We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“will do again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
surprise
1 review
“will do again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It is an older hotel, but very clean and nice having such close access to beach! Staff was amazing! Very Nice restaurants within walking distance. It was nice having the umbrella, chair and towel service at beach side.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvickaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    260
    92
    51
    36
See reviews for
383
206
29
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights during the week. The location right on the beach can't be beat! We arrived late afternoon and ate an early dinner. Spent sunset playing at the beach with the kids and having a nice walk down the shore. Pros: amenities like ping pong tables, beach chairs, towels, umbrellas. DVD selection good but not much for families. Good restaurants nearby- we enjoyed Piatti. The beds are comfortable and the shower water pressure is good. Cons: dirty carpets in room, connecting door right by side of bed so noisy neighbors kept us up. Also, the balcony can be a negative if noisy neighbors occupy the one next to yours. Even with the cons, we'd probably return for off season rates, but not again for high season price and crowds.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfam97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

As a busy executive assistant, I truly depend on hotel staff to ensure requests are met since I am not able to be there physically to double-check. Unfortunately, both requests (which took me time to fill out hotel paperwork, scan, and email back, twice) did not happen. I had assured our guest that the room was on us and that there would be a nice bottle of wine and snack basket for her upon arrival since she would be there for a while before dinner. It was quiet embarrasing to find out, not from the hotel but from our guest, that nothing was ever set up in her room and that they insisted on having her CC to swipe upon departure. She didn't want to cause a fuss so she just gave them her card. Disappointing to say the least. Front desk manager apologized once i called. Although he said they would make it up to me if I tried them again, offering something today ie: lunch, snack basket etc...to woo me back would have been a nice gesture.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is amazing, expecially for weddings. We had a wonderful experience with Jennifer Nesovic, of LJSH: She helped in every way! She honored what our original contract said and was very helpful. The staff was friendly and prompt in responding to requests. Our wedding guests raved about the location and the wedding itself. The food was especially out of this world!

Room Tip: PIick an ocean view room and ask for one on the top floor; it is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Thank you for making our first visit to San Diego perfect! We stayed 5 nights and the staff was wonderful. The shuttle around La Jolla was a big benefit to us. It allowed us to see so much of La Jolla and the drivers were very friendly. The shuttle was always available in a timely manner. The room was clean and the bed was supper comfortable. The jacuzzi closed and 10 pm and we would have liked to see it open a bit longer. We wanted to relax after our full days of hiking, surfing, and sight seeing activities. The location of the hotel was so convenient to all the fun stuff in the area. We will be returning for another vacation. We can't wait to see you again!

Room Tip: Did not use spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

What a superb place to stay in La Jolla! We had the deluxe beachfront room that served the three of us quite nicely with my wife and I in the king bed and our daughter on the sofa bed in the living room. The kitchenette was well stocked with all needed accessories and we prepared a couple breakfasts will there. We found a Von's not too far away in town. This place is right on the beach! Our third floor balcony had a perfect view of La Jolla Cove and we could watch kayakers, swimmers and surfers from our vantage point. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice touches include ping pong in the courtyard, shuttle service to La Jolla destinations by request, beach staff to provide umbrella, beach chairs and towels, and a foot shower on the was back into the facility. You can even schedule an on the beach cook out dinner.
The many restaurants of Avenida de Playa are only a very short walk away. Note that we only found Voluez Vouz Bistro open before 9AM but it served us quite nicely. Many other good places for lunch and dinner. Plenty of Italian for some reason.
I highly recommend La Jolla Shores!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a beachfront room. We liked the top, third floor and there are elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a great place to stay. Impressive staff, outstanding location, and big clean rooms. We wished we could have stayed longer. The complimentary beach chairs and umbrella made the trip complete and felt like hotel service from another era. Do pay the extra to park in the hotel parking garage, street parking is nearly impossible. Before we even checked out, my family was talking about their next return.

Room Tip: Coastal view room with balcony has a great view and fun for people watching. However, beach activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skipflannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
#4 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Property: La Jolla Shores Hotel
Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3199 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TIG Global, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing