We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price, Well done.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton La Jolla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
L.A.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good price, Well done.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2007

I like this place overall--it has a nice "down-to-earth" feel and the price is right. Nothing over-the-top, but the little details make it, like two nice thick robes, fair-sized rooms with good color schemes and a little living area and windows you can open for fresh air. Also have micro and fridge. My rooms have usually overlooked the courtyard which is pretty, with palms, pool, lawn and winding paths. There are some that overlook the parking lot, though. Also, yes, as others have said, there was some construction last time I stayed, but it wasn't that bad. I wear earplugs, because hotel noise isn't uncommon. Another plus is that there is a 24-hour drug store you can walk to right next door, with groceries, etc. Two stories.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ZebbaDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    425
    200
    80
    38
See reviews for
352
288
82
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2007

Part of the Radisson chain, the hotel is presently undergoing a makeover and will become a Sheraton in the near future. This means various paths in the hotel are closed off and the hotel has a slightly derelict feel to it.

It is also beside Highway 5 - the main road artery between San Diego and Los Angeles.

The rooms are comfortable but a bit dark. Facilities such as the heated swimming pool, excercise room and hot tub are clean and well kept as are the gardens.

Altogether a very average experience!

  • Liked — Good pool and hot tub.
  • Disliked — A lot of building work presently
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you get good discounts due to the building woirk
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allisoniain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bubba92, manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2007
As mentioned in an earlier review the property is undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation to convert to the Sheraton La Jolla Hotel. The renovation is expected to be completed by the end of March. We apologize for any inconvienvce this renovation is causing. The renovation is mentioned on all web sites and booking tools.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2006

My favorite in the area. Kind and accomodating staff. Really beautiful grounds -- pool, small waterfal. Just lovely. Very accessable to all local attractions. Will return!

  • Liked — The pool!
  • Disliked — The computer was down for a couple of days. And not the best room service (but is it ever?)
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mattyNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2006

I have a mixed review. The hotel does look old on the outside but the room was ok. It was not too small but also not what I'm used to in size. It was clean and nicely appointed.

The bathroom that others have said was very small is small but it seems we were put in a handicapped room or something because our bathroom is not too tiny, but the toilet is so tall your feet dangle...lol! Also very interesting, lots of gold accents, I think this is a pre-remodel? The toilets also flush really loudly, you can hear them in other rooms. Otherwise the bathroom isn't bad at all. But like I said I believe we are in a handicapped room so it has to be biggger.

The remodel. Nothing like being woke up early in the morning to sounds of a bulldozer loading chunks of dirt right outside your window! I feel that we were kind of put in the worst room. We booked way ahead of time, don't you think they could have put us somewhere else? Of course they are full now so most likely we will be stuck with the room.

The A/C is a bit louder than other hotels and it likes to go on and off no matter how we try to set the thermostat! We had to unplug it. With it on you cannot hear the television unless you keep turning it up, and with neighbors you don't want to do that.

The bed was pretty comfortable, nice heavy blankets. We were in a standard room apparently because we did not get to experience the sleep number bed, but it was comfortable.

We ate at Humphreys the hotel restaurant. The place is nice. The food is not bad. The presentation on the plates is very nice but stay away from the filet mignon, it was tough and tasted more like london broil, and like charcoal. The rest of the food was good. Service a bit slow and a little snippy, but it's still worth eating there especially if you use the 50% off coupon the hotel gives you. Thank goodness for that because they are kind of pricey. Not absorbently high, but pricey.

I would say stay here but ask for a room that does not face the parking lot. But for the expensive price there might be a nicer place, but then again it is San Diego so everything is overpriced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Construction noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room away from the parking lot and pool
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank steffylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bubba92, mamager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2006
At this time the hotel is undergoing renovation to convert to the Sheraton Hotel La Jolla in April 2007. While we are trying to accomodate all guests and not disturb their relaxtion time this is not always possible. The property is trying to have any work that is going to create major noise done between the hours of 9am - 4pm, Monday thru Friday, no work is being done on weekends. We apologize for any inconvience this has or may cause over the next couple of months.

If there are any questions on work being done please call the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2006

I stayed 5 nights in the business building (E) and it was great. The rooms were clean. I enjoyed the little things. For example, they have an early check in that you can do online. I did it and when I arrived at the front desk they handed me a packet and I was on my way in 2 seconds. They offered me free cookies which were fabulous. There was ample parking and I found the room right away. The room had a micro, fridge, coffee pot, and sink which are great for those away on business. They offered 2 packets of coffee, 2 of decaf, tea, and hot chocolate in the rooms. They also give you a free bag of pop corn every day.

They have sleep number beds though I personally like Denver Matress better. The pillows were great and they actually have an office type chair. They deliever newspapers to your door every morning that they charge you for so let them know if you do not want it (it is very inexpensive, less than a buck).

Room Service - I had a couple meals that were really good. They deliever when they say they are going to deliever and you can order breakfast the day before and specify when you want it delivered. I had a breakfast sandwich, a hamburger and fries, and a shrimp dish which was incredible (probably because of the cream).

Bathroom perks - the bathroom has mouth wash, shower cap, a bigger bottle of shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion. They also have a nice regular size hair dryer - had I known before hand I would not have lugged my own.

What is also nice is check out. They drop a receipt under your door and you simply have to call and let them know you are checking out. Fabulous! Easy! Quick!

They are close to Interstate (or Highway) 5 so it is very easy to get where you are going. They are only around 15 mins or less to Sea World which would be great for families. They are also only 15 or so minutes to the airport.

I loved how there was a brewery across the street from the hotel. You can literally walk across the street and catch a good sports game while eating some good food. TGI Friday's is also around the corner and there is a Mexican restaurant also across the street.

What I did not like was how the Internet would at times kick me off. Though it is nice to have Wireless.

  • Liked — Fridge, micro, coffee, comfortable bed and pillow.
  • Disliked — Wireless Internet would kick me out at times.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't worry about food, there are lots of restaurants nearby.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank katiesftbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2006

Based my choice on the favorable reviews listed on this website and was not disappointed. The hotel itself is very clean, staff very professional and attentive. Great pool hot tub and fitness center. What made our 4 day stay although was the area around the hotel. The La Jolla Village area to the south was a wealth of great restraunts, markets and interesting walks. Top marks go to Elijah’s Deli for great breakfasts and friendly staff.

  • Liked — Hotel quality ..surrounding area
  • Disliked — Wireless internet was a bit iffy the further you were from the business center
  • Tips/Secrets — If a wireless connection is a neccesity make sure your in building A or B.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2006

We stayed at the Radisson for 3 nights. This hotel represents great value for money. We had some difficulty locating the hotel - probably our fault for not getting detailed enough directions. Check in was quick and effortless, our request for an upper level room was granted. Our kids liked the free cookies after a long day at Legoland.
The room itself was small (the bathroom was extra small) but clean and well equiped with a microwave, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities.
The beds were comfortable. Parking was easy and free. The airconditioning was slightly louder than normal but provided a nice consistent sound shutting out any hallway noise (that was minimal anyway). This hotel doesn't pretend to be 5 star, it's a two level basic construction but for the price, you get a well equipped room and nice surroundings e.g. pool, pond etc. It's some distance from the La Jolla beaches but if you've got a car it's a quick and easy drive to the water and the shopping precinct. We would happily stay there again.

  • Liked — Quiet room, clean, close to Seaworld and an easy drive to the zoo
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for an upper level room if you don't want to hear people above you
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JodieTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
3.0 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton La Jolla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton La Jolla Hotel

Property: Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Address: 3299 Holiday Court, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton La Jolla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton La Jolla, a resort-style hotel on 7.5 acres of tropical beauty. Located less than a mile from University of San Diego, La Jolla VA Hospital, Salk Institute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and Starwood so you can book your Sheraton La Jolla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton La Jolla
La Jolla Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing