We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service. Not worth it.”
Review of Aroma Bakery and Cafe La Jolla - CLOSED

Aroma Bakery and Cafe La Jolla
Price range: $7 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fay Street
Description: Aroma Bakery and Cafe is a one of a kind restaurant in the Heart of The Village and the only known bakery on Prospect Street. The bakers arrive 5 a.m. to bake the finest pastries ready early for breakfast and throughout the day to the night. Our extensive and interactive 42 page menu of savory cuisines from the continental U.S. to dishes from Europe and Middle East will surely fulfil one's appetite. Aroma's extensive Pizza, Salad and Pasta dishes along with our signature Beef Stroganoff, Schnitzel and steaming Chicken Pesto caters to all. With outside seating on Prospect and Fay, Aroma is the place to relax and enjoy your mouth watering needs for pastries and cuisine.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor service. Not worth it.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Tried to have Breakfast with wife and 2 kids. Although there were tables available, the hostess did not care to seat us down. Made us wait 20 min after telling is the wait would be 10 min. Then she offered to seat js down in their adjourning barfly... Suposed to be the same menu. She made us waste all that time and then after seating us in Barfly, the first thing the waitress told us was that the kitchen would take 30 min to serve anything! Then left, and came back 5 min later to take our order. We left after spending almost half hour and no service... Well, actually a TERRIBLE one. May I say prices where awfully high! The menu saus the place was recently founded by a group of entrepreneurs... how can they take pride on this place?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redmarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
“Great value in La Jolla”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We are locals and love this place. We had three great meals at this place over the the past seven months. Consistently good food and nice service. Big portions of food and our kids love this place. Great salads and sandwiches. The dinner fare is great and lots of food. The desserts rock at this place - always fresh and amazing selection. Also, the price point is fair - this is very hard to find in La Jolla!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
“Love this place”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Excellent customer services and great Food! I try the chicken mushrooms crepes they delicious! And the cream Brulee the best!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous cafe in La Jolla Cove, well worth a busy any time of day!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Having read good reviews, I decided to find Aroma which is literally the other end of the street from the other breakfast place, the Cottage, but no waiting here, sat outside in the sun watching the world go by, the most varied breakfast menu you can wish for! I opted for a healthy choice and wanted to try something different, so I chose the Acai Bowl which was with a frozen style sorbet made from a fruit called Acai, served with strawberries, bananas, and homemade granola in top, was absolutely delicious! You must try this and you won't be disappointed! Service was really good and was truly a lovely start to the day!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michie_bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited this place for brunch after loving the bar the night before. The staff at brunch stood around talking while we waited a very long time to even get a drink. We were told food would take a while but we could get a drink while waiting. After 15 minutes of waiting for a mimosa after ordering one, we gave up and left.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma Bakery and Cafe La Jolla also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing