We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Valencia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$236
$202
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$262
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$211
$183
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$179
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$203
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites(La Jolla)
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$229
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
$490
$385
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Jolla Shores Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$269
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $349/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,259)
Filter reviews
1,259 results
Traveler rating
829
265
102
45
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
829
265
102
45
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink ladywhaling barcafe la ruebeautiful hotelocean viewlobby barbottle of champagnesan diegorooms are smallsea lionsla jolla covegorgeous viewsold schoolthe entire staffan older hotelvalet servicevalet parking
Filter
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 1,259 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel with great views and several of great restaurants. The rooms were smallish, but well maintained and clean. Service was friendly and professional, and the it's located right in the center of La Jolla within walking distance of lots of shops and eats.

Really enjoyed the live music in the bar, but it can get noisy on weekend evenings.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear San Francisco Guest,
Thank you for selecting La V for a get away from the bay area. La Sala Lounge does indeed offer live music 7 days a week from 5 PM – 8 PM and happy hour from 4 PM – 6 PM – it can be livelier on weekends with many hotel wedding guests celebrating earlier “I do’s”; we love the excitement.
Our staff looks forward to your return.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found the room to be quite well appointed,but SMALL

The staff was ok-not more
There was an issue with our reservation, and they seemed swamped at that time we were disappointed ...
Was eventually resolved

On our second day, Room was made up in late afternoon( 5.00 p.m.)
:(

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 19paul49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear La Quinta Guest,
Great things come is small packages! La V has 112 rooms with everything from 1,000 sq. ft. villas to spacious suites to our more intimate (small) traditional rooms most of which have 9 ft. ceilings and sweeping ocean views. We do have something for every expectation and budget. I am sorry that your arrival reservation was not in order but pleased that our team resolved any issues; thank you for your patience. I would have hoped your experience with our staff was more inspiring but will use your comments to ensure we try harder.
Many thanks,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just ended a wonderful week with an old friend--this wonderfully retro hotel with one of the best locations imaginable. The view of the waves crashing in the Cove, framed with mature palms and an abundance of flowering plants, is just gorgeous. You never tire of it. The hotel is a grand dame with appropriate Spanish colonial architecture. Insist on a room with an ocean view -- worth the additional cost -- and enjoy drinks in La Sala to live piano music and watch the sunset view. Rooms are being refurbished. Mine had not been but was perfectly fine. Only complaint -- minor -- was the shower pressure. Excellent food and service in all venues. Nicholas was an excellent server on the terrace restaurant (which shares that priceless view) for several meals.

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view and request an upper floor -- lobby entrance is on 7th floor--try for 8th or higher for maximum view. Lots of weddings here, so if noise bothers you, try a room that does not face the pool area.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwcala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Texas Traveler,
We love that your consider La V your old friend; what a marvelous complement to our comfortable and casual ambiance; thank you. All the rooms are indeed now completed but I am pleased that you were happy and that the trappings of La Sala and the Mediterranean Room are once again excellent. Your friends look forward to our friends return!
Ciao,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff was courteous and extremely polite. We had a corner room with amazing ocean views of the ocean. Multiple weddings were occurring so it was busy but the staff kept up and made us all feel special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubbya775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Reno Guest,
I’m delighted that our staff ensured that you felt as special as our wedding guests, brides and grooms. La V offers such a wonderful ambiance that no occasion is needed to escape to our amazing setting to feel special. We’re grateful that you spent time with us and hope you return again.
Sincerely,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at La Valencia on my wedding night years ago. I went back in april 2013 and got a smaller room no view for a great price. I was so excited. I did not mind the very small bathroom due to the price. the bathroom looked recently renovated but I noticed a strange odor. the next morning I realized that I had been exposed to mold . I suspect that they did not remove the mold when they refurbished. I am asthmatic and spent the next 2 days recovering from the exposure.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank frustrsated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Frustrated (that is an unusual TA user name) Guest,
I can assure you that our renovation project included addressing any required issues from age or location including mold. All our guest rooms and bathrooms have indeed been renovation – the first time in history that La V addressed a full renovation in one period.
I rarely comment so boldly to a guest however you are wrong in suspecting that La V did not do the proper steps during bathroom renovations. We stripped old stonework, lath, plaster and plumbing before beginning new renovation work. Our location along the shores and cove of La Jolla includes the sights and smells or the ocean and marine environment. Spring includes a plethora of seasonal blooms and I am appreciate that combined with location any asthmatic can be impacted; we have staff who have similar challenges.
We thank you for your comments and look forward to your return perhaps to celebrate a wedding anniversary!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews