We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not Bad..”
Reviewed October 23, 2005

Just stayed here on a business trip, and it was ok. I would say the hotel is a bit dated, but all in all I have stayed in worse and for the price there was not to much to complain about. Its a short drive (5min) to downtown La Jolla which is great and a very short walk to the beach and Starbucks is right across the parking lot.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    300
    141
    82
    68
See reviews for
245
353
56
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 14, 2005

I have been to La Jolla several times, and I have stayed at the Hotel La Jolla once. I would stay there everytime I go, but it is usually booked (because it is a popular hotel). I really liked this hotel. It was in a great location (walked to breakfast and the beach everyday). The views from our room were beautiful. I especially liked the complimentary shuttle to and from the shopping area of La Jolla. People who comment poorly on the staff and employees "being rude" is probably because they themselves were rude to the staff. I was greeted everytime I came through the lobby, the room service staff was always friendly, and the concierge was very helpful in helping us find good restaurants and activities. This hotel is reasonably priced (especially for La Jolla!), clean, decorated well, and in a good location. I recommend it to anyone, families and couples alike. As a matter of fact, I am booking a room there right now and will be staying there in a couple of weeks!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2005

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights in late September. We received a wonderful room rate that included ocean view, breakfast and high-speed internet. Our room was on the 10th floor (and--as noted by others who posted reviews, we could hear some noise from the restaurant on the 11th floor--but this didn't create a problem). Great panoramic view of the Pacific from our room and also from the restaurant (which served good food). Room was clean and well decorated, with a comfortable bed and small refrigerator. It was only a short walk to the beach. Village with quaint shops/art museums/kayak & surfboard shops and wonderful seafood restaurants were very accessible. Concierge service was the BEST--with knowledgeable young men who knew the area--and provided free transportation within 5 mile radius of the hotel. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
4 Thank cbdbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 24, 2005

I stayed here with my husband during our honeymoon. The room was on the 3rd floor and the housekeeping was terrible. We found underwear from the previous occupant on the carpet. When we reported the problem to the front desk, they neither notified the manager nor offered to improve our hotel accomodations. Luckily it was only for 1 night. We will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel La Jolla for Valentine's Day. In the past, my family always stayed at this hotel when they visited me while I was attending UCSD. This hotel is very convenient to the campus. It's only a 5 minute drive to the center of school. We received a complimentary upgrade to a suite when we arrived for no reason other than it was available. The restaurant upstairs is great with beautiful views. I highly recommend it for breakfast. The bed was comfortable but the showers were a little small. A suite would be great for a family since it came with two separate bathrooms and a pull-out couch in another room with a separate door.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2005

We just returned from our stay in southern California. The Hotel La Jolla was our last stop, we stayed for 3 nights. We were on the 9th floor and had beautiful views and not much noise. I am very bothered by traffic noise but we kept the balcony doors closed at night and didn't hear a thing, they did an excellent job at keeping out any outside noise. The room was oversized,did have a small bathroom but I grew up in a house with a bathroom not much larger so it wasn't a problem. We found our room clean and it was made up whenever we came back from sightseeing or the beach. We used the do not disturb sign so housekeeping never "barged in".
Is within walking distance to many good restaurants and the beach. We drove up to the Village and I am glad we did not stay there, very crowded area. We ate a breakfast and a dinner in the 11th floor restaurant and had excellent service and meals. We had dinner on a Sat. and the place was hopping and lots of people dancing and having a good time.
The AC did go out the 2nd night(it was record heat when we were in San Diego) but was fixed by the afternoon. We did have to carry our own bags(as we did on Catalina Island and in Long Beach)but there were carts available and we saw one guest getting help with her many packages from shopping. The elevators both worked,in fact my husband noted how fast they were. The staff was very helpful in giving directions and letting us know the best time of day to avoid the traffic.
We plan on returning.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF/Bay Area
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2005

We stayed in room 808 on the 8th floor with an oceanview. The room was very warm and did not cool down even though we had the cool setting on high. The refrigerator did not work. It was warm and had a tray of moldy water. The room was very quiet which was nice. There is a lot of traffic in the area so I can see how noise could be bad on the lower floors. The restaurant is on the 11th floor and I was told by the hotel staff that the rooms on the 10th floor can hear the noise/music. The pool area was very small and I couldn't find an empty chair to sit down. There were about 20 or so chairs total. The fitness room was also small but it had the basic equipment needed for a workout. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We paid $159 for a Saturday night which included breakfast for two at their restaurant. The hotel is very average and I'm glad that we didn't pay anymore.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.2 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,007 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
878 reviews
2.4 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 7955 La Jolla Shores Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#14 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with upscale decor and high end bedding and amenities. All non-smoking rooms, glass balconies, small gym, heated pool, walking distance to beach and La Jolla Shores shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Jolla Shores
At The Shores La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing