We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel....even better location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco
18
Reviewed July 10, 2006

I decided to treat my family to a short trip to La Jolla and found The Grand Colonial Hotel via Frommer's. I couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. The hotel is located smack dab in the middle of the village -- walking distance of the seals at the Children's Pool, the famous Cove (where La Jolla Kayak took us out on a fabulous kayak tour of the caves) and plenty of great shopping and food! I have always loved La Jolla but have never had an opportunity to stay here. We've always just spent a few hours visiting while in town. But we have now discovered that there is so much to do in this community that staying outside of La Jolla just doesn't make sense. And The Grand Colonial is the perfect place from which to explore. The staff was extremely gracious and knowledgeable about the area. Our room was fabulous. There are no screens on the windows, which is so nice because the ocean air just flows right into the room. We also hear they will be doing an upgrade of all the room interiors later this year, which will only make it that much better. Unfortunately, we didn't get a chance to try out the restaurant, Nine Ten, but will next time. We hear that is great too and you can eat outside on a deck that overlooks the water! We highly recommend La Jolla and The Grand Colonial for your next getaway!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,802 - 1,808 of 1,897 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
16
Reviewed June 8, 2006

You can't beat the location of this hotel and if you get an ocean view it really is heaven. The amount you pay for parking is ridiculous but what hotel doesn't charge for valet? And to make up for it the valet guys are great! Much unlike the front desk staff who are annoyed and rude 24/7. Don't worry though they wont acknowledge you are there anyways so you don't have to interact with them. The restaraunt is amazing - some of the best and fresh food we've had -ever.

Stayed: February 2006
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2006

Last year we stayed at the Grande Colonial with partial ocean view & were really disappointed. We loved the architecture & the light, airy rooms. We thought it would be a once in a lifetime stay. However, I figured out a way to go back for 5 days this May. We paid for the full ocean view on the fifth floor. We loved it there.! Being on an upper floor avoided a lot of ground noise & provided views of the Pacific Ocean that were gorgeous(Bring binoculars) ! We never rent a car & so avoid the $16 a day parking. We walk everywhere we can & take a taxi if we can't. We always try to stay in older, historic hotels & are rarely disappointed. What they lack in convenience, they make up for in charm. We had a little sitting area & a decent sized bathroom. The beds are comfy & the maids are friendly & accomodating, as is the rest of the staff. People have to understand that when they stay in historic hotels, each room is unique in lay out & design. That's what we love about them. People who want every convenience & predictability with "cookie cutter" rooms might be happier in the bigger chains. We'll always treasure our memories of "THe Grande"!
KH,Colorado

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 12journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2006

My friend and I stayed at the Grande Colonial for four nights in May. It is a wonderful, unique hotel - we just loved everything about it. The rooms were very nicely decorated, although older, but it added to the charm. The beds were the absolute best I've ever slept in! The bathroom was a little small for 2 women and all our stuff, could use an extra shelf or two to put things on. There was a nice dressing table to use out in the room, however. The room was spotless and the service was excellent. Location was great and within walking distance to all the shops, beaches and restaurants. The terrace and gardens in the back of the hotel were beautiful and the pool was very nice with comfortable lounge chairs. We loved the lobby and enjoyed relaxing there and people watching. The boys at the valet in front were great and always greeted us with a friendly smile.

Don't miss George's rooftop dining and their fish tacos (still my favorite restaurant!), and The Crab Catcher was outstanding. Don't waste your money on the Top Of the Cove - not good service unless you're a big tipper. The Marine Room is definitely a place to go and see, although it's a bit pricy, but well worth the view and the food. Can hardly wait for my next visit to beautiful La Jolla. I will definitely stay at the Grande Colonial!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank caspernl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2006

My wife and I visited La Jolla for the first time from 5/12 - 5/16. In searching for a hotel, I was tempted to take the safe route and choose one of the "big chains" where I was confident the rooms would be clean and hotel management would be responsible. I would have missed out on a great hotel if I had done that! We had a partial oceanview room which had a nice patio attached along with the typical amenities. It was clean and average size for a hotel room (20'X20'?). The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful in guiding us around the area on our explorations. I think the location is about as good as it gets in La Jolla as it is near all the shopping and restaurants and about 2 blocks from the ocean and the sea lion hang-out. You certainly will pay a little more for the location and quality of the hotel, but I recommend doing it. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast at the NINE-TEN too!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

We had an oceanview room in the colonial suites building and it was just wonderful. It was a suite with loads of space. The hotel is in a great location, is spotless and is beautifully done-no glitz! The valet fellas are great and front desk just as good. I did not see another hotel I'd rather stay at. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Colonial for 5 days in April. It is a lovely historical hotel with a fabulous location. The wonderful stores on Girard Street are right outside the door, and La Jolla Cove is right down the street where you can walk for a mile along a beautiful paved path along the shores of the Pacific Ocean. The lobby is lovely with fresh flowers each day. The carpet is a bit tired and some of the walls are in need of fresh paint; but overall, it is a real find.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Haydenlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,226 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $241 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing