We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple rooms at great beach location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
intl
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simple rooms at great beach location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The best thing about the La Jolla Shores hotel is its location and that is why it gets a review of 4 out of 5 (rather than just 3). The hotel itself is a bit worn and needs renovation, but the rooms are spacious, even if very simply decorated with outdated furniture. This is the kind of place you stay at for the convenient location, but not to spend your time in the hotel.

We got a special rate that was cheaper than any of the hotels in downtown La Jolla and got a beachfront room for less than the published rates, so it was a really good value. If you are planning to spend a few days on the beach and relax and don't want to drive, their free shuttle service is great. We used it to have us dropped off and picked up at our convenience around La Jolla (downtown La Jolla, UCSD, the UTC shopping mall) and did not have any problem booking the service.

Room service is reasonably priced for hotel standards and there are also several restaurants nearby (walking distance). For breakfast or lunch, you can walk down the beach to the cafe located at the Scripps Institute (cheap, quick and with a great terrace).

We found the beach service to be lacking. There was supposed to be someone to give you a towel and chair for the beach, but we did not see anyone throughout our whole stay (other than in the evening, when they packed it all up). You can probably ask at reception though, and just wait a bit longer.

The beds are not particularly comfortable and the A/C is loud and does not work very well, but I would recommend this hotel if you can get a good rate ($150/night) and your main interest is to be on the beach. (Not a place to spend a cozy weekend in the room though).

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and might be bothered by the sound of the ocean at night, don't get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewer-intl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    287
    107
    58
    41
See reviews for
423
229
34
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We very pleasd that we choose the La Jolla Shores hotel for our 1st trip to the San Diego area. The property is right on the beach with spectacular sunset views of La Jolla Cove. The room was very clean and had a fully equiped kitchenette that came in handy for breakfasts and reheating doggie bags. Also, the restaurant at the hotel was very good. We ate there a few time during our 9 day stay and was never disappointed -good food / good service. Be sure to check out daily Happy Hour.

The hotel's location is very convenient to downtown La Jolla (< 2 miles) and about a 10 to 15 minute drive to San Diego proper & Coronado.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front rooms. A little more money but you can watch surfers, dolphins, and sunsets f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed at the La JOlla Shores a dozen or so times -- it has become one of my favorite places. There is nothing fancy about the hotel -- it has a very 1960's motorcourt kind of look and feel BUT the staff are helpful and non-intrusive. The rooms are comfortable and serviceable (love the refigerator!) but not posh. Hotel has a pool, hot tub, and fitness center. For early risers (like eastcoasters wide awake at 4AM) there is a complimentary coffee bar in the lobby. Restuarant has good food and a quicky, genuinely retro bar. The entire facility is authentic. So what makes it my favorite place? The VIEW! The hotel is the only hotel in the La Jolla area that is directly on the beach! It is so much fun to sit on the patio and watch surfers, paddlers, and become a part of laid-back beach life. The hotel is right in the LJS village and there are tons of small charming restuarants. A half hour walk including the cliffside coast walk route tales you to the Village of La Jolla. I am always here for business -- one of these days I am coming just for a holiday.

Room Tip: If you go don't settle for any room without an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartlander_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Pizza for two under $20 dollars room service? You got it! Beach, view of the ocean, good service? You got it! Pool, block away from great restaurants? You got it! No complaints? You got it! Parking garage was a little pricey at 19 dollars a day but I found the convenience could not be beat. Weekend parking can be a challenge in La Jolla, so I appreciated the convenience. All day parking means you can leave your car in the garage after check out and just hang out with family or friends with no hassles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank day3tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chugiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We truly loved the location of this hotel...right on a beautiful beach. The weather was not overly nice but it would have been great fun on a sunny day. The layout and design is beautiful, and the amenities are nice. My only complaint is that the walls were paper thin...so much so that we could hear the person in the room next to us coughing all night. Lots of traffic noise as well. It did put a damper on our stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kikiak246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My Marine son and I enjoyed almost a week away..he is stationed in San Diego, but felt like he was on vacation too! Amazed how driving just a few miles away can seem like a world away! Really nice hotel - easy to find and just minutes from most things. Their restaurant there is awesome too, with tables right on the oceanside! We relaxed and caught up as we sat and ate and watched the endless waves wash on shore! Relaxing and fun! The room was large and comfortable and had everything we needed in it. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Only one night, but it was New Years, and it included dinner and breakfast. That's only one day a year, but it gave me a good view of the place and the food facilities. The hotel is RIGHT ON the Pacific. In fact, our bed was likely not more than 100 feet from the gentle waves. Very nice. The hotel is a tiny bit worn...but the excellent and generous details, great food and very friendly and helpful people make it an excellent place. The beach on New Years was an incredible sight. Dolphin racing past, surfers, kayakers, long distance swimmers, "frogpeople" (there's an underwater park just offshore), happy walkers streaming up the beach...hang gliders to the North, hot aiir baloons, famous Black's Beach (clothing optional) up the shore, charming downtown La Jolla just down the shore, Scripps Institute...yikes. The New Years Eve dinner in the restaurant was really delicious and special...same for breakfast the next morning. Nice little shopping area with beachgoods and food, about 2 blocks away. We had a great time and that was in about 18 hours total.

Room Tip: Ocean view are right on the water...worth the extra dough. The mid- level rooms face the park next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.2 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Property: La Jolla Shores Hotel
Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3199 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing