We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome Accommodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
304 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Awesome Accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

This place is such a great location to vacation or just relax. It is on the beach so every day walking the shore is possible right from the hotel itself. The staff from the time you encounter the desk clerks to the cleaning people, maintenance folks, security and restaurant staff are excellent. Everyone is there to provide you with satisfactory customer service. They are courteous, helpful and charming to deal with for anything you ask.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bclooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    278
    96
    56
    40
See reviews for
407
222
33
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a wedding -- which was right outside the hotel on the beach. The receptions was also at the hotel. Everything was gorgeous -- from the beautiful courtyard in the hotel to the reception area. The dance area was small, but this wasn't a big wedding (100 or so). The food was AMAZING! And the rooms were comfortable (we had a beach front room, so who can complain about that!) We sat on our patio each day and enjoyed the sights and sounds of La Jolla. The front desk staff was also friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Go beach front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pickettclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Only two hotels on the beach, La Jolla Shores is a nice find. The physical condition of the hotel is very good considering the location. Excellent room - 332, with view of ocean, beach, and park. Quality room, very clean, but beds (only negative) need to be replaced. Front desk staff are exceptional. Highly recommend this hotel. Super easy access to La Jolla (minutes). Hotel will shuttle you--if needed. Go to Alfonso's for great Mex.

Room Tip: Room was excellent, but beds are too soft. Suggested to front desk to replace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBtravelsSf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was our second stay at La Jolla Shores, both times in a beach front room. This time it was #341, one of the only two room suites. It was a fantastic room all the way around, with great kitchen, comfortable bed and sofabed, and plenty of space. The real story here though is the large portal, (porch), directly above the beach. And what a marvelous beach it is, with something for just about everyone. The location of this place just couldn't be better. All the surf, scuba, kayak, and bike rentals are right up the street and it is as close as one can be to the beach. Did I mention how great this beach is? The atmosphere of the hotel is friendly and low-key. Service was excellent and the restaurant is fantastic. The bar has a particularly nice view of the ocean as well. The well equipped kitchen made it very easy to prepare many of our own meals, leaving room in the budget for the hotel's fine cuisine, or that of several nice places a short stroll up the street. What I miss most since leaving is the constant sound of the ocean calming my nerves and helping me relax. We have decided this will be our go-to place for beach vacations from here on out.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms can't be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackkotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

There is not other place to stay other than rich next door, if you want to steep out onto the beach from your hotel. La Jolla Shores recently updated rooms with new bedding, carpet, and tile was a much needed improvement. In Room fridge is nice and the amenities are nice as well. The Restaurant menu needs a total overhaul. Eating on property not recommended, other than what you can expect normally. Bacon and Eggs, Club Sandwich hamburger crowd.Surprisingly Not a great seafood place. Add Shrimp cocktail, oysters, clams and mussels to the menu, along with fish and chips. Other than the food you can't beat this place for its location. If beach is what you want, beach is what you get! You definitely get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room. Its a little more quiet than having somebody stomp around above you. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasquatchonsugarlaof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I just got back from my vacation at the La Jolla Shores Hotel. I was visiting my sister who lives in La Jolla and this hotel was only 8 minutes (driving) away from her house and it was perfect! I didn't have an ocean view room, which I didn't mind A) because I wasn't in the room much and B) all you have to do is walk 6 feet and you're on the beach! The rooms were exactly what I expected, nothing fancy, but perfect and clean! Which is way more important. Everyone was extremely helpful at the front desk. We were able to walk (1.5 miles, some uphill) to Prospect Street which has shopping, restaurants and bars. There were also plenty of shops and restaurants a lot closer as well. The open concept of the hotel was really awesome and it wasn't a 'stuffy' hotel, for example, they didn't give us dirty looks if we came in late or made a bit of noise. I had a sliding door and 'patio' which was just 2 chairs and a table pretty much in the lobby but it was privatized by some trees. Again, this wasn't an issue for me as this hotel served the purpose of sleeping in only for me. I ate breakfast only in the hotel, twice. The eggs benedict and bloody mary were great! I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

I would highly recommend room 335. It was huge with a sitting area, two sliding glass door looking directly at the ocean. Nothing better than waking to the sound of waves and having coffee on deck watching surfers and dolphins swimming by. The room was more updated that previous reviewers claimed. The service from Raul at the front desk was unbelievable. He was more than helpful and very friendly. Derrick was also very helpful and friendly in assisting us with our luggage and beach service. The hotel is very relaxing and is only 1/2 block from a few restaurants and surf shops. The Cheese Shop has amazing sandwiches/salads for a great price considering you are in La Jolla. The Sushi restaurant had the most amazing sushi and was also priced quite well for the neighborhood. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant...it was a little more expensive but you have a view of the ocean! I would recommend this hotel, we were very satisfied our stay!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a ocean view...you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Property: La Jolla Shores Hotel
Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3199 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TIG Global, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing