We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Pink Jewel in La Jolla!”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Charming Pink Jewel in La Jolla!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Near the end of our December California Coast road trip, we were more than ready to kick back and cool our heels. Never having been to La Jolla before, and not planning ahead, we'd first passed through La Jolla after a short stop and then tried to find a sweet spot in San Diego.

Later that same afternoon we'd given up on San Diego and back-tracked to La Jolla. We'd actually spotted La Valencia ("La V") while first passing through, having lunch and resting up on the patio at Cody's restaurant across Girard Ave (La Valencia is at Prospect & Girard).

When we stepped through the front entrance at La Valencia it felt as though we'd walked into a dream. If you've stayed at the Loews Don CeSar Hotel in Saint Pete Beach, Florida, you'll know the feeling. This classic hotel (I think it's the same soft shade of pink as the Don CeSar!) makes the most of its unique character, architectural charm and graceful ambiance. Staff were brilliant at check-in and throughout our stay. On departure, we did find a little communication problem with the quoted rate we'd received on arrival for our "Ocean Villa" suite, but our stay was so sweet it was really a non-issue.

Without a reservation, we were happy to find they had an Ocean Villa available, as we were looking forward to a suite with a balcony or patio. La Valencia's Ocean Villas are the newest part of the property. All have gorgeous, private patios. Ours had a view of the ocean and was only about 10 steps from the pool area. The Villa was an exquisitely comfortable and private little oasis that let us relax and explore La Jolla after a few days on the road.

La V's La Sala Lobby Lounge was our favourite spot in the hotel. Lots of fun for a glass of wine and a light bite. We started our evenings there. Live entertainment was great. Breakfast in the Mediterranean Room was an awesome way to begin our day. Try the Huevos Rancheros!

If you're looking for the absolutely ideal location to discover La Jolla on foot, you've found it here. La V is within easy walking distance of the most incredible ocean-front vistas, the best restaurants and enough boutique shopping to wear you out.

We did walk into several other surrounding hotel properties, just to give them the once-over while we were exploring. We left all of them so happy with our choice at La Valencia.

Room Tip: Go for an Ocean Villa. Privacy with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roam2Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Toronto Traveler,
I am honestly in awe of your wonderful review and marvelous complements. I know of the Don CeSar and am honored that you place our ambiance in such great company. Your descriptions rival anything else I could add other than a big THANK YOU for staying at La V – and see you again soon we hope!
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    242
    88
    41
    15
See reviews for
228
587
30
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our recent stay at La Valencia in La Jolla was truly a wonderful experience. The staff was very courteous and helpful, the service was excellent and the food was fantastic (especially the Meyer Lemon Ricotta Pancakes!). I would recommend anyone looking for a beautiful old-style hotel with modern amenities to stay at La V. The view of the ocean from La Sala upon check-in is spectacular and set the tone for our entire stay. The view of the ocean from the 9th floor balcony (Sunset Suite) was amazing, we could not get enough of the ocean view. Lots of shops and restaurants immediately outside the hotel, and it's a very short walk to the coastline where you can see numerous sea lions and seals. The nearby cove (walking distance) offers kayakers a great venue with equipment available for rent. I will definitely stay again at this wonderful hotel, the jewel of La Jolla!

Room Tip: Suites on the 8th and 9th floor with balconies for a spectabular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalaSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Scottsdale Guest,
I LOVE the lemon ricotta pancakes, I’m glad they were on your favorites list in the Mediterranean Room. Aside from the great view the food is spectacular. The Sunset Suite is definitely one of the most popular at the property but next time you may want to try an ocean facing Villa with private terrace; indulgence for when your return.
Warm regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I took my toddler to San Diego for a few days and got this hotel on Priceline for $80/night. We lived in San Diego for many years and are quite familiar with the area, and this was an excellent location to walk to the Cove and local restaurants. However, La Jolla is and always has been kind of weirdly situated, and it would take sometimes over 20 minutes just to get to a freeway! So keep that in mind, it's not exactly a convenient location if you have other places to be.

That said, the hotel was great. We had a nice room and the staff was very accommodating. I read that there were still renovations during our stay, but we didn't hear or see anything. You can walk to some great local restaurants, check out local grass-fed chain Burger Lounge (MUCH better than SmashBurger!) and Cafe Cup for breakfast. If you like salads and other organic foods, there's a little place called Lean and Green, we used to eat there all the time when living there!

Overall, I'd highly recommend this hotel. My toddler loved it and slept really well in their bed and it was nice to be able to take her out to play without strapping her into a car seat. Check out Priceline, you might get lucky too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanLove3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Ocean Lover Guest,

And yes, lucky Priceline Guest! Special price aside I am happy to see that La V was a hit for your recent stay; I think the sounds of the ocean made for a relaxing backdrop to put your toddler to sleep – a pretty nice babysitter!

See you soon,

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Checking into La Valencia was a Dream. From the front door, with Valet check in, who caringly said our pile of belongings would be looked after while we checked in. When entering the outside entrance, you first notice the lovely landscaped inside garden with tables and the pictures on the old cafe windows reminding one that this will soon be another part of the beautiful hotel and that History will continue. Once in the reception area, you are bathed in a soft light that immediately soothes you and greeted by two soft spoken receptions who quickly greet you and call you by name and honor you pre requested needs and send you off to your room with that nice bell man Bob.. who shares a lot about the area. We had a lovely room with windows that open, letting in the soft breeze of the afternoon and local sounds. Also, we received a lovely bag, that included a bottle of wine and a sweet. (It was my Birthday) this was thrilling. The room had a wonderful view and from somewhere a wonder smell continue to premeate the room during our stay. We took a long afternoon stroll along the beach and had lunch at Bubba (reasonable and good food). When I returned to the room, there was a wonderful slice of cake and a birthday card from the Staff, I was delightfully surprised.. and the cake was the best. Evening brought us to the Lounge and as the Cerna played we had cocktails and relaxed and watched the fog roll in. Had a light supper there and retired around nine. Feeling as if we had spent the evening at Hearst Castle, very elegant. Morning came and we were told by Bob to that the eggs I was craving could be found at the Brockville Rest on the Beach and so we enjoyed the morning and took off for the next part of our Birthday week... Of all the hotels so far, this was the most enveloping.

Room Tip: ask for one with at least a partial ocean view and on an upper floor Ours was quiet and had a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1mountainwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear wonderful Guest,

I am not sure where to begin but with a big THANK YOU for the incredible review and lovely comments. You words tell such a beautiful story and one that our guests can experience in many different ways and your articulation of your stay is beyond compare so again; thank you.

Please know La V will be here to make more memories and your return adds to our great history.

Warm regards,

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for our honeymoon. The staff was Amazing the hotel was beautiful and the location was perfect. Important details: wifi is free! Parking is not, it's $29/day. The are still under renovations but we were nowhere near the floor that was being worked on so it never bothered us. The ocean view doesn't disappoint.

They knew it was our honeymoon so the concierge sent up champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. So good! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannaweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Newton Guest,

I love that you used “AMAZING” to describe our staff – thank you. Our location and architecture are iconic but it is truly that staff that make the difference. By the way, guest room renovations are all done but I’m glad nothing interrupted your stay.

See you back soon we hope!

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I would highly recommend La V's as a recreational or meeting destination. The facility is in a great location and has a lot of charm. The downtown offers great food and access to a beautiful beach, but the staff was by far the item that stood out. They were friendly, and extremely accomadating. Our meetings were perfectly pulled off because of their great service. We will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWess2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Salt Lake Guest,

Our team is delighted to know that La V and staff made for an ideal destination. From meetings to leisure to social gatherings La Valencia does offer a special brand of WOW to our guests and I am very happy to see that the most important factor was able to shine through; OUR STAFF. Thank you for pointing out the team – they love our guests and La V.

Best regards,

Mark Dibella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I recently planned a meeting for my sales staff at La Valencia. Everyone was really thrilled with LaV itself but what made it exceptional was their staff. There was nothing that they would not do for our team of 35 people. They set up our dinner reservations, team building events and even went out of their way to ensure that a last minute guest had a room reservation across the street at a different hotel b/c they were booked. They even negotiated with that hotel to match the room rate that we received at LaV! They made everyone feel warm and welcome and went above and beyond for the attendees and the hosting managers. Although my team did not get much of a chance to relax by the gorgeous pool and just hang out, it was a great experience. Because of that, I am willing to bet that some of my team may show up there for vacation. Thank you everyone at LaV for being so patient and accommodating. Especially, Leo Lopez...our catering manager for our event. You rock and I hope they give you a great big raise this year ...You totally deserve it!

Room Tip: You definitely want an ocean view room...that goes without saying, really. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Meeting Planner,

Thank you; La V does make for an amazing meeting setting and our location and venues fills the agenda with inspiration and energy. I am especially pleased that the staff ensured that all the event details from planning to execution were top shelf – the team is our best ingredient and what makes La V so authentic and special. We also hope that many of your attendees return for vacations as you as well!

Many thanks,

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
922 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing