We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Romantic with great restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Tustin, California
1 review
“Romantic with great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

Went with my hubby for our anniversary. It was very romantic, clean, and modern. We absolutely loved the NINETEN restaurant of the hotel. Their prixe fix menu was outstanding. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babyruth627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    400
    129
    37
    17
See reviews for
422
639
61
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

I put together a group of 15 rooms for a weekend gathering. The Grande Colonial staff was expert at helping facilitate all airport transfers and events. The guests all felt pampered and happy with the hotel. The bar is a fun place to hang out. The restaurant is excellent and has and excellent atmosphere. The pool is lovely and makes for a nice afternoon. I recommend the Grande Colonial!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneLabovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

I stayed here for a meeting with colleagues in September. What a great place. The hotel is perfectly situated in La Jolla and it seemed like they had recently put some money into it. My room was kind of old-school classy with oversized couches and chairs. They had to put in the big furniture or the room would of looked empty...it was HUGE! What I really loved is the windows opened up so you could hear the ocean at night, and could take advantage of that wonderful sea air. We ate most all of our meals onsite...I wish it would of been every meal. The food was spectacular...creative and delicious. During our meetings, if we needed anything, they were there to help. This is a great hotel and I'll definitely be back with family in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThehillHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

I work for a company coordinating training groups that regularly stay in the La Jolla area. We have been using The Grande Colonial for several years and have routinely experienced first-rate service, facilities and attention to detail. The friendly staff is consistently professional and extremely efficient. Accomodations are lovely and well-appointed and the food is always excellent. Based on all of the positive comments we have received, we will continue to hold our group meetings at The Grande Colonial and would recommend them without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoffmanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

I was looking for an off-the-beaten path location to host my team for a few days; and, zeroed in on La Jolla. As I didn't have much insight to the area, I really dug through online reviews and websites of the various higher-end properties. After interviewing a couple of the sales manager's, I chose this property because it was obvious over the phone that they wanted our business, were willing to earn it, and were a very service-oriented boutique property within walking distance of really anything in the area.

My onsite experiences far exceeded my initial hopes as the staff was extremely accommodating, warm, friendly, and took a sincere interest in the success of our meeting.

I've stayed at numerous properties of this caliber, as I travel extensively on business; and, I can honestly say that I never experienced one bit of attitude...which is quite rare! To the contrary, I felt like we were staying with old friends!

To boot, the onsite restaurant is one of the best in La Jolla....which really accentuated our stay and the meals we had throughout our meeting. The conceirge went out of her way to help us arrange a number of dinners and extracurricular activities! Finally, the sales manager (ask for Audra) and executive meeting specialist (ask for Libby) treated us like royalty...loved the truffles and I simply can't get those cinnamon rolls out of my mind!

We'll be back for another meeting; but, I'm really looking forward to another trip with my wife for a romantic getaway! This is the perfect spot for either!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTnTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

My company has used this hotel for past 6+ years and we continually receive positive feedback. Would recommend this hotel to all business and pleasure travellers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tflemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

The Grande Colonial is my favorite hotel in the United States for holding small conferences. I organize conferences all over the country and overseas, and I have not encountered such a friendly and professional staff in any other place. They are all superb. I've been coming back to the Grande Colonial for the past six years and I plan to keep working with them. They are always on top of everything, and they always have the right sort of attitude. You have the sense that they truly care about what they do. Also, contrary to what happens in many nice hotels, their food is excellent. We choose to have some our dinners in some of the many restaurants are at walking distance for a change of scenery, but in terms of quality their restaurant is probably the best. Finally, it is worth noting what a wonderful job they do in keeping their historic building in such a pristine form.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianapolisNicoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing