We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot in beautiful La Jolla” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot in beautiful La Jolla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Grande Colonial is an elegant gem in the middle of downtown La Jolla. The view of the water is found throughout the hotel. The rooms are a lovely and inviting combination of robin's egg blue and yellow. The rooms are beautifully appointed and comfortable. Front desk is staffed with friendly and helpful professionals. Highly recommend the property if you want to walk to the beach as well as all over town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear NancyC -
So happy you had the opportunity to stay with us during your recent trip to La Jolla, especially having come all the way from New York. As you know, the Grande Colonial has been around since 1913 and, while celebrating 100 years this year, we continue to keep the hotel modernized while still maintaining our historic integrity. I do hope you'll be able to get back out west soon and visit us again.
Terry Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    400
    129
    37
    17
See reviews for
422
639
61
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here this past weekend for a business trip and it was one of the best hotels I've ever had the pleasure to stay in! While the purpose of the trip was business, the room we stayed in (Room 201 queen suite in the Cottage?) was airy, faced the ocean, had windows that opened on both sides of the room, and a small living area, 2 queen beds which were SO comfortable, a dressing area, and a lovely bathroom. It was an oasis in the middle of an equally wonderful area of La Jolla with many restaurants and bars in the immediate vicinity. We did our business meetings in the Sun Room and the hotel did a great job with the organizing of the event and the food was fantastic! Try to go here....it's really a great experience. The service is also unsurpassed!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear GrandGirl -
First of all, love your profile name! How apropos! Secondly, thank you very much for providing us with such positive feedback about your recent visit. You certainly experienced it all while here -- accommodations, service and our meeting/special event facilities. I'm glad you had the opportunity to stay in room 201. That wing of the hotel is the original building that opened back on February 1, 1913 (100 years ago this year). It's one of my favorite parts of the entire property. I hope we will see you back sometime in the future. But meanwhile, thank you for recommending us to all the other travelers seeking input about where to stay in La Jolla! I do appreciate it.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our first trip back to La Jolla after a dozen+ years. We had stayed at the Grande Colonial prior, and were looking forward to getting back there again. As this was our anniversary, we splurged for a king mini-suite, which was incredible. What a great feeling waking up to the ocean each morning, and watching the sun set over the coastline every night. Service was exemplary and the hotel is right in the middle of the shopping area. The trip was a week in heaven. I would recommend the Grande Colonial to anyone who wants to feel pampered in the heart of La Jolla!

Room Tip: Top floor corner suite provides an uninterrupted view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcSanRafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear MarcSanRafael:
Happy Anniversary! Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us. I'm so glad that after 12 years, you opted to visit La Jolla once again and return to the Grande Colonial. As I'm sure you noticed, a lot has changed since you last stayed with us, particularly the renovated guest rooms, 18 new suites and, of course, our Centennial celebration taking place now. Thank you again and I hope to see you back before another dozen years pass us by.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed the night to celebrate my daughters 23rd birthday in their restaurant Nine Ten. From the car valet to the check in desk to the bell boy...each greeted us with a welcoming smile and a positive attitude. Our room was an ocean view room and it was very clean and well equipped...flat screen, ice bucket, glasses, bathrobes, safe, etc. our dinner for a party of ten in the restaurant down below was fabulous. They put us in a beautiful private room and the attention to detail and service was outstanding. There was champagne waiting for us and a fabulous floral arrangement on the table...the food and wine were delicious and a wonderful time was had by all! I definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant for location, service and comfort!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skd829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Skd829:
First of all, congratulations to your daughter on her 23rd birthday! I am happy to hear that you chose NINE-TEN for the celebratory dinner. There truly is no better restaurant in town to celebrate a special occasion. I really appreciate your kind words about our staff and will be certain to pass them along to the entire team. This is exactly the level of service our guests have come to expect when visiting the Grande Colonial and I am delighted to hear that we delivered. Please do come back and see us again soon…even if you’re not celebrating such an occasion.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We actually stayed here because we got a deal on Hotel Tonight. When we checked in Rebecca was so nice and put us in a junior suite with an ocean view. The place had the feel of having been kept up since it opened in 1913 and not that it had been redecorated to look vintage. It was an amazing room and located perfectly in La Jolla village. There was a pool we didn't get to use but looked nice and clean. Our stay here was beyond my expectations and I have no complaints. One word of warning...some second story rooms don't have an elevator and the stairs are narrow so depending on the size of your bag you may want to have a bellman handle your luggage and then tip him well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Anita -
I am so happy to read that you stayed with us as a result of finding the hotel on Hotel Tonight. We are fairly new to their platform and have found it to be a great resource for selling rooms at the last minute. I'm really glad you took advantage of our offer. And thanks for your kind words about the hotel and the level of service you received, particularly from Rebecca. I will pass your comments along. Thanks again.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here the last two nights of our trip after driving down the California coast. We stayed in a Garden Suite apartment style room which was perfect. The room is not located in the hotel and is actually around the side. At first, we were a little confused and worried that we were put in some 'crappy' rooms. ;) However, the room was through a small courtyard outside of the main building. It was a large room with a full kitchen. It was perfect since we were tired of eating out for breakfast and lunch. We could make our food right there. If we needed anything from the hotel, we called the front desk and a valet was at our door in two minutes.
The hotel is located on the main road in La Jolla close to all the restaurants and shops. We took our car one day and went to the La Jolla beach and later to Temecula (our favorite place in California!).
I wish we could have stayed at this hotel longer.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in the Garden Suites. It has an apartment feel to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kfaith82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Kfaith82 -
Delighted to read your comments about your trip to La Jolla. So glad you had the opportunity to experience firsthand our Garden Suites. That separate wing of the hotel, housing 10 suites, has only been open for about 5 years but has been so well received by those looking for more space, privacy and, of course, the full kitchens. Glad you liked them. I'm also happy to hear about your service from our valet staff. I trust we will see you back from Maryland in the future, given your love for Temecula (I hope it was their wineries you visited)!
Terry Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We took a quick trip away from home and stumbled on this gem at the beach. The hotel was quaint and the location perfect to shopping and a lovely beach stroll. The accommodations were lovely and the bathroom roomy but still had plenty of charm. We had a village view and liked it since the ocean view rooms overlooked the pool which was a bit noisy. I would gladly stay here again on out next trip to the area.

Room Tip: The village view room was fine and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polobear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Polobear99 - Thanks for "stumbling" upon us during your recent trip down from Redlands. I'm so glad to hear you had such a nice visit. I hope your trip was during the 80-90 degree weather we have been experiencing. La Jolla is most beautiful when warm and sunny! Thanks again and please come back and visit again soon.
Terry Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing