We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi with great service.”
Review of Aloha Sushi & Hawaiian Grille - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Aloha Sushi & Hawaiian Grille
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kline
Description: Exciting, progressive culinary concepts and a relaxing, resort-style ambience has combined to Aloha Sushi Lounge as a dining must in San Diego area. One mere glance at Aloha Sushi Lounge's menu, featuring Asian Fusion dusted with Hawaiian influences, you will see that you are in for an incredible meal. Additionally, Aloha Sushi Lounge features traditional sushi offerings while fully embracing the "new wave" philosophy of sushi, which utilized non-traditional ingredients and techniques to produce sushi specialties that come bursting with an exciting new assortment of taste sensations. Aloha Lounge's tropical decor, highlighted by spacious cabana seating in their outdoor patio, not only lends the perfect complement to their delectable cuisine, it also provides the ideal backdrop to indulge in one of their many fine sakes, wines and sojus. Located in La Jolla and situated mere blocks from the legendary coastline, Aloha Sushi provides a local escape that is deliciously refreshing.
Herriman
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great sushi with great service.”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Went here with my kids and we weren't disappointed. It was late, but the staff, and especially our waitress, was very nice and helpful. We asked her recommendations and went with what she suggested. It was fantastic. I especially liked the Jalapeno Roll.

Even thought it was late on a weeknight, there were a lot of people there. They appeared ot have been there before and were having a good time.

Not sure if anything in particular stood out. I think it's hard for a sushi restaurant to be completely unique. We went in just wanting good sushi and we got it. I would go there again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Moustacio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummy Sushi with outdoor patio seating and indoor sushi bar”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Friendly waitstaff serve a fusion of traditional sushi with an 'aloha' flair. If you want the southern California outdoor seating experience or seating at the sushi bar getting to know the friendly sushi chefs, it is your choice. The food is fresh with a unique take on each dish the offer.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susandiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible food and service, not sushi atmosphere”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Used a groupon and read the reviews ... but the reviews were unreliable or maybe there is a new owner or maybe that is why they did the Groupon deal (but I am glad that I only bought one). The hostess was nice, but she was ditsy and clueless, when we gave her our information apparently she didn't write our name down, just our party number and my cell number, but didn't ask for our name (odd). Then 1 hour later we were seated in the Cabana, and the hostess didn't give us menus, give us utensils or napkins and didn't tell the waitress that we were there (we were the last cabana. We waited for 20+ minutes until someone came and found out that the hostess didn't tell the waitress that we were there (according to the waitress).

So we order, and the waitress brought the ginger and sesame seeds were ordered but didn't bring chopsticks or fork to eat them with. STUPID! So we waited 5 minutes and then had to go get someone. Waited 30+ minutes for our sushi to and, by the time they served it, cold tempura which we sent back because it was cold and soggy.

Sake was horrible and cheap quality!! The sushi was made with old fish and tons of rice (I couldn't eat one of the rolls because it tasted so fishy and yellow tail is not supposed to taste fishy!).

WILL NEVER COME BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christmaszorro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worst service i've experienced in la jolla”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

i tried going there tonight because it came highly recommended, and when we approached the hostess we were greeted with attitude. even though the place wasn't even half full, we were told there would be a 30-40 minute wait. fine. i casually asked "is this for inside AND outside?" and i was told (in a very nasty tone) "yes, there are people with reservations ahead of you. you should've made a reservation." so we put our names down and were asked for a phone number, and i asked whether they would call us when our table was ready, and was again met with a snarky response of "well yes, of course." then we were dismissed-- which i thought was strange because they had a bar. normally, a decent host invites you to enjoy a drink at the bar while you wait for your table.

after waiting for twenty minutes, and after thinking about how poorly we were treated, we decided to make our way down a couple blocks to toshi-san. they were crowded, but we were greeted warmly and the food was delicious. and i never did receive a call from the hostess. i have to say, this is probably the worst i've been treated in a la jolla restaurant, and i'm very disappointed. i work in a prominent la jolla hotel, and in the future when a guest asks for a sushi bar recommendation, i will be sending them to toshi-san.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank rcc_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Trendy restaurant, fresh food”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I was happy to find out that Aloha Sushi is open for dinner on Saturday nights til 10:00pm. I was quickly seated on the outside patio and waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu. Pls note, the sushi rolls are not daring. I did not see sea urchin or other exotic delicacies on the menu, but I ordered the lava-lava roll and it was delicious and very filling. I started with an appetizer- thai curry shrimp salad and this was the best dish! I'm still dreaming about it. I ordered the sweet potato fries just to nibble on & they were very good. For a Saturday night, it was pretty quiet but probably due to the economy. In the back & side of the restaurant, there are lots of outdoor cabanas for private dining/parties. I would definitely go back again b/c the food was fresh & delicious, again not for the adventurous sushi eater.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alfredo91480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aloha Sushi & Hawaiian Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing