miss. For example, the hotel claims to set up beach chairs/umbrellas/towels for its guests, but we spent three hours on the beach the day of our arrival and no staff member was to be found. When my husband inquired inside, the only answer we received was "he should be out there." Service in general was hit or miss. We were greeted by a very unpleasant young man who failed to give us a parking card for the garage; however we were checked out by a very helpful young man who was eager to please. The thing you have to remember with hotels like this is that there will always be a surplus of people who want to stay ON the beach, and there are few hotels that can offer such geography. They have the corner on supply and demand, so they have no incentive to provide five-star service. If all you care about is the beach, you'll love it here. If you want an experience that matches the price you are paying, you might consider another hotel. All in all we enjoyed our stay. However, the next time I pay $700 a night to stay at a hotel, it will be one that offers more than just the beach.

Room Tip: If you aren't concerned about price, third floor ocean view is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeterminedExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was our first stay here. After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to try it out. You will not be disappointed. The hotel is right on the beach. About 10 steps and you are on the sand. The family in the room next to us had asked if we heard their little one crying the evening before, but we did not hear a thing! Very quiet and clean property. The few issues that we had were taken care of right away - the air conditioner would not turn on (it got warm in the afternoon). Maintenance was up within 5 minutes to fix. We rented Room 336, third floor ocean view with kitchenette. We sat on our balcony most of our visit...we did venture to the beach a couple of times, but the view from the third floor was wonderful.

A large Vons grocery is a short 5 minute drive away. All the restaurants we tried 1/2 block away were wonderful. There is a small grocery also 1/2 block away, with just about everything you could need from diapers to peanut butter to sunscreen, to beach toys. Parking downstairs was easy in and easy out. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our most favorite thing: location location location! Our least favorite thing? That we had to leave this wonderful spot!

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with an ocean view. It is great fun to watch the dolphins and seals swim by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4funn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,190 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,379 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range: $219 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For decades, the La Jolla Shores Hotel has been the year-round beach retreat of choice for families and vacationers of all types. Nestled right on the ocean in the popular La Jolla Shores, CA community, the hotel’s friendly, warm and welcoming staff is a highlight of the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing