We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, thoughtful exhibits, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego

Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.99*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Ranked #22 of 77 things to do in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With two locations, the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego is the region's foremost forum devoted to the exploration and presentation of the art of our time, presenting works across all media created since 1950. MCASD provides an unprecedented variety of exhibition spaces and experiences for the community, showcasing a dynamic schedule of exhibitions and public programs. Located in the coastal community of La Jolla, take in the fabulous ocean view from the Edwards Garden Gallery, or lunch on the patio at the Museum Café. MCASD La Jolla also houses the Museum's X Store, filled with a selection of contemporary art books, apparel, and innovative design objects. Situated directly across the street from the La Jolla Cove and within walking distance to the renowned Wedding Bowl in Cuvier Park, MCASD La Jolla's spectacular ocean views and distinctive architectural design make it an exclusive venue for your big day. Our La Jolla location offer spaces that are adaptable and elegant, from a grand reception with dinner and dancing in our remarkable Axline Court to an intimate wedding ceremony overlooking the ocean in our picturesque Pacific Union Pocket Park. History Established in 1941. Founded in 1941 as The Art Center in La Jolla, the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego (MCASD) has evolved into an organization of national and international renown. The Museum serves the region as a vital cultural and civic asset, with contemporary art and living artists at its core. The La Jolla location was originally an Irving Gill-designed residence, built in 1916 as the home of philanthropist Ellen Browning Scripps. Today, MCASD La Jolla comprises nearly three acres of prime oceanfront property, including the Edwards Sculpture Garden. Venturi, Scott Brown & Associates' renovation of MCASD's La Jolla location opened in 1996.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, thoughtful exhibits, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is one of the friendliest art museums I've been too. Great rotating exhibits are housed in this building chock full of gorgeous views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    61
    20
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Since we stayed in La Jolla, we visited this location, but our admission also included the downtown location. Regrettably, we didn't make it there. The flow of the La Jolla museum was very interesting, creating a wide variety of interactive experiences inside and out, and integrating stunning ocean views with the artwork.

The outside sculpture garden is terrific.

Another factor I enjoy about contemporary art museums is the pieces aren't static, and this museum expanded on that techinique in a variety of ways, with work tucked into corners, placed low on the floor or high on the ceiling, and merged through walls. Really added to the experience.

We visited during the late morning on a weekday, so it wasn't crowded at all. However, the onsite restaurant with lovely patio seating was packed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_TK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited the Museum for the wedding and also to enjoy the Lifelike exhibition. The Museum Café is a great place for breakfast or lunch. The exhibits are wonderful! You can't beat the sculpture garden for views of the ocean while being surrounded by beautiful art. A must see while in LJ!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegodancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Smaller and more intimate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

If contemporary art is your thing, and if the large crowds of major museums are less than appealing, you should like this little gem in La Jolla. From the staggering boat installation out front to the Robert Irwin that pierces the gallery walls out towards the ocean, there is lots to see and think about. The collection reads like a who's who: Warhol, Borofsky, Dion, Weiwei, Kelly, Stella, LeWitt--it's like that art textbook you've been hoarding for as long as you can remember. I go there tommorqmif I weren't thousands of miles away!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“both branches of this art museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

are the best in San Diego, if you like art. i love art and always visit the art museums in all the places i have traveled: Madrid, Barcelona, Rome, Paris, London, New York, Washington DC, San Francisco...i am a SD native and think we do pretty good with these museums, given the size of this city. if i were visiting and made time for this museum as part of a tour or downtown or of la jolla (where the other original branch is) i would not be disappointed. AND if you see one, the ticket is good for free admission to the other for 7 days. different exhibits, of course.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing