We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the outdoor dining”
Review of BarFly La Jolla - CLOSED

BarFly La Jolla
Price range: $15 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fay Street
Transit: MTS Bus route 30 (UTC/La Jolla/UCSD) to Silverado Street and Herschel Ave.
Description: BarFly La Jolla offers a one of a kind dining experience with an extensive California Cuisine menu with influences from European and Middle Eastern countries. BarFly’s specialty dishes include Chicken Pesto, Chicken Shwarma, Tortilla Crusted Mahi Mahi and so much more. BarFly is more than your ordinary restaurant. It is an elegant indoor and outdoor restaurant, La Jolla's largest Sports Bar and an exciting Night Club. BarFly's Sports Bar offers a distinctly "Better-Than-Bar-Food menu, 11,000 s.f. of comfortable seating, 26 HD flat screens, 24 beers on tap, large patio seating with fire pits and a private VIP room with its own private balcony overlooking “The Village of La Jolla”. Dine in and listen to live bands or stay for after hours while local and national DJ's spin on the one's and two's and enjoy bottle service in the only Night Club in La Jolla.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved the outdoor dining”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Was Leary but service was good and food was really good! The menu was a bit much too many selections . Finally settled a chicken kabob with rice and yummy hummus!! The outdoor dining with the fire pits was nice!! Can't say anything bad about this place good quantity as well!!

Helpful?
Thank Moejoe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lots to choose from”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place is like a diner, the menu has everything on it from humus to steak. The inside has tons of TV's perfect for a new yorker to come to to watch NY teams play.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Barfly kept me hanging around”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I passed this place by once, as it just looked like a loud sports bar. We came back to eat dinner and we were surprised at the food quality! I had the "salmon sticks" dinner, and it was far better than many salmon dishes due to the perfectly cooked consistency and a great wasabi-chutney dip to accompany the enormous pile of fresh vegetables. My husband had the chicken schnitzle and it came on a plate loaded with fries (decent), hummus (good), pita and other snacks. The free birthday slice of white cake with sprinkles was a higher-quality surprise than expected. Service was adequate. We would return anytime we sought a causal atmosphere with good food thanks to the patio outside where we could avoid sports talk, but I would sit inside anyway as it looked nice and wasn't too loud at the time. Really good food for a great price!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinapage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good spot to watch a game”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our server was very friendly & helpful when we asked about local shopping/attractions. We only had drinks; my friend and I parked our husbands here while we shopped. Our husbands enjoyed the atmosphere and we were happy to have found a restaurant/bar that was showing the college football game they wanted to see.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour and Sports Bar”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went to Happy Hour on Friday Night - billed as the longest Happy Hour in Town. It ran from 4:00 to 10:00pm and featured $4 drinks, free appetizers and a live jazz band. We watched the Utah game and stayed until 10:00 when BarFly opened up as a Night Club. They gave us FREE entry to the Night Club because we had been at their late night Happy Hour. The Night Club was jamming'

Loved the outdoor seating area and the food. This is way better than bar food. I had burger and a beer which they had as a game day special for under $10. Friends had pizza and a beer, Mahi Sandwich and a beer and Wings Rings and Things - all under $10. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliematibag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BarFly La Jolla also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing