We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous spot where locals go” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windansea Beach

Windansea Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$148.99*
and up
La Jolla Segway Tour
Ranked #5 of 77 things to do in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A famous beach for surfing.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous spot where locals go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Gorgeous beach set alongside cliffs. This beach is one of the most picturesque in San Diego. Only negative is that the waves can be a bit big and the undertow combined with the big incline can make swimming a bit scary. Surfers love this spot for the same reasons.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank SBLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    106
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“For surfing and people watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This beach is really not a good beach for swimming--you go here to watch the surfers, and to enjoy the fabulous tides that crash against the rocks. Walking the shoreline is fine--it was too cold in June to do more than get my ankles wet anyway. I am probably slightly prejudiced since we stayed near this beach, and it was so easy to get to...we just packed our stuff and walked down the street. Parking can be limited during the weekends (and probably during high season), but visiting the beach here is really about enjoying the location, not the swimming. Under parental supervision, there were lots of children swimming near the shore. Near "the grassy shack" there were lifeguards on duty every day for the surfers. I took so many photos of this location--it is what you really the postcard photo you expect to take home with you...sand, ocean, rocks, cliffs, homes on the cliffs, various plant life, interesting people...and it doesn't matter what the weather is...the photos have great variety whether it is a gloomy day or a sunny one.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobbi222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I live here, so....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Best surf break in La Jolla if you're a pro. People come to train for Hawaii's contests here because of one particularly hard 'break'. Swim at your own risk, but, in summer there is a lifeguard. This isn't really for children unless you just want to haul your stroller down pretty treacherous steps and mess about on the rocks. I wouldn't advise toddlers. The water is too mercurial. But it's the most beautiful spot, for me, just about anywhere. The surf is turquoise, the view is magnificent and it is THE place to watch the sunset with your sweetheart or just by yourself. It's also a piece of history. Ask anybody, while you're there, about the shack. I am in my 50s and I swim there in the summer (Aug/Sep/Oct) and just bob on the north side of the beach. It's AWESOME and will make your day. Parking is a problem, but not too bad and people are pretty cool about letting you use their driveways if you ask. No toilet facilities, but that's a big ocean out there if it's mild usage you need.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank YooperLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best day at the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spent part of Memorial Day at Windansea Beach, and I think it is the best day our family has ever had at the beach. As other reviewers have said, there isn't a wide sand area so it isn't a laying out type of beach - especially at high tide, but the combination of some sand and the interesting rock formations made for a great day. We were there with 4 kids (ages 8-13), and they loved exploring the rocks and little caves as well as building sand castles and playing in the waves. I just want to clarify that rocks doesn't mean a rocky beach like pebbles instead of sand. It has sand, but closest to the street, there are boulders - and huge ones - like you can sit on them and have a picnic. The adults sat at the edge of the boulders -with legs dangling down - and overlooking the cove that the kids played in. There were several lifeguards stationed at the beach. It wasn't crowded at all, but there were quite a few surfers.

Pros:
no crowds
sand and rock parts make for a more interesting time
beautiful sunset

Cons:
no bathroom facilities
surfers and swimmers sometimes get in each others way

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kalakeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surfs Up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great place to show visitors a very attractive beach scene. Parking is always very limited so try to schedule your visit during less popular hours.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Creekview_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windansea Beach also viewed

 

Been to Windansea Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing