We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Walkin, Nothing to See Here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Jim Cave

Sunny Jim Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
$148.99*
and up
La Jolla Segway Tour
Ranked #26 of 77 things to do in La Jolla
Attraction details
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Keep Walkin, Nothing to See Here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

$4 per person to walk down some rickity old steps, then turn around and go back up. The "view" is not worth while. If you're like I was you will disregard the negative reviews and head down...only to wish you hadn't.

Helpful?
Thank GregB1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    52
    26
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
long beach
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super Cool, unexpected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We just happened across this shell shop that had a sign advertising a tunnel to a sea cave. $4 each and lots of steps down got us a memorable experience. It reminded me of the cave you would see in the Goonies movie…(I just dated myself!) Really, it is neat to be on the inside of the cave looking out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank annies133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is a tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I visited this cave with my husband last week. We both felt like that was the fastest $8 we've ever spent. If you choose to see this attraction then go into it knowing exactly what it is. You walk into the little shop, pay the cashier $4 per person, then you walk down 145 stairs, you will be on a landing that has a railing around it trapping you in a small area that allows you to see an opening to the ocean. The same view that you see on the postcard back upstairs at the cashier, that's all. Now turn around and go back up 145 stairs.
It took us a maximum of 15 minutes to walk down the steps, look at the view for 1 minute tops, then walk back up the stairs. Absolutely a waste of time and money!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AprilYost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Down into the cave”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

A hundred years ago a man had two workers dig a tunnel down into the back of a cave that opens on the front end into La Jolla Cove. 145 steps takes you down there to see the cave where the ocean waves come in. Two sea lions came in while we were there. It's probably worth the $4 it costs to go down. Don't go if you aren't ready to climb down and back up the 145 steps.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allaneddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island, USA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this cave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I visited it with my son recently and enjoyed the visit. The admission was inexpensive and they offered a cute gift shop that was not extremely expensive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisapatb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunny Jim Cave also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Sunny Jim Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing