We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and just loved it. The location is awesome - central and close to everything. We walked along the ocean everyday. Staff are gracious and accommodating. We discovered their London Cab on our last night - they took us to our restaurant and back - no charge. Our first night we had a Village View room, and it was a bit noisey. So we asked for a room change and they put us in a Garden Room - just loved the gas fireplace and small kitchen tucked away at the front door. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Our first night was on the 5th floor of the Village Vew side and it was a bit noisey. They moved us...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Linda -
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit. I'm so glad to hear that our staff took care of you when the room you had originally been assigned didn't meet your expectations. Our Garden Suites are indeed delightful and provide a little more space and privacy than the rooms in the main building (not to mention a cozy fireplace and full kitchen). I hope you will be back sooner than later. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,827)
There are newer reviews for Grande Colonial La Jolla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,827 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel made me happy! We were upgraded to a suite with a view of the ocean and it was just bliss. The room was really lovely (I loved the colours and decor!), very comfortable with a decent bathroom too. The bed is fabulous as are the duck down pillows. I find it a bit strange that many American hotels don't have a fridge or mini bar and it would have been perfect to have had fresh milk and be able to make a cup of tea.
All the staff we dealt with we're charming, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed cocktails in the bar on 2 evenings and if we hadn't decided on particular restaurants to eat at, we would have been happy to eat here as the busy atmosphere proved it a popular spot. I do hope we can come again and we fallen in love with La Jolla and just loved staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Foodie16: Your review made me as happy as our hotel made you! I am so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I'm very pleased that you were more than satisfied with our accommodations, despite the fact that we didn't have a small refrigerator for you. (Perhaps on your next trip, you can stay in one of our extended stay suites. Each does come equipped with a full kitchen.) I thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and hope to see you back on your next trip from the UK. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for an event a couple years ago and when a family trip took us back to the La Jolla area last month, we knew that The Grande Colonial was where we wanted to stay again. The location is fantastic, the hotel is beautiful, and the service in all areas was excellent. We had a large group of around 20 people, and the staff at the front desk, the restaurant, the valets, etc., were all incredibly helpful and patient with us. A part of the seatbelt mechanism in my car got stuck one day and when we ran into the hotel's engineer and asked if he had a tool we could borrow, he did us one better and personally helped fix the problem! I also ended up leaving a piece of clothing in our room and when I realized it a couple hours after checking out, the staff promptly located the item and it was mailed back to me at lightning speed. I can't say enough good things about our stay and how the staff really goes above and beyond for their guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AES2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear AES2014 - Reading your review made me smile. For one reason and one reason alone: our number one goal is to provide exceptional service at all levels to our guests and it sounds as if we accomplished that in your case. I am thrilled to hear how our staff went above and beyond to assist you with your personal needs and thank you very much for taking the time to point this out in your review. Now that you've been here twice, we will look forward to seeing you on your next visit. No need to say "third time is a charm"...sounds as if one and two were, as well. Thanks again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great Holiday stay at the Little Hotel by the Sea during Christmas week to visit some family. I will hopefully stay in the same place and request room 231 for the same time next year. My cleaning girl was great. I just wondered if they have to pool their tips b/c I wanted to make sure I was tipping a specific person who did a wonderful job. It was quiet enough, but yet busy enough for anything you might want to do in LaJolla. People complain about the seal smell, but I think they just need to step back and appreciate the wonders of Mother Nature b/c it's truly amazing. LaJolla is one of the more picturesque places in CA. There is so much to do there. I have been to CA mant times but this was the first time I visited the Scripps Birch Aquarium so be sure to check it out!!

Room Tip: Loved my room in The Little Hotel by the Sea annex building which is part of the Grande Colonial Hot...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldielocks20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Goldielocks20 -
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent visit to La Jolla and to the Grande Colonial. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, particularly your suite in the Little Hotel by the Sea wing. The 8 suites offered in that building provide the perfect retreat and are just a hop, skip and jump from the Children's Pool where the seals frolic. (I appreciate you bringing up the "smell" that some people say exists...the City of San Diego has already made significant changes to alleviate any smell and will continue to do so. So not even an issue.) Anyway, thanks again for choosing us as your destination for your trip to La Jolla. See you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had an incredible experience at the Grand Colonial this week. We celebrated our anniversary and Christmas as well. The hotel kindly upgraded our room from Oceanview to Jr Suite with and ocean view. It was lovely, and very comfortable. We also celebrated with an anniversary dinner at the hotel, which was delicious!! The staff was incredible--they were efficient and friendly, and willing to assist in any way. The location of the property is excellent, and she is a lovely "grande dame" in every way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caneuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Caneuman: I was very happy to read your review about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. You celebrated two very special occasions with us -- your wedding anniversary and Christmas -- so I am delighted to hear how happy you were with the accommodations and service. I hope the next time you visit San Diego, you will choose to stay with us again. Happy New Year to you and your family. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I really liked the interior of the room and the lobby and enjoyed the ocean view from the room. It's a very pretty and gorgeous hotel worth to stay at. I will definitely come back here when I have a chance to visit La Jolla again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anchovy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Anchovy2013 - Thank you for the kind words about the your stay at the Grande Colonial. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. I hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again from Philadelphia. Happy New Year to you and yours. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I chose the Grand Colonial for our office holiday event. Coming from our previous experience with a large hotel on Coronado Island, this was like night and day. Julieta and Lauren handled the event specifics in a caring, efficient, and professional manner. The food was awesome, the hotel was cozy and perfectly decorated for the holidays, and I heard from all of my staff that the rooms were comfortable and nicely appointed. I do not normally leave reviews; my experience at the Grand Colonial was impressive enough that I feel obligated to do so.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Jordan - Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent holiday party here at the Grande Colonial. I appreciate your recognition of our staff and the service you and your event attendees received. I wish you a very Happy New Year and hope to see you back often in 2014. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
975 reviews
3.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
0.2 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $250 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing