We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment!”

Sprinkles Cupcakes La Jolla
Ranked #1 of 26 Bakeries in La Jolla
Restaurant details
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I'd been hearing about Sprinkles for a long time, and finally went today. I took home two cupcakes -- a chocolate cupcake with chocolate frosting and sprinkles for my chocaholic husband and a key lime cupcake for myself. My husband's reaction to his cupcake was "eh -- nothing special". My "key lime" cupcake was a dense, heavy cake with overly sweet frosting and just the slightest hint of lime flavor, almost impossible to detect. Perhaps I'm spoiled by the heavenly key lime cupcakes from CB's in Carlsbad, which are not only light and delicious and with a strong lime flavor, but also at least half again the size for the same price. I won't bother with Sprinkles again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marisa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    23
    10
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious cupcakes!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Delicious, fresh cupcakes! My favorite was salted caramel. Small store with great service. Don't miss this!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nanohoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Its cupcakes are good, but not great. I don't understand what all the fuss is about. I've had better cupcakes, in terms of flavor.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynnbrownstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cupcake Heaven”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Whenever in that area I stop by and get at least half a dozen different flavored cupcakes and give some out to my co-workers I love this place my fave is triple cinnamon and the margritrita one you have that salty/sugar combo going on yum yum! Although a little overpriced it's still worth every penny...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvilda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Made me love cupcakes...”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is in The Shops area of La Jolla. It is a very pretty looking shop and the cupcakes taste great! Especially the ones with chocolate! I did not care for such desserts before, but after eating here a few times I have changed my mind! I do not believe that they are overpriced as some reviewers have suggested. Well ,they are not as cheap as McDonald's or Taco Bell desserts but of course the quality is much higher so it is not reasonable to expect a dollar value menu in this shop! Recommend a bite to everyone!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OzgurRosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprinkles Cupcakes La Jolla also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Sprinkles Cupcakes La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing