We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location in La Jolla” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location in La Jolla”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, right by the seals and the shopping parts of downtown La Jolla.
We stayed here multiple times and each time the rooms were very different. Make sure you check out the rooms when checking in. One room we had was facing the village on the corner and on a Saturday night lets say is not a quiet room. You can actually hear the nightclub across the road. Another time we had a junior suite which was very spacious with ocean view room, this was very quiet and very comfortable as there are 2 desks for me to work on my computer. The last time we were there we were at the smallest room in the hotel. A little claustrophobic for me but one people may find it quite quaint.

A small pool, but didn't look very inviting, no hot tub, no gym in the hotel. I think there is one in the village but I didn't go.

Food from the restaurant Nine-Ten was mediocre, to me it wasnt anything outstanding, I didn't have the urge to go back for more.

Staff were friendly and professional, loved the fireplace in the lobby.

There are better options in La Jolla for the same price, but its not too bad overall I guess there are just more well rounded hotels in La Jolla.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    379
    122
    36
    16
See reviews for
404
615
58
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My main issue with this hotel was the noise. We stayed in a corner room on the 4th floor "overlooking the village". Well, don't plan on a good night sleep considering the noise coming from the street and the bar about 2 doors down. Hotel was okay, clean, etc., but the noise was a major disappointment. Tough to enjoy a vacation when you have a terrible night sleep - multiple times. They could have moved me, for an extra money - really?

When I called before our stay to inquire about possible noise, the night receptionist said it was not an issue - wrong. I talked to Kim [--], Assistant General Manager, when I checked out and voiced my concern. She said she would get back to me in a couple hours - that was almost 2 weeks ago.

Also, there was one plugin in the entire main living area/bedroom. So, to plug in a laptop or phone we had to unplug the lights or coffee maker/etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent three nights there and the hotel staff was amazing. Anytime we needed anything the staff was efficient, quick, and friendly. On check-in, we were really pleased that they asked what time we wanted our room made. Our room was really nice and we could walk to everything.

We did a separate review for the Nine-Ten restaurant attached to the hotel and the restaurant is incredible!

We will be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Traveled to La Jolla with my wife and 11-month old son in November 2012 and spent 10 nights there. We chose Grande Continental based on TA reviews and can attest this is a fabulous place to spend a family vacation.

As we traveled with a baby we needed a place that was secure, clean, within easy walking distance to the shore, and also offered an option to stay at an apartment with a full-sized kitchen (as opposed to a kitchenette) as we needed to prepare baby food. Happy to report that Grande Colonial delivered on every count - and then some!

The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, service unobtrusive and readily available when needed (my wife dropped her diamond earrings into a sink very late one night and the plumber was there within 4 minutes!), valet guys took good care of our SUV and the location was unbeatable.

Plenty of little shops (try designer eyewear at Optical Shop of Aspen just opposite in Prospect Street), organic cafes, beautiful promenade just around the corner with very international crowd, the aquarium, WholeFoods a short drive away - my wife is still raving about that visit and La Jolla with Grande Colonial is now promptly on our to-visit list for many years to come!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank yyzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My room was shabby, clearly in need of fabric/rug cleaning and musty smelling. It was not at all clear in the booking process that entry to my room was from a not very well lit side street rather than the lobby. When I requested that be addressed, I was offered another room in what I can only term the Motel 6 behind the Grand Colonial.

The hotel is a La Jolla landmark....was most disappointed to find the general standards so low despite a profoundly self satisfied air...

Room Tip: Be careful not to be located in the Garden terrace or little hotel rooms....However, based on my ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claireo947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is undeniably a La Jolla legend, but this legend clearly rode down the block long ago. I saw that another reviewer said s/he “wanted to like this hotel, but could not.” I feel the same way. I have stayed at La Auberge del Mar many times, and I guess I hoped that this property could infuse history and modernity tastefully like that Del Mar gem. I was wrong. The property is average and the price is excessive. My room (411) was smack across from the lift, which we were able to hear crying out to us all night for replacement. In other words, the lift itself was noisy. Our room was small and unremarkable. The bed was average, though I did like the fact that the windows could be opened. This is always a plus for me. The View was of the town – a view of Panera Bread, to be exact. I like their food, so that was fine. The miniscule bathroom was a slight step up in size from some of the Tokyo hotel micro bathrooms I have experienced. The sink drain – and my daughter’s toothpaste - took ages to drain. The pool was not much larger than the bathroom (ok, I exaggerate, but you get the point). The lobby was quaint and the restaurant seemed to do well. Maybe the suites are better than my room was - I sure hope so. It is time for a hotel makeover. The hotel's ghosts would probably appreciate that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhiskyDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear WhiskyDoc:
I am sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. While I appreciate your comments about the hotel being a “La Jolla legend”, I am very sorry that the accommodations did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves in the fact that we are indeed a historic hotel (2013 marking our Centennial anniversary). We go to great lengths to enhance the feel of our still intact turn-of-the-century architecture while maintaining a keen focus on modern sensibilities and contemporary sophistication through ongoing updates and renovations. But being a historic hotel, there are things that we cannot change. One being the size and layout of our bathrooms. We are also in the initial stages of planning our next rooms’ renovation, which will take place sometime in 2014. I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future. If so, I invite you to reserve one of our suites and/or an ocean-view rooms, rather than the Village view room you reserved this last visit. I think the spectacular views they provide (along with the fresh ocean breezes from the windows that open) will be more in line with your expectations. Meanwhile, thank you for your feedback.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife, kids, in laws and I spent five memorable nights at the Grande Colonial last week. It has the complete package - fabulous location overlooking and walking distance to the water; beautiful common spaces and grounds; spacious, well-appointed rooms; and gracious, helpful staff. Walking distance to the dozens of charming shops and restaurants of the village of La Jolla. Easy drive to Sea World, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park, Torrey Pines, and a longish drive to Hollywood.

The staff were uniformly wonderful. The front desk staff were friendly and eager to help with all questions from restaurant recommendations to directions to shopping tips to health club arrangements. The bar staff were great. Even the front door team were enthusiastic and warm.

Would love to visit again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JDofDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Empress Hotel
#4 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,852 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing