We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel, close to the beach and La Jolla's shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Grande Colonial is an interesting property, with a main building and separate rooms out back. We were thrown off a bit by its layout at first, but then we saw how nice the accommodations were. Also, the layout allows for a level of quiet and privacy that was quite pleasing.

It's a great destination for a simple, leisurely visit, and it's also wonderful for romance. We really felt like we were somewhere special. Throwing open the windows and enjoying some romance in this setting makes for some special memories. I wouldn't see this as a family-with-kids kind of place, but otherwise, it's terrific!

Room Tip: Don't feel like you're getting second-class treatment if you opt for the building out back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessnyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

The Grand Colonial Hotel was the most beautiful, romantic setting for us. The rooms are beautiful and elegant. We love the ocean and listened to the waves every night through our open window. The view was fantastic. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, professional and helpful. It is on the historic hotel registry. We love architecture, so this was fun to explore the various sitting rooms, old pictures in the hallways on every floor and the interesting fixtures. They also had a water dish for dogs passing by. When we were in the restaurant, a staff person kept an eye on the dog dish and kept refilling it. There are many interesting places to walk, eat, drink and shop in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view and if they have any specials for room rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Quite possibly the nicest, classiest hotel room I've ever stayed in. The look and furnishings were something you'd want in your HGTV-inspired home. The location was great, easy walking distance to all the good things in La Jolla. The staff was excellent, friendly and responsive, they quickly sent up a coffee maker when we asked for one (and it actually made pretty good coffee). We had a room facing the street, and it was still totally quiet inside. The only downside was the expensive ($22 a day) valet parking. But we weren't able to find any on-street parking (other than 2-3 hour limit), so we just bit the bullet and paid.

Room Tip: Near the elevator was a constant loud buzz, we thought it was a hair dryer, so I wouldn't want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thanks Redrandy! I couldn't be happier to read you very positive comments about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. I see that you have many other reviews about your various travels over the years so appreciate your recognition of our efforts here in La Jolla. If and when you come back to the west coast, check out our Trip Advisor page for special offers. We are currently running a FREE PARKING offer, which will save guests that $22 daily valet parking charge. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.
Terrence Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

As some people have said, some of the rooms show their age, but it is well maintained and a wonderful location in La Jolla. We had a gift card for the restaurant so we decided to stay the night also. We were upgraded to a Jr. suite and had a partial view of the ocean. It is centrally located in the village so it is great for late evening and morning beach walks. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhill100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our recent stay at the Grande Colonial in La Jolla was a refreshing reminder of what really exceptional hotel service once was. Much like the classic architecture of this near century-old gem, the staff visitors as genuine guests. They are friendly, welcoming, attentive to detail, from the valet to the front desk and all the food service workers, it was a reminder that there still are exceptional customer service hotels in the world. Cheers!

Room Tip: We enjoyed 4 rooms for a family wedding; the walk along the beach is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastmoreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The staff was incredibly professional, the hotel gorgeous, the food amazing, the meeting facilities fantastic. Need I say more? We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VSTARMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I made a last-minute reservation for a one-night stay for my daughter and myself. I spoke with a Lynelle in reservations who upgraded us to an oceanview junior suite when we arrived. It was the most beautiful room with wonderful bedding and a gorgeous view. Lynelle also helped us with an early check-in which was very much appreciated. She also mentioned the discount coupon found on Trip Advisor for the parking, which saved us some money on the parking. Overall, we had a great experience, staff was wonderful, and we'll definitely go back for another stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UniqueTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
3.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $219 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing