We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hotel with Character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel with Character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We finished a long trip down the PCH with two nights in La Jolla. The Grande Colonial was a great way to top off our trip. Our experience could not have been better. The great experience begins the moment you arrive when the greeters, some might call them the bell men or doormen, welcome you. Every person we came in contact with from the hotel was friendly and helpful. They have a great knowledge of the area and are willing to share it so that your stay is enhanced.

Now, the hotel merits the descriptor "Grande." It doesn't front the ocean but it does overlook it from a block away. We would be hard pressed to stay anywhere else in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UwchlanJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear UwchlanJohn. Your recent trip down PCH and the California coast sounds like a wonderful time. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Grande Colonial during the last few days of your adventure. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and, particularly, our staff. We take great pride in the level of service we provide each and every guest and I'm glad that came through while you were our guest. I hope your memories last a lifetime. Thanks again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    379
    122
    36
    16
See reviews for
404
616
58
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We just completed a 4 night stay at the Grand Colonial and it was wonderful - as it always is. The hotel is a charming historic place with a wonderful location. The staff is great, front desk, bell staff, restaurant all outstanding. We had trouble with our tv and our safe wouldn't open. I called and they had somebody there is less than 5 minutes. Very pleasant and competent fellow who had us up and running immediately. We've stayed in a lot of the different rooms and never had one we didn't like. This time we were in 324 which might be our favorite - great ocean view and a pretty big room.

This is just the kind of place that makes your trip special. Others have complained about the charge for valet parking but I'll tell you those guys welcome you back, give good directions, make sure you have bottled water and seem to get to know you. After a long day of sightseeing coming back to your "home away from home" feels pretty good.

The hotel is old but they've kept it up and they pay attention to the little things too. They have Keurig coffee makers that actually work and they have free coffee in the lobby/restaurant. Nice flat screen tv's with On-Demand so we kept up with our shows. Complimentary bottled water every day (you know how much some places charge).

We've been visiting the area for a long time and we've stayed at some other hotels. But for the past 10 years or so we have always chosen the Grand Colonial. If you try it you'll neve choose any place else either

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windycityart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear windycityart: Welcome Back! Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us during your visits over the past ten years. It's always great to hear from our repeat guests about how much they enjoy the hotel and, particularly, our staff. I very much appreciate your recognition of our valet team. They are truly ambassadors to hotel and to the community. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your TV but am happy to hear that our guest services team had you up-and-running quickly! I look forward to seeing you back again very soon. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Service, location, and property were very nice! Would stay again...


The property has old world charm and though it's been renovated, it maintains true to it's beginnings. I compared this property against others online (as I had not visited) and was very pleased with my selection once I visited the other properties that were comparable in cost and location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Den123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks, Den123456, for your kind remarks. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to La Jolla and am especially glad that you enjoyed our property. I hope you will have the chance to visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I travel frequently for work throughout the world and this was my first time to La Jolla and to the Grande Colonial. My wife and I were there for a wedding nearby and cannot say enough about how pleased we were with the hotel. We will definitely return! The staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful, room was great and the view of the ocean (attached photo) was magnificent. Clean, beautiful and charming.... BTW, the restaurant was first class!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikes123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear mikes123123: As a first time visitor to the Grande Colonial, I am so happy to read your comments. This is exactly the type of experience we strive to create for all of our guests, particularly those visiting for the first time. While you probably don't have another wedding to attend in the area, I do hope you will be back soon for a visit. We welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest again. Until then, thank you for your comments. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Enjoyed a recent three night visit to La Jolla and the Grande Colonial was a big reason we had a great time. The hotel is beautiful and the 910 bar and restaurant make for a great breakfast and late night (for La Jolla) spot on site. Great location for walking the area. Quiet room and well supplied - we enjoyed a room with kitchenette which made for additional comforts. The best attribute has to be the staff. To a person, they are friendly, attentive and knowledgeable of the area. In particular, Kimmie, Lynelle and Kelly at the front desk deserve special recognition. Unparalleled customer service is clearly their goal and they hit all their marks. Very enjoyable and comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Kitchenette rooms away from main building are quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPHokie_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear JPHokie_79:
Thank you very much for you kind remarks about the hotel. I'm so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your visit, particularly your recognition of our front desk staff. I will be sure to share your nice comments with the individuals you've mentioned. We look forward to having you back on a future visit to La Jolla. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Food, facility and service for the meeting were top notch. Excellent service from everyone throughout the stay! Room was pleasantly big and comfortable. Beautiful architectural details you would expect from a century-old building without crimping on cleanliness or comfort.

Room Tip: Rm 305 is a corner suite. Very large and comfortable for family or entertaining. Windows on two si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank track77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear track77: Thanks for the review you posted on Trip Advisor about your recent stay (and meeting). Overall, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am also happy to read you comment about the windows and fresh ocean breezes. We are one of the few hotels I know of where you can actually open the window and get that fresh, ocean air. So many of our guests appreciate that. Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to having you back for business or for pleasure. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Empress Hotel
#4 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,853 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing