We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went back to the Grande Colonial for a birthday celebration. Asked for a nice room and we certainly got it - on the top floor with ocean views from all the windows. Since this is an older hotel (they are celebrating their centennial this year)the rooms are small but very comfortable. The staff is some of the friendliest I have ever met. Everyone from the bellmen, valet, front desk, bar staff, housekeeping went out of their way to say hello and chat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhill100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear dhill100:
So happy to read your positive feedback about what looked to be a staycation here in San Diego. Thank you for choosing to celebrate the birthday celebration with us. Certainly no better place in San Diego to do so than here in La Jolla. I appreciate your comments about the level of service our staff provided. Thank you again and hope to see you back soon.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    439
    143
    41
    23
See reviews for
485
710
67
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

My daughters & I celebrated their 9th B-Day at The Grande Colonial Hotel and we had the best time ever. The service was superb as was the food. I have stayed at a lot of five star hotels and The Grande Colonial impressed me the most. The staff goes above and beyond and then some. The location is ideal. The views are phenomenal! I can't imagine that you could find a more enjoyable place to stay than The Grand Colonial. Job Well Done!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Author100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you, Author100, for the very kind review. I love that you and your daughters decided to spend their 9th birthday celebration here at the Grande Colonial. There are certainly plenty of fun things to do within walking distance of the hotel that I'm sure appealed to them very much...especially the shopping and seal sightings right down the street! Perhaps we will see you back for their 10th birthday! Until then -
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were recently married in La Jolla, CA at the Museum of Contemporary Art. The majority of our guests were from the East Coast. We were thrilled that we were able to work with the incredible sales team at The Grande Colonial to secure rooms in the Little Hotel by the Sea and in the main portion of the hotel. Our guests raved about the service. The entire team at The Grande Colonial is professional, friendly, helpful and takes beautiful care of those staying with them. Lauren and Audra are delightful to work with. We highly recommend The Grande Colonial to those visiting from out of town. 910 - the restaurant on site, is incredible and a wonderful place for any meal.

Room Tip: If you are a bride, the bridal suite in the Little Hotel is a very special place to prepare for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegodancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear SanDiegodancer:
First off, congratulations on your recent marriage. I wish you and your husband a long and happy life together. Thank you for choosing to put your out-of-town guests here at the Grande Colonial. Our Little Hotel by the Sea wing does indeed provide the ideal location for small wedding groups. With their 8 suites, it's nice for the wedding party or family members to have their own building, along with their own private lobby and ocean-view, rooftop deck. I'm glad you took advantage of that, as well as our Ambassador Suite, which is perfect for the bride and groom. Please come back and see us for your one-year anniversary! Thank you again.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel several years ago and the rooms have been remodeled. The new colors are especially attractive. The staff at this hotel are A+. Not just the front desk, but the bell men, the restaurant staff and the folks who take care of the rooms...all First Class Friendly and Efficient. The location is one block off the ocean and in the middle of some of the best little restaurants you'll ever see. We had a super weekend.

Room Tip: Be sure to check to see if they are offering any specials such as breakfasts and/or valet parking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillandPattiLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
BillandPattiLee:
Thanks for taking the time to post some comments about your trip to La Jolla. I am so happy to hear that our staff took such good care of you, from start to finish. I also appreciate your recognition of the improvements we have made over the years. We are actually in the beginning stages of planning our next rooms’ remodel, which should begin sometime late 2014. I hope you’ll be back to experience the results. Meanwhile, thank you again for the positive feedback.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore,Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

From the moment we stepped out of the car and were greeted by the bellman, our stay at the Grande Colonial exceeded all expectations. I knew from other reviews that this would be wonderful, but from the warmth and sincerity of the staff, to the beautiful accommodations, the superior dining experience at Nine-Ten and the special touches like an anniversary card from all the staff and complimentary champagne at our table for our special dinner, it was superb. Our room was on the 5th floor with a view of the Pacific, the bed was like a cloud, housekeeping was wonderful keeping everything sparkling and fresh..we didn't want to leave but we will surely return. Thanks to all the staff for a beautiful stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view King Suite. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petie614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Petie614-
Happy Anniversary (belated). Needless to say, I was thrilled to read your comments about your experience at the Grande Colonial and NINE-TEN Restaurant. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a favorable and comprehensive review. I am looking forward to sharing your feedback at our weekly team meeting and pointing out the excellent service you received from our staff. It is exactly the type of service we strive for. Hope to see you back on a future trip to the west coast.
Sincerely,
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Grande Colonial in La Jolla for three nights. The location of the hotel is perfect-central to walking to the variety of shops, close to wonderful restaurants, and just right for walking to the park/beach area to view the ocean, the sea lions, and the beautiful scenery. Our room was a Junior Suite on the third floor. The room was just the right size with very comfortable bedding. The bathroom was small, but there was another area with a counter and mirror that was usable for getting ready. The room was extremely clean and well decorated. The front desk staff was very helpful throughout our trip. They even helped with making calls for restaurant reservations. The pool area is small but very quaint and beautiful. The lounge chairs are very plush and comfortable and there was even water with lemon available poolside. My husband was there on business and had several meetings in the hotel itself. The meeting rooms were nicely decorated and very adequate. We would definitely stay in this hotel again if we have the chance!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Carla -
What a nice recap of your trip to La Jolla and the Grande Colonial. I'm glad you had a chance to visit while your husband was in town on business. You pretty much covered every area of the hotel, from our warm, gracious staff and facilities & amenities to our ideal location and meeting/special event rooms. I'm not sure how often you travel here from Granger, but our door is always open to you and your family. Thank you.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

One of the best things about this hotel is its location to the "children's beach/pool" in La Jolla, which has become a breeding and lounging ground for seals. It's wonderful to walk from the hotel to the beach (five mins) to seal-watch. The accommodations themselves are very nice -- clean, spacious rooms in a blend of art deco and colonial architecture, with super-comfortable beds. There was no microwave, mini-fridge, or coffee maker in our room, but wonderful, robust java was available downstairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks, Niki, for taking the time to write some comments about your visit to the Grande Colonial. I love that you had a chance to see the seals at the Children's Pool, which are within a stone's throw of the hotel. They are a huge attraction here in the Village of La Jolla. I also understand you had a chance to dine at our NINE-TEN Restaurant. I hope your experience there was just as fabulous as your stay with us. You will also be happy to know that we are in the process of adding coffee makers to all the guest rooms and suites. Those should be in by the beginning of summer. You'll be able to enjoy them on your next trip out from Phoenix. Until then -
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,163 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
847 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,051 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing