We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Nearby Hotels
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$265
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Valencia Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$181
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$140
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Jolla Shores Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$249
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,932)
Filter reviews
1,932 results
Traveler rating
1,236
465
158
45
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,236
465
158
45
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage viewhistoric hoteljunior suitewalk in closetthe main hotelperfect locationpartial ocean viewchildren's poolvalet parkingstreet noiseprospect streetshops and restaurantswonderful hotelvalet serviceturn down servicebed was very comfortablesan diego
Filter
Updating list...
1,376 - 1,381 of 1,932 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent a Saturday night in one of the street-facing rooms in the Grand Colonial. The hotel is clean and feels recently redone. It's got an excellent atmosphere and the decor makes for a very fun experience. We were very happy with our room: the bed was comfy, the bathroom was clean and the room was huge. Our only complaint was some street noise, but it was to be expected as we were right above the hotel entrance and it was quite tolerable. We'll be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jdboyd777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

So we have stayed here three times.. We love love love the location... You can walk to the beach ... You can walk to the la jolla cove. We always stay at the garden suites..these have an open feel with a terrace in front complete with a fountain and 2 mins walk to the ocean. The room is perfect for a small family... Perfectly Clean and very comfortable... Housekeeping does a very good job. They have valet parking ( parking on your own is not easy to find its a popular spot) at reasonable rates and valet are pretty prompt . Everything is good at and around the hotel... There are many good restaurants to eat at. Only thing I found lacking at all times we have stayed there is the front desk... they could be little more welcoming. That being said I would highly recommend the hotel and their restaurant nine ten:)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceanloversfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We (husband and two young children) stayed for 6 nights just recently in one of the suites (Little Hotel By the Sea) and we loved it. The room is good sized and having a mini kitchen is just wonderful - we could have some tea and coffee whenever we like and even heat up leftover food in the microwave. The hotel itself is beautiful and the location is just perfect - minutes away from the gorgeous beaches and seals as well as restaurants and shops. The restaurant at the hotel (Nine-Ten) is very good too.

The pool is on the small side and there is no jacuzzi, which is a little disappointing. But all in all, the hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: Try brunch at Cody's! It's 5 minutes of walk from the hotel!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GangnumToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the "Little Hotel" for two nights recently. The little hotel is a separate building on the property and is billed as an extended stay venue, with kitchenette. The reservation was made online through an upgrade promotion at $199/ni. We had high expectations for an overall experience, but were left disappointed in the service - the room itself and 9-10 Restaurant were the highlights.

I had read TripAdvisor reviews prior to booking and also learned of amenities on the hotel webiste. Checkin was pretty basic with the only question being "when would you like room service?". We elected after 10a. The website also said a turndown service was included, but no mention of that at checkin.

Bags were transported to the room via bellman. Upon arrival to room the bellman dropped off the bags, but volunteered little information. Had we not asked about access to the rooftop terrace (an amenity touted on the website for the "Little Hotel") we would not have known. Also, the shower controls are complex with body sprayers and we never really did get it dialed in - I would have expected that to be part of the room orientation.

The Rooftop Terrace is really cool, with a feeling of it being your own private terrace - at 5pm we had a glass of wine and the terrace all to ourselves, it even had a portable gas heater that was relatively easy to operate and was welcome as the sun went down. Views were amazing looking out at La Jolla Cove (though, the little hotel is surrounded by senior/convalescent facilities that will make up the rest of the view).

We ate dinner at the onsite 9-10 restaurant with service and food meeting expectations. After dinner, we thought we'd return to the terrace for the rest of the wine. But, found the portable heater gone. When I called down to front desk, they said it was not dedicated and hard to say when and where the heaters will be at any given time. No big deal, just inconsistent communication on amenities.

Also, that night we realized that we had not had turn down service.

The next day we set out around 9:30a and got back to room around 1:30 or 2p, expecting the room to have been serviced. It was not. I called down to front desk letting them know that the room hadn't been serviced and they said they could try to get it serviced pretty quick (no apology from desk attendant), but we needed to get cleaned up and didn't have time for service, so they said they would do it at turndown. I said that would be nice (a bit sarcastically) and said that we hadn't had turndown the night before. So, we ended up using the same towels from the morning.

My wife drinks hot tea in the mornings and we had noticed that it lacked tea bags (for the melitta coffee maker), a pretty standard offering in any hotel these days. I called back down to let them know it was missing.

I then called back to the front desk and asked to speak to the manager. I was told that there was an assistant manager on duty and she (Kim Avant) promptly called me back. I explained our experience with service to that point and she apologized.

Later that evening, upon returning to room, we found a cheese/fruit tray along with a bottle of wine as well as an apologetic note. It was certainly a nice touch and the cheese was very good. However, there was only one glass on the tray (yet they new it was a couple staying there) and the bottle of wine was more of a bargain bin variety that you'd get at Trader Joe's (not that we are wine snobs, but it wasn't quite the caliber you'd expect with the quality of cheese). We further noticed that they had brought some tea for the melitta machine and there was also a bath mat in the bathroom that hadn't been there before.

My general opinion is that no one incident was terrible, but cumulatively it did not meet expecation and represents a lack of training and etiquette that you'd expect at this level of hotel and at this price (even if discounted). This usually stems from management instilling and insisting on a high level of training and customer service - the attention to detail and proper attitude were missing. It may be that the hotel is going through a management transition and this is just temporary. However, I doubt our experience was isolated or that we are any more discerning than any other guest.

As a point of reference, we've stayed at several hotels in La Jolla and our favorite has been the Pan Tai Inn of late. It is is in same price point but is much more boutique in size, but much higher on quality of service. With this experience, I have no desire to go back to the Grande Colonial and will stick with the Pan Tai for future visits.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcm6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one evening , and were very happy with our choice. The staff were very friendly and professional. We stayed in a junior garden suite, and it was beautiful. Lovely linens, bathrobes and towels...and the most comfortable bed on our trip. The location can't be beat. we walked along the beach and then we walked all over this beautiful little town. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to our friends. Olearys from Calgary

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abdott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews