We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful pool!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful pool!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I recently spent the weekend at this hotel and have to say it is truly beautiful, the rooms are large and comfortable, the bed one of the best I have ever slept in. We arrived late on a Friday night, the TV in the room was not working so a new one was brought to the room, it didn’t work either so finally a third working TV came, by this time after the drive in I was too tired to watch.
After a solid night’s sleep we were woken by the room alarm clock going off at 7am…not great for a relaxing weekend away sleep in but we did manage to get back to sleep. Around 10am headed for a lovely breakfast on the terrace, where my friend ordered a vegetarian omelet, only to find ham in it (which was a spot of trouble considering for religious reasons my friend cannot eat ham the staff were apologetic and breakfast was already on the house due to the above room problems coupled with the extremely noisy room/air-condition unit).
Next we moved to the pool, which was relaxing, fabulous and fun. The staff at the pool were amazing as too were the burgers and frozen cocktails. A great way to spend a Saturday.
Upon check out on Sunday everyone was efficient and helpful and apologized for the problems with the kitchen and the room, all was great until I got home and check my credit card statement only to find they had charged me 3 times (different amounts each time, I am now waiting to have the amounts reversed).
Even though there were some issued with my 2 night stay, I love the hotel itself, the rooms, the pool, the setting and the town, I would recommend it to anyone wanting a weekend away, just check your room’s alarm clock and bill carefully!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTravels075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Pool Party -
We are grateful for your honest review and comments. We missed some important areas and apologize but we thank you for sharing many of the high points that would warrant a return - please know that we use each guest comment as a tool for improvement.
We hope you return soon - thank you!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    231
    80
    38
    13
See reviews for
219
557
29
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The most wonderful hotel experience ever. It provides everything a luxury hotel could ever provide. All hotels should take notes from La V.
It transports you to another place in time. The elegance, beauty, details, staff, flowers, kindness, unpretentiousness, the setting, so thoughtfully designed, relaxing, it's transformative, like suddenly you're in the garden of Eden, a beautiful oasis! It's truly awesome!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuliej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Transformed Guest,
Your marvelous review is the talk of our team - thank you. Our staff is inspired daily by our guest and you have given us even more drive to make magic for those who pass through our doors. A grateful team thanks you immensely - we look forward to your return.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
253 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Fantastic – Orgasmic - All those !!!!! Yes.. Yes, Joy…Joy, the La Valencia is truly all those things and my, now, friends in this strip can reinforce your preconceived hopes and reservation so much better than I. What can I do??? Well, perhaps get you from point A to B, if you are the one in charge of those sorts of things. One, this is a great but expensive hotel, for me hotel.com took one hundred off and I was worried that we would be sleeping with the janitor in the third lower level, but not true, eight floor with ocean view. Two, there is no parking at the hotel, there is no overnight parking in La Jolla downtown, and hotel valet is $50 per night plus tip to the guy who actually does all the work—USB building down the street (one block north) has parking in the basement levels all night. True, you cannot get your car out after 5:00PM, but also true that we suddenly needed to and they have no gates on their ramps, so sorry sucker we are from Chicago, and went in and out with no one the wiser in the AM. Three, because it is on a hill, really big hill, the street level entry to the lobby is actually the 7th floor of the hotel, if you like to stay above the lobby you need an 800 plus room number. That’s all I got for you right now.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloJoeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Chicago Joe,
Those are some amazing and unique review descriptions - thank you and WOW.
I would agree - $50 parking is crazy but that is NOT our valet parking rate. La V offers daily valet parking at $30 with unlimited in and out service; your car is brought to you. I would not suggest your self park option down the street (you got a bit of luck last time).
Thank you for sharing your raves - see you back in La Jolla soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Old hotel that's been updated. It's situated on a hillside which makes the property interesting to navigate as there are multiple levels and many stairs. They are dog friendly and while we didn't find a specific dog area on the property, there is a patch of grass on the side and a park situated behind the hotel. We were in an end room facing the street with no complaints. Bed was comfortable, water pressure was sufficient. Everyone was extremely friendly and responsive, room was well appointed, very clean and quiet. Walk to shopping, dining, galleries and hotel is located on a seaside cliff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuZenMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Phoenix Friend -
I am happy to know that our Pet Friendly luxury hotel served you well. Our entry patio with dining options for Café la Rue and THE MED is our main pet friendly venues. The hotel fronts expansive Scripps Park and La Jolla Village offers ample locations for long walks.
Please come back soon and bring your four legged friend.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

we knew we were in for a treat the second we pulled into the check in parking. The pictures do not do this hotel justice, and will never show the amazing service we recieved from every single staff member while on our very special weekend . We felt so special from the greetings we received from every staff member we encountered. The hotel is a MUST VISIT destination with the great walking distance shoppping and great food at the hotel. As a Chef myself, i was taken back by the homemade sausages, and smoked hams .. way to go La Valencia Hotel , you will definately be seeing us again in the near future

Room Tip: we had room eight twenty one with full ocean views from all windows in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildmaui00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Amazing Guest -
We're so pleased that La V impressed - thank you. I am especially delighted to know that the Chefs' homemade specialties' were both memorable and delicious! Both Café la Rue and THE MED restaurant offer some exceptional dining options.
Thank you again and we'll see you again soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

There is no question this hotel has character and the details required to maintain a historic property are well thought out. The property is clean and well cared for with manicured gardens, fresh paint and something colorful to draw your eye around every corner. The ambiance is elegant with Hispanic old world charm and clearly attracts the well established visitors. Our travel party required a room with two queen beds and the selection available was limited to a room without a view (#207). We were surprised by the small and very old elevator but quickly realized we should be grateful they had an elevator in this old hotel. Our room was lovely but also very loud. We opened the shutters and windows for fresh air and there is quite a bit of street hustle & bustle and what seemed like kitchen/janitorial noise. We tried to drown out the noise with the floor air conditioning unit which helped during the evening hours however come morning we woke to the sounds of trucks pulling up in front of our room to pick up garbage and make deliveries before 8 AM. The worst "pick up" experience was the septic pumping that took place right outside our window at 8 AM. It is unfortunate these dirty details that are normally hidden behind the scenes have to take place in front of the guests when one is paying above average for a room without a view. I do not recommend writing off this hotel completely as it was noticeably "peaceful" when we took a walk through the lobby to the back of the property. That said, I'd highly recommend you carefully select your room and stay away from the building that 207 is in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sducey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear View,
Thank you for the detailed review and comments - I am pleased to see your 5 star rating on cleanliness, location and service; essential. I am sorry that the weekly delivery and facility operation was so impactful during your stay. We do have a handful of Village facing rooms and the majority of the time have no concerns but we do respect and acknowledge that street traffic of differing levels is possible (no weekend deliveries).
Keep in mind that we do offer Ocean and Garden-Village view booking options for the future - please consider a return trip!
Thank you,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is the premier hotel in La Jolla. Gorgeous ocean views and painted a flamingo coral. Happy Hour in the long exquisite lobby with panoramic views of the ocean. Several places to dine. The new Cafe is ok...but just a cafe. Used to be the Whaling Bar and the locals really miss it. The outdoor restaurant on the patio at street level is very good and terrific for brunch. Best place to eat lunch is the long, outdoor patio next to the lobby. You need a reservation for that patio and it is moderately priced.

Hotel rooms are to die for. Very luxurious and probably worth the money if it is special event. Staff is overly accommodating. Valet parking is a must. Locals call it La V's. Located right in the middle of everything and within walking distance to everything. Overlooks the Cove. Don't leave La Jolla without at least having a cocktail in the lobby. You may not want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Charmer -
We are thrilled that you loved our "to die for" rooms; thank you. La Valencia continues to enhance and improve our iconic hotel and just completed a renovation of our signature La Sala Lounge. The return of Café la Rue is catching on quick with this charming European style café including sidewalk seating. We struggled with the decision to bid the Whaling Bar goodbye but the legend and legacy of this rooms former glory could not be replicated and it was much more respectful to bow out gracefully.
Thank you again for staying with us -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing