We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican Gourmet and wonderful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mustangs & Burros

Mustangs & Burros
Ranked #75 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Southwestern, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Mustangs & Burros is a classic Territorial Ranch style restaurant with a cozy and intimate dining room, featuring a spacious patio reminiscent of a Spanish hacienda. Both areas feature wonderful and inviting fireplaces. Enjoy delicious small plates inspired by the Southwest and extraordinary house crafted cocktails, including innovative margaritas & our very own M & B Sangria, or join us for dinner and experience Chef Kramers' regional cuisine inspired by the season. The Mustangs & Burros Culinary Team pride themselves on utilizing locally grown and sustainable ingredients in a fresh, unique and imaginative way.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Gourmet and wonderful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

loved the fireplace and all the outdoor sitting areas with cushions and candles - the nachos are big enough for a family of four and probably the best I ever had. the fish tacos are great too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_VO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    48
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“poor food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Way to dark to even read the menu or see what you were eating,had to go outside to even read the meanu

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank irishtraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Dining or Drinking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved Mustangs and Burros. We ate outside every time we were there and the heat lamps were great at night. We went there for drinks and guacamole (with great salsa and chips which are all homemade) and we ate dinner there. They have great Trinitas Chardonnay and very good housemade margaritas (I liked them with jalapeno). The street tacos (carne asada and mahi mahi) were small and delicious for a perfect light dinner and the salmon was great for a larger dinner. Excellent service! We had a great server who we felt like we knew after being there several times. He was very helpful when we asked for suggestions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“High priced salads, lots of lettuce and not much else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent service at this restaurant, Sadly, high priced salads have repeatedly had lots of greens and very few of the listed ingredients. Skimpy salads!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“upscale and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant food is tasty and great selection of different things. the server was very helpful . The room was a little too dark and hard to read the menu but server was their to help with a little light. need a little more light in there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dihome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustangs & Burros also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Mustangs & Burros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing