We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite La Jolla hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I travel to LJ 4-5 times per year and I always stay at the the Grande Colonial. It's a very charming and old fashioned hotel, but this is not to mean that it is in any way uncomfortable or lacking in amenities. It is charming in the best sense of the word. Warmth, not sterility as many hotels are.

The staff is great, everyone is very helpful and friendly in the best way. The pool is great and the restaurant is world class. Why stay anywhere else? It's like going home.

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Jack: What more can I say than "thank you"?! On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for all the great comments. I really appreciate your appreciation for our historic charm. We're certainly not the cookie-cutter-type hotel. Every room is a little different than the next but each has its own unique appeal. I also appreciate your comments about our staff. We take great pride in providing service that is warm, gracious and genuinely friendly. I’m glad to hear that came through during your visit. Hope to see you back. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights visiting family, and it was the perfect place to stay in LaJolla. We loved the charm of an "older" hotel, the huge windows in the room that stayed open the entire time, the very comfortable bed, lots of little "extras," like free internet, free bottled water, an exceptionally friendly staff (especially the valet staff!). I gave the cleanliness 4 stars only because we had to wait until almost 5:00 pm one day to get our room cleaned. But, in their defense, I know they would have cleaned earlier had I requested it.

We only had dessert at the restaurant (outstanding!), but heard from locals that it has a reputation for excellent food. Sorry we missed that, but will definitely eat there next time we are in town.
Awesome hotel!

Room Tip: Although we did not get one, ask for a corner room with windows on 2 sides!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear kmr60 - Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback about your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our accommodations, complimentary amenities and, most importantly, the level of service. I'll be sure to share your comments with our valet staff. We truly have some of the best in the business. I'm sorry about to hear that your room was not serviced earlier. That should not have been the case and we will do better the next time. We look forward to that and hope it's sooner than later. Thanks again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Everything about this historic hotel is Grande. The location can't be beat. The views from the ocean view room is spectacular. We loved the feel of the hotel and how it is full of charm. The rooms are absolutely huge and maintained beautifully. We could see the childrens pool of seals right from our room. There are restaurants and shopping right from the front door. We walked all over La Jolla. The service is excellent and the valet men were so helpful and made us feel very welcome. They had excellent ideas and choices in food. The entire experience was first rate. Well worth the money to enjoy the location and facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vpb316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear vpb316: I couldn't be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to La Jolla and your stay at the Grande Colonial...particularly your experiences with our staff. I'm a little biased but we have some of the finest people working for us, starting at the front door. I'm so glad to hear that our commitment to providing first-class service came through during your stay. I hope to see you back from Florida soon. Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during a San Diego trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the accommodations were wonderful. The mattress was so nice I wanted to stay in bed all day! La Jolla is so fun to walk around, and is just a quick drive from the rest of the city.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank meloke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear meloke22: I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the Grande Colonial and the Village of La Jolla. We take great pride in the level of service we provide and I'm happy that came through during your stay. Hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent several nights at the hotel while in the area for our daughter's graduation. The rooms were beautifully appointed, the service was first rate, and the location ideal. But the real gem here is the restaurant. I know it's easy to overlook the restaurant at the hotel where you're staying (after all, it is hotel food, right)? Don't make that mistake. We had one of the more memorable meals in a lifetime of traveling. We had several great dining experiences in the area, but the chef here really is something special. If you find yourself in La Jolla, even if you're staying elsewhere, do yourself a favor and have at least one dinner here!

Room Tip: The courtyard suites are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Tom: Let me first congratulate you on your daughter's graduation. Quite an accomplishment. Congrats! And thank you for choosing to stay at the Grande Colonial during your visit. I'm thrilled to hear that you had the opportunity to dine at NINE-TEN Restaurant. It's definitely not your "typical hotel restaurant". In fact, our Chef Jason Knibb was just awarded last week San Diego's 2014 "Chef of the Year" by the California Restaurant Association. We couldn't be more proud to have him at the helm of the kitchen. I hope you will have the opportunity to come back and visit again soon. Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at The Grande Colonial. Our room was lovely. We had both a garden/pool view and a wonderful view of the ocean. We had a large comfortable chair in our room next to the windows. Every morning I would sit in that chair with the windows open, reading and listening to the ocean. Those mornings were the most relaxed I have been in many years. I truly appreciated the tranquility. Housekeeping was very thorough and helpful. My daughter lost her glasses while we were there and they pulled out the mattress to find them for her.

Kelly at the Front Desk was especially helpful. The valet service was excellent. Matt and Benny were quick, friendly and helpful. The restaurant was wonderful as well. I would highly recommend breakfast. While we were there the seasonal special was Lemon Ricotta Pancakes. They were delightful. I would also recommend the short rib hash for breakfast. I had it twice! It was delicious. Room service was quick and efficient.

The location is good. Short walking distance to beaches,other restaurants, galleries and shops. I-5 is easily accessed. We found The Grande Colonial to be a great "home base" for the many different locations we wanted to visit.

Bottom line. If you are in the area- stay at the The Grande Colonial. It may be a little more than I would like to pay for a hotel but you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We had the Ocean View Junior Suite King. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear KMS07: It sounds as if you and your daughter had a very nice and memorable trip to La Jolla. I thank you for choosing the Grande Colonial as your home base. I appreciate your very comprehensive review covering everything from our helpful staff, efficient housekeeping and delicious food (those lemon ricotta pancakes are one of my favorite dishes). I’m also glad you pointed out the screen less windows that open in each room allowing you to enjoy the fresh ocean breezes. It’s not something you can experience in most hotels. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

After an arduous work week, our family decided it was time to go on a weekend getaway. This last minute get away and this hotel was a shot in the dark. We hadn't traveled with our 5 month old yet. The Little Hotel by the Sea could not have worked out better . The room included a fridge and stove such (a plus since we weren't sure how we were going to feed the smallest of our family.) The 12 year old was a happy camper to know that boogie boards were available to borrow and the beach was a walk away! Fantastic service, courteous and knowledgeable staff. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanca1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Blanca1900: As the father of three (now grown) boys, I remember what it's like to travel with small children -- most times being last minute getaways thrown together in a rush. Happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you and your family for your last minute trip. You couldn't have picked a better room. The suites in our Little Hotel by the Sea wing are ideal for families given they do have full kitchens. And being only a block from the seals at the Children's Pool and the beach, it's the ideal location for the kids! I see you are just "up the street" in Los Angeles. Given your proximity, I hope you'll have the chance to plan more spontaneous trips with the family. What a better place to create traditions than at the Grande Colonial. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
0.2 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $242 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing