We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best team event ever! Thank you La Valencia”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best team event ever! Thank you La Valencia”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

La Valencia staff pulled out all the stops by serving superb food with excellent service and exceptional ocean ambiance. Love the decor, the hotel has a great European feel.
The villas are very spacious and comfortable. We had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Ocean view villas are comfortable and spacious. First class all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear SD Team Leader!
We loved reading your compliments calling our staff the best team - WOW. We thrive on great guests - thank you for letting us make your experience memorable.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    238
    84
    41
    15
See reviews for
222
581
30
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendora
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked a room here for a last minute getaway during MLK weekend. Everything about our experience was awesome! Ultra friendly staff (From Front desk to the valets and housekeeping. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful). Room was immaculate with a great view of the ocean and very quiet. Pool area was very nice with the pool water at a very comfortable temperature. The lobby area was just a nice warm and cozy place to have a drink and to relax. Again, the staff was awesome. Location is also superb! Its on the main street so very convenient to explore the downtown area and very close to the shoreline. Also upon leaving, when our valet brought the car around, 3 other valets politely helped put our 3 small bags in the trunk and wished us a safe trip home...very cool!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John3232198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Awesome Guest -
Thank you for making La V your MLK weekend get away - I am thrilled that your stay was awesome and we truly appreciate your great review and comments. There are lots of 3 days weekends ahead so we hope to see you back soon!
Cheers,
Mark Dibella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our great impression of La Valencia started the moment we checked in. We were about an hour early for check in and the room we'd booked wasn't ready. Rather than tell us we'd have to wait, or offer us a lesser room, Todd at reception graciously offered us an upgraded room with a FULL OCEAN VIEW! Having left sub-zero temperatures and lots of snow in Minnesota, we were blown away by the view! In addition to the view, our room was nicely updated and very comfortable.

Before booking our trip to La Jolla, we had heard that there is a problem with smelly sea lion poop in town. Honestly, we never smelled it in our hotel or even walking along the beach. We saw tons of sea lions and even got within a few feet of one, but we didn't notice any bad smell.

The only place that stunk was this sea cave, which is only accessible through a souvenir store in La Jolla. I'm not sure what it's called, but avoid it at all costs. You pay $4 to walk down a million slippery stairs into a cave that absolutely stinks. Then you walk back up the million stairs and wish you had your $4 back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear MN. Chilly Weather Guest -
THANK YOU and please come back - the weather is fabulous (as it often is in sunny San Diego) and we would love to show you more of La Jolla. I am thrilled our staff arranged one of our wonderful ocean facing rooms to help make your experience more enriching. For many guests our private and enchanting garden and village view rooms are also just the right ticket for a La Jolla escape.
The cave is indeed a unique experience! If nothing else you'll get your cardio for the day on all those stairs!
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband grew up in La Jolla and always wanted to stay here. So, for his birthday we made a reservation. I informed the hotel in advance this was a special stay, and they went above and beyond. Greeting us was a lovely card accompanied by a decorated plate with a delicious cake and chilled champagne. Our room was lovely...the view of the ocean and proximity, you can hear the waves. The bed was really comfortable. Hotel staff were always friendly. The pool is a nice size, the business center equipped with the basics which was handy for a bit of work I needed to do. Normally, we like to be out and about and spend little time in the hotel, but here, you do not want to leave.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms have attributes. Loved ours... A corner room, which was also a free upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous3685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear La Jolla Native,
We are thrilled that you joined La V and more importantly that La V delivered for a memorable stay. The charm and enchantment of our vintage hotel spans decades and in 2014 we will continue to work hard to deliver experiences that matter to todays guests all wrapped up in the ambiance of our circa 1920's venue. Thank you for your wonderful and gracious compliments - we hope you return soon.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The La Valencia is an iconic California landmark built in the 1920's. In the heart of La Jolla Village it is a great location with a charming exterior and old world lobby... but it is mostly downhill from there.

The rooms are very small and the price exceeds any relative value. Simply not worth the price for what you get.

The new La Rue Cafe is horrible. Cold and without any redeeming qualities. The menu leave a lot to be desired and the service is cold and aloof if you can get any. Give it a miss.

There is a veranda restaurant that is lovely on a nice day...great view of the Cove and a good place for a pleasant lunch and a glass of wine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Local Critic -
Naturally we are sad to see your comments on the new la Rue - this exciting bright and open venue was never intended to take the place of the former Whaling Bar - a lovely legend but also one who's time had past. Café la Rue design and décor was inspired by the art of Wing Howard and his paintings (which proudly adore the walls) and were commissioned for the space circa 1947 (Mr. Howard also painted the then controversial whaling mural). Since opening on New Years Eve Café la Rue has been bursting at the seems - we respect that it is not your style but we understand if your memories remain cemented in the previous establishment.
You may be unaware of the diversity of our guest room options at our lovely iconic hotel - room size and rate options begin with our smaller Vintage rooms (Which it sounds like you booked) with prime ocean views to our more residentially larger classic rooms and suites in the original Sevilla and Cabrillo wing to our generous ocean front and poolside villas.
Our staff is very driven to ensure our guests are more than satisfied - I am sorry that we were unable to provide you with a renowned La V experience in which we continues to embrace and adjust to the changes in guest needs and expectations of todays travelers.
Sincerely,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at La Valencia for a weekend for our Anniversary/Babymoon. I was very surprised that none of the staff knew what a Babymoon was and even sent us champagne to the room after hearing this. But they did upgrade us to an amazing room with fantastic ocean views. The hotel has been been beautifully restored & modernized, it was hard to leave after the weekend!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear AZ Anniversary Guest -
As you might be able to tell, we LOVE to be part of special occasions - thank you for letting our team help make your anniversary celebration more than just special. A big part of our success is due to the amazing guests who we are honored to host - that includes you both; thank you.
We'll see you again soon.
Warm regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel is very old fashioned and very expensive for what it offers. Our room was tiny and you really couldn't 'swing a cat' in it. Even the porter had trouble squeezing in with our bags! We had a shower, tiny basin and toilet in what they call a bathroom but they shouldn't be allowed to call it that. There was no room to even put a toilet bag and had to put stuff on the floor in the shower. The room was so claustrophobic that we asked to be changed and they did so on our second night. This was much bigger and a bathroom that can be called a bathroom but the scaffolding outside our room and the noisy generator made this on par with the previous room. We had dinner which was great but we were pleased to leave this over-priced, old-fashioned place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lux_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest -
I took the opportunity to review many of your almost 30 reviews to better understand your feedback. You have a diverse and varied criteria for satisfaction.
La V clearly markets our iconic 1926 era property and diverse and varied rooms. You booked our best value vintage room in our Tower wing, approximately 265 sq., ft. with king bed, dresser, desk, night stands and club chair - the vintage bathroom is indeed a euro style with large shower with dual shower heads, vanity and toilet - all were just renovated in 2013 to include travertine and period tile. Vintage rooms have 9 ft. ceilings and the majority have stunning ocean views. La V also offered Classic rooms & suites which range from 350 - 425 sq. ft and include bathrooms with shower/tubs - much more residential. Our villas are most indulgent ranging from 450 - 1,200 sq. ft. with generous spa bathrooms. Each category is priced accordingly.
I am personally very pleased that our staff made arrangements to provide you with an alternate room type when you asked; our goal to strive for ultimate guest satisfaction - you received a classic room as more space appeared to be your main goal. I am sorry that neighboring renovation work impacted your stay - the project was brief but understandably not appealing.
I noted in your New York property reviews much more disappointment in rooms, amenities and service but still earning 4 stars. I am sorry that our eager and accommodating staff, well maintained facility and location did not earn similar rankings - this seems out of balance with your disappointment in the room type you booked at La V. If there is more you would like to share with me, please do not hesitate to call me directly at 858-551-3790. We do value all feedback and review it for any opportunity for improvement - we also recognize that each guests perceptions are also their true reality. I am sorry La V did not resonate with your expectations.
Sincerely,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
885 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,013 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing