We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband, 2 teenage sons, and I enjoyed a long leisurely weekend at the Grande Colonial. Hadn't been to LaJolla in almost 10 yrs so I wasn't sure where to stay. The reviews on Tripadvisor made my decision easy. The property is just lovely and I can't wait to return. Stayed in a Jr. Suite with an ocean view. Felt like we were in our own little cottage. Room was very clean. Beds super comfortable and very little noise from other guests. Bathroom was beautiful. Towels - soooo soft! Nice Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities provided. Chocolates left at turn down service very good. Huge safe in room. I could go on and on.....

Pool area very clean and pretty. Water nice and warm. Plenty of towels. We were able to take a few with us each time we went to the beach. Location wonderful!

The Nine-Ten restaurant serves declicious breakfast and so inexpensive. Wish we had discovered it our first day rather than the last! Great Italian restaurant a few blocks away. You can literally park your car and walk everywhere; which was great for my teenagers. No safety concerns letting them go off and shop and eat on their own.

Not pleased with front desk assistant(s); however, the hotel Manager promptly addressed my concerns after the trip, when I e-mailed him. The rest of the staff very courteous, but that is to be expected in a good hotel. We stayed at the Peninsula in Chicago this summer, Four Seasons in Las Vegas and the Montage in LaGuna Beach. All 5 star properties. Our adorable suite and experience with The Grande Colonial was right up there with the best properties and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niceplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    359
    120
    34
    16
See reviews for
372
590
54
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were immediately made to feel comfortable and welcomed by the staff despite arriving at a busy time. We had a room facing on to the main street rather than the ocean. It was spacious, clean, and comfortable and were were happy with the view as La Jolla is such a pretty town. The hotel is located centrally and there is plenty of choice for dining out nearby. We did eat in the hotel's own "910 restaurant" one evening and it was special, well deserving the excellent reviews we had seen beforehand. (Also had breakfast there on three mornings -- again an excellent experience: great service, food quality, and plenty of choice). We enjoyed using the small pool and garden.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heraldthewake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I will first start off by stating I had booked another hotel in the area, and as soon as I check in, I checked out-it was horrible, and nowhere to stay....

I got on the internet and starting making some calls and one was to The Grand Colonial, with no rooms available- I told them I needed room within an hour and I was staying for 2 months. I received a response back so quickly and they worked to accommodate everyone of my needs. One of the young ladies took the time to walk me thru the property and also show me the room.

Long stay-need a private, quite place with a kitchen and more. All my needs were met, to my surprise, and much more. Not only is everyone on the staff and Management Team awesome, but the hotel itself is breath taking..... the staff went out of their way to email me and give me an itemized bill 2 times a week-for the corporate traveler, you know how “Expensing” can be a pain, they made it so easy….

I'm not too picky, but it has to be clean, and safe for a single woman traveling by myself. The Garden Terrace Suites are amazing, they are a block or two from the famous "La Jolla Cove" The view is amazing, the pool is very nice, clean and quite.... I had a car-but rarely used it, everything is in walking distance. Restaurants-Eddie V's, great Steaks and Seafood-the view is something out of a movie. Prospect Bar and Grill across the street from the hotel-had live acoustic music most day, good food as well. Drug stores, florist, clothing shops, all within walking distance.

I had a kitchen, large bathroom with two sinks/large vanity. The beds were so comfortable, and modern and cleans!!! I have never had such a great experience at a hotel, and felt right at home !!

I could write so much more, and I know my stay was 2 months, but I look forward to going back even for a weekend, wouldn’t stay anywhere else......

Room Tip: Corner Terrace Suites are quite, and you feel like you have your own apt. The windows also open, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyann_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have to admit that perhaps my two negative issues are overly pickly because prior to our stay we were at the Wynn in a Tower Suite.

At the Grande Colonial we had a nice ocean view Junior Suite. The living area part of the room was spacious and comfortable. However, the TV was very small and for over $300 a night I think a bigger TV should be provided. I jokingly called it a large iPad. The bathroom was small and very cramped. I'm a large guy, so I ended up going to the public bathroom on the lower level just to be comfortable. The shower could use some grab bars for safety.

This is a beautiful hotel; very friendly staff; convenient location; worth the money; and I would return inspite of the prior mentioned "size" issues which may be just applicable to the room we were in -- #410.

Room Tip: Room 410 is for skinny people and those that do not wish to watch football games in their room. (My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jckspann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is a nice change from the more modern, look alike hotel chains. It was clean, well kept with nice service. The location was great and at the center of everything. Beds comfy, good shower water pressure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place just felt good. Beautiful, views with lots of big windows in my room, the grounds were charming, the rooms spacious and well appointed and the service was so lovely from the front desk, the bar, restaurant, meeting rooms, wait staff, concierge and bell/valet personnel. It is right in the middle of everything and a short walk to the water. I would definitely stay here again. This trip started out as a business trip and ended as a family trip and this hotel accommodated both very nicely!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We just returned yesterday from a five night stay. The hotel is an old property very well renovated and maintained. Our ocean view suite was very comfortable with operating windows opening onto the sea.
We commented that the light level at the vanity was inadequate. Within 30 minutes, an engineer changed the bulbs and the problem was solved. The staff, ALL, from the bellmen-doormen to housekeeping to wait staff and front desk, were excellent. No request was too much.
We have breakfast in our room every morning. The food was excellent and reasonably priced (for room service).
We went around the pool and the umbrellas were in use. I called and three men came down with an umbrella and stand from the terrace to fill our need.
I am recommending this property to my son for next month.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing