We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back In Time and glamorous luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
192 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Step Back In Time and glamorous luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Upon entry into the lobby there is one spectacular view of the Pacific after another. The side 'porch' with umbrella tables overlooks the hotel pool and great views of the sunsets. Great happy hour. Our room looked out to La Jolla shores, Torrey Pines and up to Del Mar (after the marine layer lifts each morning). Very accommodating. We wanted a small refrigerator for wine and cheese and, voila, there it was. Original wood work takes you back in time. Location perfect for all other shops and restaurants in the Village.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the view. Ask for one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayHeadTravelinBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear NJ Traveler,

Yes, how about that amazing Pacific Ocean view from the lobby; it is hard to beat and we love it too. I am so pleased to see that your accommodations were comfortable and that any special requests were handled to make your stay enjoyable – that is what we are here for.

See you back soon we hope!

Ciao -

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    214
    75
    38
    12
See reviews for
200
523
25
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights on the 9th floor with an incredible view of the ocean. The service was great, location excellent with easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, beach. I would definitely come back and stay there if I'm ever in La Jolla again.

Room Tip: I think any room is great as its the location of this hotel that matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Evanston Guest,

A big thank you for choosing to stay at La V – I am thrilled to know that our incredible ocean views set the stage for a wonderful La Jolla experience. With shops, activities and ocean front boardwalks only steps away, we do believe La Valencia is the perfect spot to relax and unwind.

See you back soon we hope!

Ciao -

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very good restaurant with good service. Prices are not extremely high, having in mind perfect location and ocean view. Place was almost empty on Thu night (perhaps, because of rainy weather).
Not wide variety of dishes in the menu, but all food is well prepared.
Will be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i_marchak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Savvy Diner;

Thank you for dining in the Mediterranean room with our exceptional ocean views and relaxing ambiance. From service to cuisine we strive to provide a very localized dining experience verses the trendy crowded atmosphere of other venues – we’re all bout great food and great service and hope to see you back soon. Next time try the 10th floor Skyroom or our legendary Whalers Bar.

Best regards,

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband chose this hotel due to proximity to a conference he was speaking at. At first glance, it is a pink, old world charmer, but truthfully, it has seen better days. The staff were lovely, but I really think we should have been warned about the location of our room. It overlooked the front courtyard which is pretty, but every night a very loud band would set up right under our window and play until 10, 10:30pm. It was like having a band in our room!! With my husband having to work daily, he complained and we were moved to a room on the other side of the hotel. I will say the manager was good about it and took one night's charges off our bill. But really, overall, I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room overlooking the front courtyard unless you are a night owl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniOstwald-Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Aussie Guest,

First and foremost thank you for the wonderful compliments on our staff – they are our main ingredient. I am sorry to see that the Latin band playing in our front courtyard was intrusive and can appreciate the concern. We do include live music in the summer but are already reviewing staging areas for next season to ensure that the entertainment does not distract from guest accommodations.

Many thanks again for your comments – we do hope you return again and our staff will ensure you a relaxing night of sleep with the sounds of gentle ocean waves.

Best regards,

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I booked a prepaid rate at La Valencia, and then was afraid it'd feel weird: it's an old property with history and being alone I was fearing to run only into only elderly and families. This was not at all the case and I was amazed at the diversity of the clientele. The property is in good shape with its traditional decor, the pool is a great area even to write emails. Food is fantastic on the terrace. The quality of service depends on who you are in contact with but one can tell they are trying very hard. Valets, housekeepers and restaurants/pool staff were all extremely kind. If I don't stay in San Diego next time, I will definitely return, it is for sure the best option on the coast just north of the city.

Room Tip: Pool & sea view, upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Germany Traveler,

We’re delighted to have been a hit during your stay in La Jolla; La V has been a favorite for 8 decades but we don’t want guest to think our age defines our youthful attitude and modern conveniences. I am especially pleased to know that we’re already on your list of places to return; many thanks and see you soon.
Best regards,

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I'm from La Jolla so when it came time to pick a wedding venue, It was a no-brainer. La Valencia had been a dream of mine since I've been little. I expected the beauty, I didn't expect the 5 star service we received. Every last detail was meticulously covered. The food was excellent, the view...out of this World. Every guest felt totally catered to and my groom and I didn't go one moment without someone insuring we had every thing we wanted. Shannon, the events manager is not only sweet, calm and fun to be around, she's extremely professional, organized, patient and elegant in her vision for your event. I adore her and her staff. When you grow up somewhere beautiful, it's easy to take it for granted. La Valencia and its staff made me want to come home and relive my event over and over again.
Highly, highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Wedding Guest;

A million thanks for the wonderful compliments on our hotel staff and services – we really do love throwing parties and weddings are on the top of our favorites list. Thank you for entrusting this very important day to the La V team – it is our hope that we are your anniversary get away for many years to come.

Warm regards,

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
160 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Picked from Expedia for cheapness, i was VERY pleased to be at La Valencia which is an old-style individual hotel that oozes class and pleasantness. My room was not large by US standards, but sizeable and very well equipped (nice to have coffee and tea making stuff). Comfy bed, lots ofn towels and bathrobes etc.

The propoerty slopes doen to the sea, and I had a view of the Pacific from my wondow, palm trees and etc. Excellent staff, good food in normal (iwe European) quantities was perhaps a little steep on price, but not crazy.

So, genteel but functional, polite and discrete... and in a verey nice area indeed, lots of boutiquey atrisan shops made for a pleasant couple of hours before heading (again) back to the airport. Thoroughly recommended, I hope to come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TACHSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Seasoned Guest;

I am delighted to read your charming compliment on our boutique hotel and localized staff; our goal remains a personalize experience reflective of the Village of La Jolla and it looks like we delivered. We hope that if your travel plans find you back in the neighborhood you reach out to us directly for arrangements – we’ll be waiting.

Cheers,

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the regions most scenic and stunning coastline, world-class museums, indulgent shopping and galleries, La V is the perfect blend of location and recreation. The hotel's Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm with contemporary services and amenities in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 coastal-inspired luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas featuring stunning views of La Jolla and the Pacific Ocean, lush tropical landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar with casual Modern European Cuisine or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant featuring New American Cuisine. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing