We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Old Charm, in a good way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
122 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Old Charm, in a good way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here in summer 2013 as part of a road trip to San Diego. Really got lucky to stay here as we didn't have any reservations or idea we would be staying here. Check-in was easy and no wait at all. Service was cordial and professional.

The views from most of the property are great, especially from dining area and pool area. There was some renovation going on at the front of the hotel as the on-site restaurant was being brought back to life. The rooms were nice and quite comfortable. Didn't get a chance to use the pool cause we didn't have swimming outfits. We did think about using the hot tub, but it was very dirty. Probably got heavy use during the day and we wanted to use it at night.

They have suites separate from the main hotel, which I will assume are much larger, but are lower on the site (hotel sits on a hill/cliff) and closer to the pool. There's plenty of stairs and a couple of elevators for guests use.

The hotel has plenty of old charm to it and is located in the downtown area so easy to walk around to everything.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room facing the pool as you will more than likely get a view of the ocean. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear 2013 Charmer -
I am honored that over a year later you took the time to post your positive review; thank you. The real charm of La V would be our wonderful guests and we are thrilled that a stay with us results in lasting memories. So sorry about the late night spa conditions - it does get heavy daytime use and the sand from the beach can build up. The spa and pool are cleaned daily between 7 am - 8 am and earlier this year we converted the spa to salt water - refreshing for the skin.
We hope to see you in 2014 -
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    215
    76
    38
    12
See reviews for
200
524
25
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the La Valencia for 4 days and had a wonderful time. The room was very nice and clean. The property is well kept by the staff. I loved the location . You can walk to shops and restaurants with ease. The staff was very welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crownedqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Chicago Guest -
I am delighted to see that our service and location added up to 5 stars - thank you. We appreciate the added time you invested in La Valencia to share your comments and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the La Valencia for 3 nights for a little getaway and to celebrate our anniversary. We immediately fell in love with the beautiful hotel and perfect location in La Jolla. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. We booked a vintage king ocean view room and were in room 821. We loved our room and the view couldn't have been better. La Valencia has wonderful charm and we will definitely be back one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Anniversary Guest -
Thank you for letting us make your special occasion a bit more . . . special! Our coastal setting makes a perfect backdrop for the magic of our iconic vintage property and personable staff. The best ingredient would be our stellar guests - thanks for joining the ranks and we hope to help you celebrate many more anniversaries.
Cheers -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at this amazing hotel last week. It is really cute with so much character. The service is top notch, especially at the pool. Big thanks to Rob for the best pool drinks we have ever had! This was a nice hotel for both couples and families. I have a young child, and I would definitely return with her. It is not a kid hotel, but they seem to accommodate families very well. All children we saw were very well behaved. Lastly, excellent bedding and linens. Great quality! 5 Star all the way!

Room Tip: Rooms are on the smaller side. Upgrade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank telzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Service Guest -
BRAVO and thank you - service is so important to us and we are most appreciative that is the main part of any review - especially yours. Rob is one of our standouts and he loves to be the CEO of our pool operations (plus working at the pool is pretty cool too)!
Thank you again from a grateful team.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Nancy a concierge and Michelle of reservations were very thoughtful, kind and helpful, but the entire staff was great. The hotel is in a great location, with nice restaurants and the beach is right across the street. We have been there a number of times and just love it. John Thelen

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Wonderful Guest -
Our team is honored to know that La V was a hit for your stay. There are so many choices in San Diego and we are keenly aware that we must make our guest experiences special - thank you for making La V your hotel of choice for calling out some of our key staff.
See you again soon - we hope!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

For anyone looking for a first class experience this is the place. The staff from the valet to the maid service and everything in between is exceptional, without exception. Friendly, professional, attentive and always available. This is the way it's suppose to be done. Nancy Hirsch the concierge is the best. We were married off site during our trip, but no matter. She went above and beyond to help us in any way she could. This reduced any stress and made our special moment that much better. The facility is old world classic and impeccably maintained. It's also perfectly located in the La Jolla area and only a short drive to downtown San Diego and Coronado Island if you desire. Again, "it can't get any better". We would recommend La Valencia to anyone looking for a first class experience, great location, exceptional facilities and world class staff. Frances and Mark

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Better Guest!
Absolutely love your wonderful review and especially the praise of our team - they are the best. We truly enjoy what we do and it is in great part because our guests are so wonderful. It is our pleasure to make hospitality at La V a memorable experience - thank you!
Ciao -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

San Diego is already one of my favorite cities but our stay at The Valencia made it even more enjoyable, great location, friendly staff, absolutely great atmosphere! Loved the pool area, the constant service of water with lemon/oranges in it! Most recommended…just cannot believe someone mentions TV, at this location you don't need TV, look out!

Room Tip: ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esrafabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Spectacular Guest -
We're so pleased that La V- our service, staff and setting - was so engaging. San Diego is an amazing destination and La Jolla its jewel. We are honored that La V happens to be the most precious gem in the collection!
Ciao -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the regions most scenic and stunning coastline, world-class museums, indulgent shopping and galleries, La V is the perfect blend of location and recreation. The hotel's Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm with contemporary services and amenities in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 coastal-inspired luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas featuring stunning views of La Jolla and the Pacific Ocean, lush tropical landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar with casual Modern European Cuisine or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant featuring New American Cuisine. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing