We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but AC needs to work better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I arrived around 11 and they had a room ready for me. That was a great start to the weekend. Checked into the room and went up. room 302. The room is located right above the outside patio, so can be a little loud early evening. Room was clean, double beds. I loved the shower with the peek a boo curtain. You can put the curtain down for privacy in the bathroom, or you can roll it up and give your roommate a little show. LOL!!

The balcony door lock was broken, and I told the front desk and it was changed and fixed within 2 hours. The ac was another thing. I complained about the AC not cooling the room properly after the 1st night. They were to send someone up to fix up...but looks like the fix was turning it down to 60...which didn't fix anything. It wasn't unbearable, but wasn't 100% comfortable either. The beds were also super comfy!

The location is great. I took the shuttle down to the cove area. It was a 5 min ride. 15 ride to the airport.

The hotel hosts a wine hour 5-6 every day, and has different activities depending on the day. I also hung out at the pool for a few hours. It is a small pool, with very limited lounge chairs. The pool was heated so that was nice. The outside lounge area was very chill. Would consider staying here again in the future, but I think I would like to be closer walking distance to the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

CBunches,

You ROCK! Thanks so much for all the props. I'm sorry about your experience with the A/C. We actually just went through a nice little (actually quite big) tune-up on our colling system so I can assure you that there will be no shortage of cool air on your next visit. Feel free to borrow one of our beach cruisers to bike to the beach on your next visit so you don't have to worry about walking, our chef can even prepare a nice little picnic lunch for your to take with you.

Please let me know when you return, you will be so comfy that you won't want to leave your room.


Cheers!
Shannon
858-551-3690

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

The staff here is exceptional. The rooms are nice (typical of the Kimpton brand) and it's in a nice area. This alone makes it an above average property, but the staff is what really makes it shine. Every single person I encountered went above and beyond to make sure my stay was superb.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjw503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

tjw503,

You are EXCEPTIONAL! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiece. I love that you found our staff to be as outstanding and we find them to be, I sure am a lucky gal! Come back and visit again soon, maybe you'll get to squeeze in a little leisure time on your next business trip.

All my best,
Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you are traveling in this area, hands down, this is the place to stay! Even though the hotel is an older hotel that has been remodeled, the rooms look brand new! Loved the style! The lobby and pool area had a very nice vibe and all the staff was super friendly and the valet guys were always willing to offer directions. Even though we didn't pay for a ocean view room, we still had a great balcony with an awesome view! Walking distance to the ocean and shops in town and also right next to a Starbucks. Really enjoyed our stay here! Good rate for the quality (but keep in mind the overnight parking costs adds quite a bit!). Have fun!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Oh Kayla B.,

YOU are hands down the BEST! Thanks so much for the raving review, I'm so happy that you had such a fantastic visit. I hope you will be visiting us again soon, we can't wait to welcome you back.

Cheers!
Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

On a short business trip, my first time at this hotel, my stay has turned out nicely. The staff could not have been more pleasant. Everyone I encountered was friendly and helpful. I was given a corner room on the 6th floor, a welcome upgrade on checkin. I can see the water just over the trees looking to the West. The restaurant, Cusp, 5 floors higher on the 11th floor, has a very good view of the surrounding hills, the bay and setting sun, a bar with variety of good west coast products and a menu that is limited but interesting. If you want Internet access joining the Kimptom loyalty program connects you for free. Other comments in the reviews below raise good points to keep in mind. There can be noise for a light sleeper from passing traffic. The live music at the ground floor open air lounge can get to be a distraction (but the weather was so nice I had to sleep with the doors to the balconies wide open). The area is upscale but not so inviting to pedestrians. If you are here without a car, the hotel has a shuttle that runs locally. The room I was given was clean and comfortably laid out and appointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcdowntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

dcdowntown,

Thanks so much for the great review! I'm so happy to hear you had such pleasant encounters with our team, they truly are the best! You really can't beat our ocean views, I'm glad you were able to spend a little time in the room to enjoy it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cheers!
Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I took a trip to La Jolla to see a play at UCSD. The location of the hotel to the school campus was perfect - just a quick 5 min drive away.
The staff at the hotel couldn't have been friendlier. We brought our 50lb Siberian Husky with us and couldn't have felt more welcome - usually a hotel claims to be pet friendly but what they really mean is pet tolerant. Not The Hotel La Jolla - they truly loved having our pet there. They provided us with a bed, food/water bowls, a little toy and everyone on the staff wanted to pet our dog (who loves to be pet).
The appetizers and drinks we had at the restaurant at the top of the hotel (Cusp) were all delicious and inexpensive (we went during happy hour).
The room itself was very large, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We stayed in an ocean view room, and I gotta say that even overcast and drizzly the view was enjoyable. We opened up the sliding door and had coffee and breakfast on the balcony.
I really can't say enough nice things about this hotel. We will definitely be back :)

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for an Ocean view room that's on a higher floor with a bigg...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessik67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear jessik67,

Thanks so much for taking time to write this raving review! I must say I laughed when you mentioned the pet tolerance of other hotel companies as I often refer to their "friendliness" in that exact manner. I'm so happy your pooch felt the love, our team just can't get enough of our furry guests (pets that is, not people).

We can't wait to welcome you back to less drizzle and more sunshine on your next visit.

Cheers!
Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are on our 3rd night here at Hotel La Jolla, sitting in the outside lounge area ("Hiatus") and cannot stop talking about how wonderful our experience at this hotel has been that we were inspired to write a review.
If you opt for an ocean view room on a higher floor, you'll be so pleased with the view and sunsets that you can watch right from your room. We are on the 6th floor and the view is just wonderful at sunset. The restaurant on the 11th floor also has an amazing view and Delicious food!
There is free shuttle service to and from anywhere within 5 miles of the hotel, which easily gets you into the village where all of the restaurants, shops and La Jolla cove are.
The staff is beyond friendly, warm and accommodating and the rooms are more modern than we expected them to be based on the exterior structure of the hotel.
I'd say this hotel is a 'don't judge a book by its cover' kind of place. I've stayed at a few Kimptons and loved them all but this is, by far, my favorite. Everyone has gone out of their way to be sure we are enjoying ourselves and happy here and the ambiance of the rooms, restaurant and outside lounge are trendy, yet warm.
Oh, and you can borrow their bikes or scooters to get down to the beach, which is a 5 minute bike ride away!
If you are even considering Hotel La Jolla, consider it a YES!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuppaGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Oh SuppaGurl, you just made my day! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with fellow travelers. Our team ROCKS and I'm so happy to see that you enjoyed your time with them as much as I do.

We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

Cheers!
Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Slamming doors, moving furniture, children bouncing on beds above is all due to paper thin walls.
Do not stay here unless you bring ear plugs! Doors do not have automatic door closers. Hotel is also located between two very busy streets but close to UCSD.
Also, hotel is under staffed at late hours. Room service does not answer because the person that takes your order is also chef and delivers your food. Ordered salad and lettuce was old and wilted. The valet is also the one who delivers your extra blankets and pillow. Everyone very friendly but certainly this hotel is not worth the price. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

carmen k,

Ouch, this review feels like I've just ripped a bandaid off of my arm. I really appreciate your candid feedback and can assure you that this will be used as a training opportunity for our team.

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

All my best,
Shannon Foster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.2 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,184 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
3.5 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,370 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 7955 La Jolla Shores Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#14 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $178 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with upscale decor and high end bedding and amenities. All non-smoking rooms, glass balconies, small gym, heated pool, walking distance to beach and La Jolla Shores shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Jolla Shores
At The Shores La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing