We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, but with one big problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent value, but with one big problem”
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed here for three nights after getting our room for a terrific deal on Priceline. The hotel is reasonably well located, within walking distance of a beach (but not the beach/shopping area that forms the central part of La Jolla). Our room had a nice view and was tastefully remodeled in a sort of minimalist/Asian style; it had a flat-screened TV with ample cable channels. The beds were comfortable, and although there is usually a charge for parking, a very nice hotel desk clerk let us park in the lot for free. (If you want to park for free, you can also just go down the road a couple of blocks and park in a safe residential area.)

The hotel did, however, have some significant negatives, the most important of which was a very strong smell in our room. It smelled like some kind of solvent, perhaps from the recent remodel, and after trying to air out the room to get rid of it and turning off the vents, we contacted the front desk to ask about it. We were told that the rooms had been remodeled some months ago but that we could be moved to another room. We were escorted to another room down the hall, but it had the same smell. There was another room available on a different floor, but it had been remodeled at the same time. If we hadn't bought our room on Priceline (nonrefundable), we would have left, despite all the hotel's good points. But since we couldn't get our money back, we stayed and just aired out the room each day as much as we could. Once we were in the room for a while, we (sort of) got used to the smell, but each time we entered it from outside, we were hit by the very strong smell.

Another problem was that several of the remodeling choices presented problems. Although they were relatively minor, we found them annoying. For example, the faucets were short, smooth vertical cylinders with a tiny (perhaps 1/8") bump on them for "grip." This was actually really irritating, because when your hands are wet or soapy, there's no way to turn the faucets--your skin just slips on them. So we were constantly gripping them with a washcloth just to turn them on and off.

The cutouts in the shower for holding shampoo were tilted downwards, which meant that we couldn't put our shampoo bottles there without them slipping and falling into the shower stall. A slight inconvenience, but annoying.

The bed frames jutted out, and all of us ran into them numerous times. Again, a minor problem, but irritating.

The shower stall was see-through glass from two sides, including from the main room. Although this might be nice if you're staying there by yourself and want to see through the room for the view, for most people it's probably a bit of a pain. The side leading to the main room had a screen that you could raise or lower (to prevent people from seeing you shower), which my son dubbed "the perv screen." The side facing the bathroom had no similar screen, so if you're taking a shower and someone else in the family has to use the bathroom, they'll see you in it.

We noticed that many small things in our room and the hotel itself hadn't been finished. For instance, there were supposed to be towel shelves in the bathroom--you could see where the supports were--but they hadn't been installed, so the towels were just neatly piled on top of each other. There was a hole around the sprinkler system in our room, and we saw several loose wires just sticking out of a wall. The hotel elevators were very odd, with some kind of plastic curtains around them inside and a very run-down feel.

Although we didn't mind that the hotel didn't have a business center, it would have been appreciated. At this point I think all hotels should at least have one computer with free internet access available for guests.

All in all, we wished we'd stayed somewhere else, though the smell (and its possible toxicity) was the biggest problem. If that were resolved, we'd probably stay there again, especially since it really was an excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    310
    156
    83
    71
See reviews for
266
365
56
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We stayed at Hotel La Jolla for 4 nights and got the "web special" price. It was a great value and even my wife didn't find anything to complain about. That says a lot. The room was very "California modern" and was tastefully decorated. Large flat screen TV, nice shower and good reading lights. Free internet too. The hotel doesn't have some of the amenities of the big chains (like several restaurants on-site), but the location is good and overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handychgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I was excited to visit San Diego for the first time with my wife, but the hotel was disappointing. The front desk manager was..interesting..and unhelpful. Our room had a beautiful view, but the internet connection was horrible, and the elevators were worn down and slow. Also the restaurant hamburgers were quite greasy and not worth the price. Was looking forward to something more luxurious.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxanne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Oh my, delay in getting this one up but here goes. Went for the Buick Invitational PGA TOUR. I too, am in the Industry and though it was not the usual hotels I stay at, I was very impressed by the service, location, and Clay's Restaurant. Got to meet the chef, had pictures and drinks with him, pleasant and kind. The concierge had duel rolls during the week, he was concierge, bellman, and shuttle driver. Very informative and helpful. View was outstanding especially at or near dusk. The burgers at Clay's, with me being from one of the beef capitals of north america, where some of the best I have ever had, Grilled to perfection, no overly juicy, crisp veggies, drinks were great. I was here before the remodel, I look forward to staying here again, just off the beaten path, well worth it for the price, lcoation, efficient, and pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endless_summer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We are locals who stayed in one of the first to be completed remodeled rooms to celebrate my husband's birthday back in July. We were treated very well by the staff and enjoyed our stay in spite of ongoing construction. I delayed this review until I had the opportunity to stop back and see that the remodel project is almost complete.

Rooms are large and quite stylish with modern, clean lines. Glass enclosure allows you to enjoy a panoramic view of the Pacific ocean while you shower! This hotel is located within walking distance of La Jolla Shores and many great neighborhood restaurants including Piatti's.

Clays restaurant offers a great Happy Hour during the week with stunning views on the top level of the hotel..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Location, location, location. What else do you need when you have a panoramic ocean view spread before you. We are somewhat local but had family in from out of town, so we took rooms here for the weekend to hang out with them. The rooms in this hotel may be a bit tired, but this is a truly special property. Make sure you eat at the restaurant too...the views are just unparalleled. The staff here was the friendliest we have ever encountered, anywhere, no exaggeration. These folks will do anything to make you happy. I really don't understand how anyone could give this place a negative review. Yes, it's not the Four Seasons...but I'd argue it's better. Not a stock property - very unique. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDTripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordbaden
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2009

- Great Service from Reception and Management
- nice recommendations for tour routes and nice spots to visit\
- nice rooms

- Jacucci a little too hot

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidelberg-Nordbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.2 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,088 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
1.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,351 reviews
2.4 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 7955 La Jolla Shores Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#14 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with upscale decor and high end bedding and amenities. All non-smoking rooms, glass balconies, small gym, heated pool, walking distance to beach and La Jolla Shores shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Jolla Shores
At The Shores La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing