We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK quality. Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sprinkles Cupcakes La Jolla

Sprinkles Cupcakes La Jolla
Ranked #1 of 29 Bakeries in La Jolla
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“OK quality. Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Rating: 3.5/5

Best cupcakes in San Diego, but (not trying to be mean here) that doesn't mean much. I've had a lot better cupcakes in other cities. In my opinion this place gets the reviews it does because there is no good competition. There used to be a fantastic cupcake truck in San Diego, but sadly that went under.

Though OK in an absolute sense, and I'd never turn one of their cupcakes down, I think compared to a good place you'll find these a bit dry, a little small, and distinctly expensive. Flavors are on the straightforward side, nothing too complex.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    22
    10
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“it's ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Cupcakes taste great but don't expect to save money. Many options, like cake sampling. Consider it a splurge.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Cupcakes I have ever eaten in my Life~So worth the price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My daughter had asked me to get Sprinkles Cupcakes for her College Graduation, it is a place she frequents a lot, and has raved about their cupcakes. While planning her Graduation, I didn't know if I wanted to include Sprinkles cupcakes on her graduation menu. The cost was a shock to me, especially for the special orders. But she absolutely wanted them. I was amazed at how beautiful they were.....and they tasted so Good. I do not eat sweets. And actually had more than one. Now it is a favorite place of mine also. So worth it!!!! A must Try!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dubaychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sprinkles delivers on high class cupcakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Sprinkles definitely lives up to the hype! Their icing is sevine and piled high. Their cake is moist and delicious with a nice fluffy but dense texture. They are so beautiful your not sure if you should eat them! A little much when it comes to flavoring but a girl can't be toooo picky!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GapCreekGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very cool little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

If your in San Diego ( La Jolla) this is something nice to check out. I thought $ 3.50 per cupcake is a little heavy for a cupcake. The closer to the middle of the cupcake the better it got. I enjoyed it.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hotiron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprinkles Cupcakes La Jolla also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Sprinkles Cupcakes La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing