We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
Keller, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We stayed for two nights Aug 1-3 and had booked thru the hotel website. We paid for an ocean view room and boy did we get it! We checked in early (1:00) and asked specifically for a room on floors 7-9....we got one on the 8th floor and the view was spectacular. What we liked about it over maybe one of the hotels directly on the beach (like The Shores at La Jolla) was that it gives a panoamic view of La Jolla, including the ocean. One of the most beautiful things about La Jolla is the actual town and hills so we felt like we got the best of both worlds. The room was extremely clean, large, comfortable and lovely. Not contemporary, but lovely. They are actually going to undergo a renovation to contemporary in the fall. The staff was friendly and helpful. Loved the free shuttle service. We did not hear the outside traffic from our room, unless we were outside on the balcony.

We are beach people - primarily Mexican carribean (Riviera Maya, Cozumel, etc) so have pretty high beach standards. If you are looking for a pristine white beach don't go to The Shores beach, which is walking distance from the hotel (also where The Shores La Jolla hotel is). It was a very crowded, hard-packed sand beach. Apparently the tide pretty much comes all the way up at night so its really just not that pretty or comfortable. Though there are some nice little outdoor restaurants/cafes down there. Instead of trying one of the other La Jolla beaches (which the shuttle would take you to), we actually went over to Coronado for our second day. A great choice. I heard WindAndSea beach was better. We just decided we wanted to see the world-famous Coronado and also one of the local shop owners suggested we would like it better.

Note - the hotel has free beach chairs to use.....get one as you will want one. They also offer free towels - they are small so get about 3 per person.

Recommendations :
- Go to The Marine Room one night for a cocktail (walking distance...like 2 blocks). Go when it is dark. I've never seen anything like it - spectacular. It literally sits on the beach and has flood lights shining out that light up the ocean and at high tide the waves crash against the windows. The night we were there the water was literally a couple of feet up - it was like being in a snowglobe. Amazing. We could even see stingrays in the water (they are attracted to the light)
-Clay's for breakfast was yummy but pricey. Great view though - same as the one from our room.

Bottom line - we would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Walking distance to the beach....and the beach that was there waiting
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank werealreadythere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    299
    139
    81
    67
See reviews for
242
349
56
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We stayed at Hotel La Jolla for the weekend which turned out to be one of our most enjoyable times we experienced in a long time. The lady that checked us in on Friday when we arrived was very nice and gave us directions and suggestions on what to see both in La Jolla and downtown San Diego. We had a lovely dinner at the hotel which has a spectacular view! We loved the fact that the hotel was conveniently located near the beach and not too far from some nice shops that were easy to drive to. The rooms were very clean and the housekeeper had a friendly smile when she saw us in the morning. Our stay was a calming getaway from the hectic life we live in LA. We are looking forward to the next time we can take some time off. We will definitely stay at Hotel La Jolla on our next trip.

  • Liked — The comfort of the bed and size of hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CASunnyLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed at Hotel La Jolla from July 8-15. This place is a hidden gem. The staff was very friendly, helpful and always available. We couldn't ask for more!
The cleaning staff was always cleaning!! Our room was on the 10th floor with an ocean view. The room was very nice, clean and the bed was very comfortable.
One thing we really enjoyed was the hotel shuttle. They will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius of the hotel.
The ocean is a close enough to walk to, and the pool at the hotel is nice if you don't feel like going to the ocean everyday.
Another gem at this hotel is Clay's on the 11th floor. They offer a wonderful happy hour everyday from 4-7 with 50% off appetizers.
We made a meal off of this deal!
We will go back and stay at the Hotel La Jolla again. They are going to be remodeling the hotel. The pictures of what to come are stunning. They already started adding new machines to the fitness room while we were there. Can't wait to see the final outcome! This was just an awesome experience!

  • Liked — It's very clean!
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rtrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2008

I have stayed in this hotel a few times and i just love it. The rooms have a “beachy/tropical” ambiance that is both spacious and homey. The hotel provides an ocean view, lots of fresh air, a décor that offers serenity and a gracious hotel staff, which is a welcomed sight after a stressful week.

What more could you ask for? I look forward to staying with you again on my next trip to the area.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything I liked least.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Wife and I stayed there last weekend as I had to be in San Diego for work. The hotel was listed as a preferred hotel by our company so I called them up. When I inquired about the special rate code the reservations transferred me to "sales". I was greeted by a very pleasant person who told me that the rate code is not available but with $20 more per day I will be able to get a ocean view room and he would include breakfast. The hotel is located very close to the La Jolla beach (walking distance). Property is "older" ... but well kept / clean. Two young and polite gentlemen greeted us at the front-desk. They had my reservations ready and even provided a nice welcome gift from the "sales" person. The room we got was on 10th floor .... we were excited as this would give us a great view. Just when the check-in process was completed the guy at the front desk asked if we were going to be parking ... uhh .. yeah we were charged $15.00 per day ... which I thought was ridiculous ... also it was not disclosed earlier ... it was late and didn't wanted to argue so we went up to our room ....

The room was OLD .. furniture had paint peeling off ... carpet was uneven ... bathroom was a disaster (there are pictures by one of the reviewers which explains this much better). The towels were old ... bath tub had paint peeling off .... TV in the room had awful reception ....

more importantly ... don't ever stay on 10th floor ...

We found out that hotel has restaurant on 11th floor ... so ... if you are on 10th ... you will hear every foot step ... chair drag ... fork bouncing off the floor ... plus ... on weekends they have "entertainment" ... forget if you want to sleep in before 11 PM ....

Definitely not an upscale hotel ... if you are going to stay .. then go with low expectations ....

There are better alternatives ... shop around.

  • Liked — Close to La Jolla shores / beach
  • Disliked — Room ... terrible !!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkdoobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2008

The Platinum room was great and I loved the King size bed, in fact, I didn't want to leave it! The room was definitely modern in style with a really good size flat screen TV. I loved the glass shower and the contemporary bathroom sink!

Clay's restaurant was really great. The views were amazing and the staff were so kind. We even chatted with Clay himself!

I would definitely stay here again and request the Platinum room.

  • Liked — Clay's Restaurant
  • Disliked — The 2 older men at the lobby desk.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsaldivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, ca
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We stayed here for the 3 day weekend in June 2008. Front desk guys are terrible at greeting and accomodating people. They lie to your face and the lady manager is the worst out there you can find! We stayed in tons of hotels throughout the U.S. and we know what 3 star supposed to be like. This hotel is shaby and in need of repairs and big time updating. The front personal needs to be changed soon (AND I MEAN SOON AS POSSIBLE) and so is that lady manager! They are rude and liers! They promised to bring a crib into my sisters room - she waited for 6 hours! Her room was small (she paid $160 for the night), bathroom door broken, it smelled! Now, my moms room . She ordered rollaway bed, they never brought it to her room (for 3 days). When she checked out, they charged her $80 for it. Our rooms were completely paid for through priceline. When we checked in , front desk took our credit cards and WITHOUT ANY AUTHORIZATION OR EXPLANATION OF CHARGES - charged our cards $300 each. Thats a big time fraud!!! We won't go there again!

  • Liked — near ocean
  • Disliked — front desk people and their manager
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank albg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
1.4 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#12 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 7955 La Jolla Shores Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#14 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with upscale decor and high end bedding and amenities. All non-smoking rooms, glass balconies, small gym, heated pool, walking distance to beach and La Jolla Shores shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Jolla Shores
At The Shores La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing