We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Historic hotel with great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Historic hotel with great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

From start to finish, the staff were amazingly helpful. Our room was in the Garden building, on the first floor. There was a walkway on either side of the suite and we felt very overlooked. The suite was clean and nicely appointed. Unfortunately you could hear every footstep from the upstairs suite. It had no view to speak of.

The restaurant and bar were very busy, we ate in the bar. Service and food and drinks were great.

If we were to return to the area we may consider staying there again, but not in the separate buildings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ednacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Ednacloud -
Thanks for the review you did of your recent stay at the Grande Colonial. I especially appreciate your recognition of us as a historic hotel, as 2013 marks our Centennial anniversary as the oldest original hotel in La Jolla. Needless to say, it's an exciting year for our property. I realize you were not as enamored with our Garden Suites. They are great for those looking for a little more privacy and extra space and for those in need of a kitchen and/or fireplace. Our main building would probably suit your needs best on a future trip, offering either views of the La Jolla Village or, better yet, views of the Pacific. We look forward to having you back.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    402
    129
    37
    17
See reviews for
424
639
61
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
park city, utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in April at the Little Hotel by the Sea - a part of the Grande Colonial hotel. We had a gorgeous second floor suite - which was perfect for two adults and one child. The small kitchen with refridgerator was perfect for our needs.

The location is perfect for walking to the Children's Beach in La Jolla and the seaside prominade. Walking to restuarants and the little town is super easy.

The 3 for 2 night promotion at this hotel enabled us to stay at an upgraded property - which was great. Also - just FYI: the Cottage restaurant for breakfast was lovely. As was Mission Coffee.

And Prep Kitchen has a wonderful happy hour - for brussel sprouts, mixed gem lettuce salad and pattas bravas. My 7 year old liked the burger and fries. (avoid the calamari).

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParkCity_UtahSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear UtahSara:
Thanks for your kind words about your recent trip to La Jolla. I'm so glad you chose to stay in our Little Hotel by the Sea wing. The 8 suites in that building are ideal for families traveling with children, as they do offer full kitchens/kitchenettes (and the complimentary snacks we provide are usually a big hit with the little ones...not to mention being only a hop-skip-and-jump away from seeing the seals at the Children's Pool). Hope you'll be back again soon. Thank you again.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchton, Maryland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I'm staying in a garden view room, on the second floor. When I booked, I had no idea I wasn't in the main hotel. I can see some ocean and sunset out my window. The room has a fridge stocked with complimentary water, Coke and Diet Coke. Gas fireplace too, which is a lovely addition. The staff service is impeccable. It doesn't hurt that they have an awesome restaurant on property, as well (Nine Ten). I'd stay here again, happily.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms will come with a view on the second floor. If you're not into steps, they aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have stayed at The Grande Colonial before and we were not disappointed during our last visit. Our room was well appointed with a comfortable bed, nice bath and small kitchen area. The location of the hotel is in the heart of La Jolla and within walking distance to everything. One block from the beach and walking trails and close to all the shops and restaurants one could ever want. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Excellent location - downtown La Jolla. I stayed the first time at the Grande Colonial. The hotel looks great but the rooms are old and the carpet is grubby. Make sure that you don't get a room which face the village. Those rooms are quite noisy. For sure, there are better options in La Jolla for the same price. 3 stars

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you appreciate small hotels and historic properties and their charms, then this is for you. The public spaces are nice and there is a nice sunny and protected from the street courtyard between the buildings. The staff from front desk, to poolside, to lounge to valet were super friendly and helpful for all 3 days of my stay.

Room Tip: The partial ocean and ocean view rooms will be more quiet. Complimentary coffee in the lobby in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBizSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We are happy that we stayed at this hotel but it wasn't "oceanfront" like I thought it would be. It's about 1 block from the ocean, so not too far.

Recommend: we asked for a room with an outdoor balcony/patio and we got it. I STRONGLY recommend you ask for these rooms too. It's a "partial" ocean view but we were ok with that. The patio was large enough to dine out there, surrounded by flowers & bushes. It was a 1st floor room. We LOVED the patio with table & chairs. They couldn't promise us this room but it was put on our reservation as a "request" I think the room # was: 122

Location: good. easy to walk to everything
STaff: front desk staff & bellman were very nice

Restaurant: never ate there but there were always people eating there at dinner & breakfast
Pool: was small & round (never saw a round pool before) it was ok


I would stay there again...

Room Tip: room with a patio/terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing