We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charming Hotel in Center of La Jolla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel in Center of La Jolla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Grand Colonial 2 weeks ago. The hotel is ideally situated in the center of La Jolla. We were able to easily walk to everyplace we wanted to go including boutique shops and restaraunts.
The hotel itself is in an old building that has recently been renovated. We stayed in a junior suite on the third floor with an ocean view. The hotel is one block from the Ocean. We were immediately greeted by hotel staff that took our luggage . Check in was very efficient and smooth with very friendly staff. We arrived around 12:30PM so our room was not yet ready (check-in is 3PM). We had lunch in the hotel restaraunt (Nine-Ten) and received a call while eating that our room was ready. When we arrived in our room our luggage was already there. The junior suite was very spacious with lots of windows looking down on the patio/pool area with a nice view of the ocean. The windows were great as the weather was in the mid 70's during the day and mid 60's at night with low humidity so we had the windows open all the time and had no need for AC (which the room did have). The bathroom was configured in a narrow long room. It is obvious that they had to work within the confines of this hisotric building and I think they did an excellent job. One nice thing was that you could pick a 2-3 hour window for housekeeping to clean your room each day. The hotel has a very nice lounge/patio area to relax in during the evening or enjoy a morning breakfast. This lunge/patio area is very popular and on two evenings the area was booked for private functions. We could hear the noise from the private functions in our third floor room but it was not overwhelming and the all of the parties were over by 8:30-9PM.

It was a very relaxing time in the hotel and its central location made it so easy to shop or eat out. While the building is old and historic the inside has recently been renovated and everything was new, clean and well kept.

I would defintely stay there again and have no negatives. There is a small pool but otherwise I can not comment on whether it is a good place for families with small children. We certainly enjoyed ourselves and were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCZAR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    366
    121
    34
    16
See reviews for
384
600
56
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've stayed here on two separate occassions and I loved both of them. The staff is wonderful, the view is amazing and it trully is a BEAUTIFUL hotel. The bellman were always incredibly helpful with tips and ideas of what to do. One of my very favorite hotels!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My fiance and I booked The Grande Colonial when we had to come to La Jolla for a family reunion. Other members of the family stayed at other hotels in town, and based on their negative experiences I am so happy we chose to stay here. We were able to check in early and they gave us a beautiful sea view room. The beds were very comfortable and the closets were walk in which was very nice since we werent stumbling over suitcases. We spent several hours lounging by the pool, while it was small- it was very enjoyable and never got to loud. Lunch by the pool was also great. At night the restaurant in the hotel was very lively and a great place to have cocktails. This hotel also has a great location with walking distance to anything you would want to go to in La Jolla. My suggestions for breakfast while staying here are Cody's and Brockton Villa which are both within three blocks. Our only (small) issue was with temperature control in the room it seemed like the air was never at the temperature we set it atl Regardless, if we were to end up back in La Jolla I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoChica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our family has never been to La Jolla and found that this hotel had the best reviews and at a great rate. Our stay was amazing!!!! The valet and bellman staff was exceptionally nice, even offered us to use a couple of boogie boards and chairs for the day. We took them up on the boards and had fun. It is located by all the shops, restraunts, minutes from the cove. Everyone there makes you feel welcome. We had a 2 queen room for my husband and I and our 2 daughters and was plenty of room. We went through San Diego Bike and Kayak Tours to rent snorkel gear for the day and then went on a kayak tour another day. Will definately be coming back again. The best deal in town and the best service!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri6024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very comfortable hotel. Food good, staff great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a comfortable king size room (#107). The staff was extremely friendly and informative. The room as well as the hotel lobby and grounds were very clean and stylish. For only a block away from the beach and being near it all, you can't beat the price!

Room Tip: We didn't mind, but room 107 does not have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The room we had was lovely, lots of room, beautiful grand hotel. Restaurant food was fabulous, great location, close to everything.! Quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: We traveled with my two teenagers and my husband so we had Two Queens' and a roll away, the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoFunmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
#4 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing