We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday and Anniversary at The Grand Colonial”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
phx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday and Anniversary at The Grand Colonial”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had an incredible experience at the Grand Colonial this week. We celebrated our anniversary and Christmas as well. The hotel kindly upgraded our room from Oceanview to Jr Suite with and ocean view. It was lovely, and very comfortable. We also celebrated with an anniversary dinner at the hotel, which was delicious!! The staff was incredible--they were efficient and friendly, and willing to assist in any way. The location of the property is excellent, and she is a lovely "grande dame" in every way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caneuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Caneuman: I was very happy to read your review about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. You celebrated two very special occasions with us -- your wedding anniversary and Christmas -- so I am delighted to hear how happy you were with the accommodations and service. I hope the next time you visit San Diego, you will choose to stay with us again. Happy New Year to you and your family. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    437
    139
    40
    21
See reviews for
475
701
66
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I really liked the interior of the room and the lobby and enjoyed the ocean view from the room. It's a very pretty and gorgeous hotel worth to stay at. I will definitely come back here when I have a chance to visit La Jolla again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchovy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Anchovy2013 - Thank you for the kind words about the your stay at the Grande Colonial. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. I hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again from Philadelphia. Happy New Year to you and yours. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I chose the Grand Colonial for our office holiday event. Coming from our previous experience with a large hotel on Coronado Island, this was like night and day. Julieta and Lauren handled the event specifics in a caring, efficient, and professional manner. The food was awesome, the hotel was cozy and perfectly decorated for the holidays, and I heard from all of my staff that the rooms were comfortable and nicely appointed. I do not normally leave reviews; my experience at the Grand Colonial was impressive enough that I feel obligated to do so.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Jordan - Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent holiday party here at the Grande Colonial. I appreciate your recognition of our staff and the service you and your event attendees received. I wish you a very Happy New Year and hope to see you back often in 2014. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. From the moment you drive up, you're greeted by the friendliness that feels like home.
The staff is amazing! I had the pleasure of working with Julieta the catering manager and she was excellent. There was a last minute venue change; in a desperate plea (on my end) she was able to put our Annual luncheon together within a week. She helped me step-by-step, to create the perfect setting. Many, many praises from our staff to theres. It was without a doubt the best holiday luncheon we have ever had. And the food - oh wow! exquisite! Unbelievable!
Whether you are traveling; honeymooning; needing a quiet evening with your significant other; planning a birthday party or just want to party in the beautiful history of Old La Jolla...make the Grande Colonial your first choice destination to stay and take in the hospitality and warmth of this historic hotel.

You won't be dissappointed!

Nicole

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear NM: Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review about the recent holiday party you planned and attended at the Grande Colonial. I'm happy to hear about the great care Julieta and the rest of our catering team provided you and your guests. I'm also happy to hear how much you enjoyed the food provided by our restaurant, NINE-TEN. Perhaps you will plan next year's office party with us again! Until then, thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Lovely 100 year old hotel in easy walking distance to Cove and Children's Pool, as well as to dozens of great restaurants. Hotel bar/ restaurant is also terrific. Staff were great- genuinely warm and helpful. Would love to go back anytime and hightly reccommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Christine: I'm delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. I hope the weather was nice during your visit, seeing as you came all the way from Minnesota. Thanks for the plug about the hotel being 100 years old. We are nearing the end of our Centennial celebration year. It has been an exciting year, needless to say. I hope you'll be back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Grande was Greate! Wonderful location. Staff was great, Quite helpful. the room was wonderful. Had a nice view of the ocean from room 322. so nice to enjoy evenings in La Jolla and then take a short walk back to the hotel. I dont think you could go wrong at the Grande.

Room Tip: 322 had a nice ocean view, PARTIALLY obstructed by a condo building, but otherwise, really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W1AIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear W1AIX: Thank you very much for the kind words about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. I'm so glad you had such a nice stay and enjoyed the property and your guest room. I hope to see you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel. Staff was great, rooms were charming and very clean. Location was good. My only complaint about the trip is the beach and cave area smelled horrible...like seal and bird dung that took away from the towns charm, but that has nothing to do with this great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gb8822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear gb8822: I appreciate your kind comments about the Grande Colonial and your recent trip from Nebraska. I am very sorry about the smell you experienced. Sometimes there is an odor that comes up from the Cove area where the seals and birds frolic. Rest assured that the City of San Diego is trying to come to a resolution without disturbing the wildlife. I'm sorry it wasn't pleasant during your visit. Hope to see you back. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
878 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing