We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grande Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to The Grande Colonial for over 12 years!! We come for my birthday and our anniversary every year at the same time. We have seen staff come and go and we have NEVER had a bad experience!!! Everyone is professional, kind and willing to do whatever it takes to make our experience the "grandest " possible, and they succeed!!!! The 9-10 restaurant is one of the best in the world!!! We ate in the bar 2 nights and we had never eaten there before. It was GRAND!!! We celebrated in the dining room with the "mercy of the chef dinner" and it was INCREDIBLE!!! It is no wonder that Jason Knibb is considered one of the top chefs in San Diego!!! We will continue to return to The Grande Colonial and continue to bring friends there for as long as possible!!! Do yourself and favor and try the divine experience!!!!

Room Tip: Room 505, 405 fabulous views, large rooms, but the bathroom is small, but the hotel is 100 years ol...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emailln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Emailln: Let me first wish you a very happy birthday and happy anniversary. Thank you very much for choosing to celebrate these two special occasions with us at the Grande Colonial. We appreciate your loyalty and patronage these past 12 years and look forward to celebrating with you for the next 12 years. And thanks for the kudos about NINE-TEN. We too think it's one of the best restaurants in the world. And you mention our "top chef"...Chef Jason was a contestant on Iron Chef two years ago battling Bobby Flay! And we're thrilled to announce that our sous chef, Ramon, will begin Season 11 of Top Chef, premiering Wednesday, October 2nd. We hope you'll tune in. Meanwhile, thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,827)
There are newer reviews for Grande Colonial La Jolla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,827 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We began our Californian trip at the beautiful beach town of La jolla, about 20 mins from San Diego. We stayed in The Grande Colonial which is perfectly positioned in the centre of La jolla surrounded by old school charm. The hotel itself is very classic intimate European in style.We were very fortunate to have a lovely room overlooking the pacific ocean. Moments walk from the beach.The Grande has a lovely elegant lobby, bar and small restaurant... Dining in the terrace overlooking the pool area is a lovely option. La jolla is full of beautiful art galleries, antique shops, jewellers. The Cottage and Codys cafes are the best place in town for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabelle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Annabelle23:
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your trip to La Jolla and your stay at the Grande Colonial. It sounds as if you truly had the opportunity to experience all that the Village has to offer. And you certainly picked the best and most central hotel from which to see it all. Please do come back and see us again soon. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I just spent last weekend at the Grand Colonial Hotel in La Jolla as we were to attend an action-packed few days celebrating a friend's son's wedding. We were given a lovely room on the ground floor, which had convenient access to the pool area. The concierge were most obliging and provided us rides to and from various venues in their English taxi, and on one late night occasion, a ride on their buggy, on which a number of guests were able to pile in and behave like teenagers again! The hotel is situated right in the heart of La Jolla Village, surrounded by all the shops and restaurants - perfect for us. They offer parking at $25 per day, but they will bring your car as often as you need it without any extra charge. We will definitely stay there every time we visit our friends who live just up the street - ideal in every way!

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was sunny and bright, as opposed to my sister-in-law's room on the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Tatiana L:
Your recap of your recent visit to La Jolla and the Grande Colonial was fun to read. I appreciate all your kind comments about the staff and am glad you had the chance to experience our London Cab and golf "buggy". Since you're only up in Los Angeles, I hope you'll be back real soon. Thanks very much for taking the time to post your feedback. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

While the hotel is not "Grand", it is very nice and within walking distance to many shops, restaurants, etc. You do not need to rent a car if you are staying there. There are at least two buildings, though, and the "Garden Suites" are a short walk away. If you are traveling alone, it can feel a bit isolated in the Garden Suites building whereas the lobby and pool of the main building have a very nice feel. The bed was really comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building unless you really need some extra space (or kitchen facilities).
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxuryhoteldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Luxuryhoteldiva: Thank you for taking the time to post some comments about your stay with us. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the hotel and, particularly, our location. Thanks for pointing out that guests do have a choice in the type of room they choose. We have guest rooms and suites in our main building and an additional 18 extended-stay suites in two separate wings that offer extra space, as well as full kitchens and fireplaces. Thanks again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night while passing through La Jolla and picked the Grand Colonial based on its location. It is close enough so that you can walk to the beach, restaurants and shopping but secluded enough so that the ocean-facing rooms don't receive much of the street traffic. The staff was welcoming when we checked in and offered a good explanation of the hotel. The hotel has certainly gone to lengths to preserve its character and this was reflected in our room. The room itself was awkwardly wide with the bed on one side and a chair and desk on the other. The bathroom had similar dimensions-my wife and I couldn't be in there at the same time. But the view was fantastic and you really shouldn't spend too much time in your room when staying in such a beautiful place.
One note that most visitors fail to mention: There are some stories that the hotel is "haunted". In fact, the packet in the room has a section on ghosts in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottwebernu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear scottwebernu: Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to La Jolla. I am glad you appreciate some of the minor quirks that being a 100-year-old hotel brings. I am happy to hear that our historic charm outweighed any issues you might have with the size and shape of the bathrooms. And thanks for pointing out our ghost stories. We have collected a myriad of fun stories as told by our guests and employees over the years and we are happy to share those stories with all those who have an interest in things that go bump in the night. Thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Love the location. It was close to the beach, close to restaurants, and close to the bike and kayak rental place. The staff was great and very helpful. I asked for extra towels and got them before I could even hang up the phone. The hotel provides towels, umbrella, boogie boards etc, for the beach which was great. We didn't have to worry about anything.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Anita -
I love that you love our hotel. We love having you as our guest. I'm delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of our added summer amenities for the beach. See you back real soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Hello thanks for inviting us to discuss our experience in the hotel.I really like that quality very clean rooms and very attentive workers. But i have one problem my room was very small and smelly so bad. front desk changes our room and they sent to bellmant with our suitcase and housekepping whith chocolates and the turn down service. Definitely I'll be back in a few months, and thanks for this amazing experience.!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear gerarth -
So sorry to hear about the difficulty you had with your guest room. I cannot explain the reason why that happened but I am happy to hear that you brought it to our attention and our staff was able to move you quickly to a new room. (And sent you chocolates, as well.) We look forward to having you back in a couple of months. Thank you for your business. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
975 reviews
3.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
0.2 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $249 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing