We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Memorial Day Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Memorial Day Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I had a blast staying here. I got the La Jolla Suite and the view from the balcony is fantastic. The hotel staff are friendly and took care of my requests promptly. However, I was a bit uncomfortable with the cleanliness of the hotel. I found a bra behind the dresser and some sands on my bed sheet. That made me wonder if their housekeeping crew cleaned the whole place thoroughly. Nonetheless it was a good stay and we all had an awesome time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glo116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    294
    114
    62
    44
See reviews for
444
239
37
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We are here at the La Jolla Shores to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. Will McBride at the front desk is the most personable Front Desk Manager we have ever encountered. (and we have traveled a lot!) We were given a room with an ocean view, recommendations of where to dine, (Azul Steakhouse at La Jolla) we received a free entre' and dessert there because we were recommended by Will, and then I just opened the door to a bottle of bubbly with a handwritten card to celebrate our Anniversary. Wow!! This place is the best. The people, the view, the location, everything is AMAZING!!! They even have a courtesy van that took us to the restaurant and stopped a minute for a few groceries on the way back. Life is good. Thanks for everything!!! This place ROCKS!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UtahCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

A trip to San Diego would not be complete without a stay at this hotel. We have been returning for 25 years. The bar and restaurant are front row seats for the gorgeous sunsets. This hotel is one of the few in La Jolla where you can walk out of your room and be right on the beach. There are some good restaurants including "The Shores" in a two block walk. The area is very safe. The hotel staff is nice and helpful and there is a courtesy van available to take you to town. The rooms are large and quiet. This hotel provides a very relaxing stay!

Room Tip: We like the ground floor garden view in front of the pool. It is the best view (pool and ocean) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wsc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Great location! Right on the beach. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The room itself was nice, nothing exceptional, but very clean. The hotel was within a 30 minute walking distance to town, but a small convenience store and a few restaurants were a 2 minute walk away. Underground parking is available on site for $16 a day. If you are traveling with kids, there was a great little park / playground adjacent to the property. The Shores restaurant in the hotel served a good breakfast and has ocean views. I definitely would recommend this hotel for a San Diego trip and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Ocean views are available if this is important for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PharmerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Awesome location right on the sand. Lots to do. Great food. We were here for a wedding which took place right on the beach. Overall, this was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
391 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This place is such a great location to vacation or just relax. It is on the beach so every day walking the shore is possible right from the hotel itself. The staff from the time you encounter the desk clerks to the cleaning people, maintenance folks, security and restaurant staff are excellent. Everyone is there to provide you with satisfactory customer service. They are courteous, helpful and charming to deal with for anything you ask.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a wedding -- which was right outside the hotel on the beach. The receptions was also at the hotel. Everything was gorgeous -- from the beautiful courtyard in the hotel to the reception area. The dance area was small, but this wasn't a big wedding (100 or so). The food was AMAZING! And the rooms were comfortable (we had a beach front room, so who can complain about that!) We sat on our patio each day and enjoyed the sights and sounds of La Jolla. The front desk staff was also friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Go beach front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickettclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Property: La Jolla Shores Hotel
Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3199 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For decades, the La Jolla Shores Hotel has been the year-round beach retreat of choice for families and vacationers of all types. Nestled right on the ocean in the popular La Jolla Shores, CA community, the hotel’s friendly, warm and welcoming staff is a highlight of the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TIG Global, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing