We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for 4 nights it was a very pleasant surprise. Beautiful historic hotel with a great location in La Jolla, surrounded by restaurants, shopping and close to the ocean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milena d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,338 - 1,344 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

A truly historical property in a great location in the hub of downtown La Jolla. Loved the close proximity to the ocean and the restaurants on Prospect Street. We walked to the "Children's pool"-- a protected beach cove where the seals love to hang out, a block and a half away. Excellent service and lovely grounds. There is a circular pool in the center courtyard that my daughter loved, also quiet and relaxing. The hotel is a great base for walking around La Jolla, viewing sunsets, and it's easy to get to other locations in the San Diego area.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are several buildings that make up the Grande Colonial. We stayed in the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fish19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great location for night life, dinning & shopping. The staff is well trained & service is excellent, everyone was helpful & very friendly. The only negatives we experienced was the carpet & bath linens were well worn and there were multiple chips & marks in the paint on the walls. The closet was dusty & had tags & bags left from the previous guests shopping. I had to clean it before we could pack. However, the hotel staff & the restaurant food & service made up for the few little negatives. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellojelloTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My family & I recently stayed here and couldn't have been happier. The hotel is within walking distance of restaurants shopping & the beach. Fabulous service, comfortable rooms and accommodating staff. Beautifully decorated rooms & fascinating history. We didn't see or hear any ghosts :)... Only downside was that our room faced the street and we did hear people outside and was noisy at night, however this was because we liked to sleep with our windows open. Shout out to Benny, one of the valet attendants. Super nice. Also, tiny dark haired girl at the front desk who knows her food. Hostess/waitress attending the community college from Denver was super sweet, too! Best location in la jolla.

Room Tip: Wouldn't pay extra for ocean facing since there aren't any balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistobbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Good room at a decent price. No complaints at all on the accommodations side of the hotel. Neat area, but very busy, and if you don't like shopping, you should like California bustle.

The meeting rooms were cramped, and you could frequently hear the staff moving things around in the halls. Small and awkward meeting spaces not ideal for high tech presentation work.

The terrace, where they served lunches, was an awkward space.

The several buildings where rooms are located is either inconvenient or quaint, depending on your mood.

The staff kept things rolling,and the bar is very busy, but with a nice crowd.

In all a good boutique hotel which is making the most out of the space it's got (which, at 100 years old is actually pretty cool).

I'd come back for small venue business meetings - very small. I liked it, and compliment the staff, but wasn't wowed.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Booked a group here and was really satisfied with the overall experience. The location is excellent - some ocean views. The hotel proper is beautifully done. The grounds are lovely. Charming. The period if the hotel means smaller rooms. The carpet and decor of the room are somewhat dated. This is the quirky side. Comfy bed. Very friendly staff. Catering service was excellent. Restaurant was decent. Pool is ornamental or good for kids. Free wireless and group rate meant value was great. All in all a great experience and I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Grande Colonial is a refreshing change from today's modern Hotel chains,it oozes "Old World" charm that captures you with its personality.
It has a great location right bang in the centre of the beautiful town of La Jolla.
We had a slight problem with room selection but this was handled in a very friendly efficient way with our satisfaction as their main concern.
As much as we appreciated the charming building we were totally impressed by the warm and friendly staff at all levels, you really feel that they appreciate your custom in a very genuine way.
When we return to La Jolla we would not consider staying anywhere else,what better a recommendation than that !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,221 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $219 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing