We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel close to ocean!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel close to ocean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a beautiful, well-cared for hotel. The service is excellent and its just a very short walk to the ocean, as well as to shopping and restaurants. A great location overall! Valet parking is available if you can't find street parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomY4112VS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear TomY4112VS: So glad to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel, our service and our convenience location in the Village of La Jolla. Thanks also for pointing out the valet parking option. It allows me to remind those reading this that we do offer an exclusive complimentary valet parking package for Trip Advisor users from our profile page (see link next to our hotel information). It's a great $25 daily value. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    421
    134
    37
    18
See reviews for
445
670
64
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I just spent a magical anniversary weekend in LaJolla at the Grand Colonial. The Gran Colonial has the charm that can only be found in a smaller, historic property. The location is perfect for access to LaJolla Village and Cove. We spent a little extra for a King Room with an ocean view and it was worth every penny. At night, we opened the widows to enjoy the gentle sea breeze and spectacular view, and were lulled to sleep with the sound of the waves. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this gem for your perfect get away!

Room Tip: Top floor corner King room is perfect for couples with a wonderful view and windows that open to enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Ron - Happy Anniversary! Thank you very much for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion here at the Grande Colonial. We are so happy to hear how memorable your stay was. I'm glad you pointed out how much you loved having the ability to open your windows and truly take in the fresh ocean breezes and sounds of the sea. It's something you can't experience at most hotels and one of the most common things we hear from guests about what they love here. Hope to see you back from Salt Lake City soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Wonderful Valentines Day weekend here with my girlfriend. Beautifully appointed rooms, awesome shower, great location amongst a nice array of restaurants and shops in the village of La Jolla. Restaurant is pricy but very good food. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Bob76 - I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and NINE-TEN Restaurant during you recent visit from Connecticut. Thanks for choosing to celebrate your Valentine's Day weekend with us here in La Jolla. Hope you'll have the opportunity to return soon. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,246 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 487 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We recently stayed in The Grand Colonial for a week. It was our second visit here. Last time we rated it a five, now we think it is a four. Good hotel but it BADLY NEEDS to make a number of changes. I like to evaluate places on the basis of a balanced plus minus assessment.

THE PLUS SIDE
The staff of the hotel is very friendly and helpful! Staff at the desk are knowledgeable and willing to print out directions, etc., to make your stay in San Diego and adjacent communities enjoyable. The location is not just a good one but a great one in La Jolla--near the beach and near most of the good restaurants in the village. The valet parking works smoothly and is efficient. There is excellent morning coffee available at no cost in the lobby. The Bed and Breakfast option provides you with a really great morning breakfast in a light cheery atmosphere. The service is excellent. The rooms are spacious and clean and upon request a small refrigerator was placed in our room. We had free wifi in the room.

MINUS SIDE
There are so many good things about the hotel but so many things that need to be upgraded and improved. We hope this helps the hotel because next time we come we would want to stay here!
--First, the beds are just okay. The beds were not well made. Twice our bed was made up without a bed cover. In the night, the sheets came loose and we found ourselves sleeping partially on a bare mattress.
--Second, despite our initial reservation made 2 months in advance and assurances from a 2nd call before we got there, our bed was not made up to be feather free. We caught this but had to have the maid come in. This could have caused one of us severe harm due to allergic conditions.
--Third, the room is antiquated. For example,room safe is located on the floor of the closet.This is very awkward to use and did not always operate right. It had to be repaired once. Imagine trying to open a safe located close to the floor. You have to sit down to operate the dials. Very cumbersome! There is no central station for charging up readers, IPADs, phones, etc. We had to unplug lamps all over the room and plug in these outlets just to maintain our devices. The tub is slippery and there is no bath mat to offset slipping so we used towels while we were using the showers.
- Fourth, the bathroom plugs are very near the toilet and the sink. You can keep the lid down but the sink is right next to the plug. We had to use the hair dryer there. Not a good location!!
--Fifth, the hotel had an annoying policy. We were there during Restaurant Week. We checked in and tried to make a reservation for dinner and we were told that they were booked up for lunch and dinner for the next five nights. Very unfair to people spending over $2000 for the week!! We resented this very much! The restaurant also suspended happy hour for the week of Restaurant Week so you paid full price for wine pre-dinner that you brought up to the room. We like a glass before dinner but skipped the bar completely because of this policy.

We hope the hotel will learn from what we intend to be constructive criticism. Before coming again to the San Diego, we will carefully read the latest reviews to see if similar problems crop up. If so, with regrets we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear VAChuck:
Let me start by thanking you for your continued support of the hotel. We appreciate very much our repeat guests. Thank you for your patronage. I’d also like to sincerely thank you for the feedback you have provided us…the good and the “minuses”. Your comments about areas in which we can improve are extremely constructive and for that I thank you. I will be addressing each one with our staff to ensure that those we can improve upon immediately are implemented immediately. Let me also add that we are in the beginning planning stage of our next rooms’ renovation and I will certainly take your comments into consideration as we finalize plans. I do thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will come back to see us the next time you visit from Virginia. They do say “the third time is a charm”. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Hotel was very beautiful with its classic decor and historic structure. The room was beautiful and we were able to enjoy view with the fresh air. The Location of the hotel was perfect with coffee shops and restaurant around the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomieMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear RomieMS: Thanks for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay at the Grande Colonial. I'm happy to hear how much you appreciated our historic charm and beauty. We've just wrapped up our Centennial celebration and now look forward to the next 100 years. Hope you'll be back to be a part of the next chapter of our history. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This, my friends, is a world class hotel. I have been traveling for years and now my one an only daughter is a freshman as UCSD so we visit La Jolla much. Big beautiful rooms. Staff is friendly and class exudes from the pores. They can't do enough to help you. Wonderful..you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Fifth floor ocean front is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drjohn691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Drjohn691: Allow me to first congratulate you on your daughter attending UCSD as a freshman. That is quite an accomplishment and I trust she is enjoying the school and the La Jolla community. Let me also thank you very much for your very kind comments about your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and our staff. I trust you will be visiting (checking up on) your daughter often so please know that you always have a place to stay here at the Grande Colonial. Until the next time - Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This review is a bit overdue since our last trip has been well over a year now but better late than never. This is not a cookie cutter hotel - each room and floor is a little different so spend a little time when you book. The location is great for walking around La Jolla from shops to restaurants to ocean; once the car was parked we rarely used it - a good thing because parking and traffic in this part of La Jolla can be pretty bad. We found the staff very accommodating - always ready to help but not intrusive. The rooms we stayed in were large, perfectly maintained and very comfortable. The Nine-Ten restaurant on site is excellent and there are many other great places - pricey to cheap - a short walk away. If you want to stay in La Jolla do your homework - the "city" sprawls out to the east over a ridge and interstate where you'll never see the ocean and have to get in your car to go anywhere. This hotel is in the heart of the real La Jolla. Highly recommend getting a sea kayak and checking out the caves in the cove - and try snorkeling in the cove as well a short walk from the hotel - quite an experience.

Room Tip: The "ocean view" rooms can be a little dicey - there's a high rise condo between the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COFamilyTruckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
What more can I say than "thank you"?! On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for all the great comments. I really appreciate your appreciation for our historic charm. We're certainly not the cookie-cutter-type hotel. Every room is a little different than the next but each has its own unique appeal. And thank you for your comments about our staff. We strive to provide warm, gracious and genuinely friendly service and it appears that came through during your stay. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our team, as they are truly the ones who make experiences like yours happen. Thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing