We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fabulous time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Had a fabulous time”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

booked this hotel last minute and was such a pleasant surprise. the hotel is in a great location in La Jolla, only a 5-7min walk to the beach. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Stayed on the 3rd floor, had water glimpses of the beach, if you stay at a higher floor, 4 or 5 above would have some fantastic view of the beach.

there are some fantastic restaurants down the road. the hotel has complimentary bikes you can use as you please.

the only negatives are the cost of parking/valet at the hotel of $28+tax per day is very steep, the hotel also doesnt provide free Wi-fi for guests. there is a starbucks next door though if you want to go and use the internet and get a coffee.

the hotel offers free morning coffee for all guests and every evening from 5-6 has free wine tasting with nibbles which is a great touch. the hotel has a wonderful bar downstairs and also on the 11th floor called Cusp, which has the best view of La Jolla.

one of the nights, they had a movie night at the bar in the outside bar by the fireplace, which was such a nice way to end the evening.

also, when we headed to the beach, we were given a beach pack which was such a nice touch that contained, towels, sunscreen,chapstick, bottles of water, sand bucket.

i recommend eating at Cusp restaurant on the top floor for drinks and the food and seeing the sunset.

We had such a pleasant stay and would definitely be back!

Room Tip: rooms from level 4 and above would have an amazing view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hey Mazydee,

Thank you for the great review! I am glad you had such a great time while you were staying at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed coffee service, wine hour, and Cusp all three are things we hope all of our guests experience when they are here.

Until Next Time!

Warm Regards,
Nikki Carlson
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    306
    149
    83
    69
See reviews for
257
360
56
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here when we were visiting family in the area. The hotel is located in a great neighborhood. The beaches nearby are pretty good - we preferred the beaches in Encinitas and Del Mar which are only a short drive away. However the hotel is within walking distance from a pretty nice beach. The amenities are great - free bike rentals, free happy hour wine, valet service to name a few. The rooms were clean and modern with a touch of quirkiness (pretty typical of a kimpton resort). The best part about our experience there was definitely the staff. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. From the front desk to the valet to the maintenance staff, the service was top notch.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hey Traveler!

What a great 5 star review! Thank you for sharing your feedback with other travelers. I may be a little biased but my favorite thing about the hotel is our staff too, they just rock! Thank you again and we hope you will visit us in the future.

Warm Regards,
Nikki Carlson
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monee, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is not as quirky or fun as the other Kimpton properties I've visited. The décor is beige and brown and somewhat depressing with only a few splashes of color. The rooms are dark. The bathroom is very dark and has poor lighting for applying make up in a mirror so distant from where one is standing that it was not possible to see well. The bed was comfortable but only 17 inches off the floor....why so low ? This hotel is only a year old but already showing signs of wear and tear in the rooms....scratched furniture and carpet peeling up.
The staff is exceptionally professional and kind, very attentive to customers needs. The valet parking seems a bit too steeply priced at $28/night.
We had a bad experience with uncooked food and slow breakfast service in the restaurant but the view was great.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms at the end of the building as far away from the bar are the best. The music from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Traveler,

Thank you for the review! I am disappointed you did you find our hotel as unique as other Kimpton Hotels; our design is more of a modern beachy chic type of design. Our public areas renovation was completed one year ago but our guest rooms were not renovated during that time period, thank you for bringing some of the guest room challenges to our attention so that we can address them on a hotel wide level.

Thank you again for the 4 stars!

Warm Regards,
Nikki Carlson
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I recently stayed 1 night at this Kimpton hotel (4 September 2013). Everything was great, loved the decoration of the hotel and the outside bar, the room was very comfortable and modern, bathroom was cool too (loved the glass wall on the shower :) ). The staff was very nice and very helpful, specially the valet staff, Fernando was very helpful on his suggestions for dinner. I was visiting for work with a colleague so we didn't have much time to enjoy the hotel amenities and to explore the area. The location seemed really nice, we just walked to a restaurant for dinner next to the beach. I had breakfast at the hotel on the top floor, the view was amazing and the food was great! The only negative thing I can point out is the price of the valet parking, it's the only option available to park the car...
Overall it was great! Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaRib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! I am glad you had an overall great experience with us. I am going to share your great feedback about Fernando's level of service with the team. It's so nice to see our employees making such a positive impact on our guest’s experience.

Thank you again!

Warm Regards,
Nikki Carlson
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff is excellent. Stayed here on a recent trip. Staying here made out trip to San Diego/La Jolla very relaxing. The motif is contemporary and the room with an impressive vista cannot be beat-stayed on the 7th floor.

Room Tip: The views on the upper floors offer a better vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! Always love seeing 5 stars! I may be biased but I think our staff is great also, I am glad they took such great care of you.

See you next time.

Warm Regards,
Nikki Carlson
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has a beautiful view of the beach on the upper levels. The rooms on the top floor can be a little noisy from the restaurant, but with the view, helpfulness of the staff and wonderful room, you could tend to ignore the noise, otherwise you could just move down one floor and still have the wonderful view. The restaurant has a great view of the ocean as well and the food is good.

You're within walking distance to the beach and not very far from Scripps Park to visit the sea lions. I would also visit Caroline's Seaside Cafe, where you can grab a meal overlooking the beach.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a beach view. It's worth the extra money. The very top floor is noisy from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh00py
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hey Sh00py,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review....5 stars wahoo!!! I may be a little biased but I think our staff is pretty amazing also. Nothing beats the view from Cusp if you ask me!

We look forward to you visiting again.

Warm Regards,
Nikki Carlson
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Pros: within biking or walking distance to a nice sized portion of La Jolla Beach.
Free bike rentals offered by the hotel.
Small but nice hotel gym
Free animal print plush robes while you stay there
Close to OEX and another activity company
Close to some decent restaurants
Cheaper upscale hotel than most hotels there

Cons: The pool is small
There is no hot tub
There is no breakfast
There is no business room where you can use the computer and print off things privately
You must ask for items other hotels automatically place in their rooms such as hair dryers, coffee machines and cups
The valet parking is ridiculously expensive
This hotel is further away from shopping areas

Overall it was nice. We stayed for three days and two nights. Can't say that I would stay more than that. The restaurant at the top of the hotel was our favorite. It offered delicious but healthy meals. We would eat there again even if we were not staying at that hotel :) A helpful tidbit would be to park in the street next to the hotel and avoid paying the valet price. Also, rent bikes early because they go fast. This hotel is a pet friendly hotel if anyone is interested in that. They also advertised a shuttle that would take you anywhere close in La Jolla.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biochickg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hey Traveler,

Thank you for writing such a detailed review upon your departure from Hotel La Jolla! We love when our guests share their feedback. Hair dryers are supplied in all guest rooms, so I apologize that there was not one in your room we will be certain our housekeeping team is paying closer attention to those details. I agree with you that Cusp is an absolutely delicious dinning option! I will be certain to share the feedback with our chef.

We hope you will try us out again!

Warm Regards,
Nikki Carlson
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.2 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,165 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,052 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 7955 La Jolla Shores Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#14 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with upscale decor and high end bedding and amenities. All non-smoking rooms, glass balconies, small gym, heated pool, walking distance to beach and La Jolla Shores shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Jolla Shores
At The Shores La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing