We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Hotel from the outside is great The views are amazing but inside the rooms!
This hotel is run down the doors don't close right and have no weather stripping to keep the cold air out. Cheap carpet that smells loud AC makes it hard to sleep and drapes that are stained and smell not worth the $300+ per night
and the room was not made until well after 2 pm so much for a clean towel to take a shower with

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingkp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear SD Guest –
We are so sorry that your La V experience was not top notch. Our team works diligently to maintain a pristine and well functioning atmosphere and environment. Your impressions of the property are of great concern and I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you in detail so that I can better understand the specific room you occupied – I can be reached at 858-551-3790. Our housekeeping staff begins guest room refreshes at 9:00 am with property completion by our 4:00 pm check-in time. I’m sorry that the timing for your room cleaning was later in the afternoon but please know that we are able to accommodate preferred re-fresh times if notified – that way we know when you plan to be out of the room.
Sincerely,
Mark Dibella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    231
    80
    38
    13
See reviews for
219
557
29
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This stay was a great experience on every level! The meals excellent, service special in every respect, the location superb. My wife and I travel a great deal and are fortunate to stay in wonderful hotels from London to Califotnia...we wold rate this among the best on every level.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Denver Guest -

La V is thrilled to know that your stay was great and even more honored knowing that you are a seasoned traveler. We recognize the large variety of hotel and resort choices available and value and appreciate our guests decision to select La Valencia, now and for the past 86 years!

See you again soon.

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had always desired to stay at this 'pink' historic hotel overlooking the ocean and finally did for our anniversary. It was better than we imagined...our room, the view, the service, the pool, the valet parking, the proximity to the cove, wonderful walks on the shoreline, snorkeling with garibaldis near sea lions, incredible restaurants and galleries all within walking distance. We received a generous upgrade to a villa as a gift...it was very luxurious and perfect!

Room Tip: At least choose a partial ocean view room. Hotel.com offered a discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhillkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Yorba Linda Guest -

Many thanks for spending your anniversary at La V - we hope this becomes an annual tradition as it has for so many others over the past 8 decades. We really do believe that like fine wine, our boutique hotel gets better with age (and so do many marriages)! Once again; Happy Anniversary from your family at La Valencia.

Cheers,

Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week at La Valencia. The location, the hotel services, and the room could not have suited our needs any better. We arrived the Tuesday before Labor Day from the east coast and our adult children arrived from northern California to join us for the long weekend. While we had to wait a while for our room to be ready (we neglected to ask for early check-in), they made sure the room was ready and waiting for our son and daugher-in-law. The views are incredible since the hotel is built in the side of a mountain overlooking the ocean (the lobby is on the 7th floor). The staff go out of their way to be helpful and couteous. Pool service is friendly and attentive and their are multiple choices for snacks and drinks throughout the day. The location offers multiple choices for dining if you want to eat outside of the hotel for meals (the formal restaurants can be a bit pricey and it is fun to explore the local restaurants within walking distance). We recommend the hotel and would definitely return again.

Room Tip: I was told to make sure to request a renovated room since not all of the rooms have undergone renova...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Awesome Guest,
Thank you for spending your Labor Day at La V; we’re delighted that our destination was a welcome retreat from Northern California. I am especially thrilled that our friendly and personable staff were on tap to attend to your family needs. And yes, those ocean views are pretty spectacular. We are very pleased that La V will be in your future travel plans.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainey Suites Hotel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Exploring La Jolla and wandered without a reservation into this classical Mediterranean style hotel that felt like a scene from Casablanca, but in brilliant vibrant color. So comfortable and relaxing from the moment we entered. We knew we were in the right place. Professionally greeted and welcomed by the gentleman at the Front Desk who was most informative and helpful and provided with a most comfortable chaarming accommodation that was impeccablly appointed and clean. Evening turn down provided complimentary waters which was appreciated. Cleaned up now and back downstairs, the inviting lobby and lounging area draws you in with a lovely outdoor dining balcony overlooking the lushly multi-level landscaped courtyard and pool; and then to the end of the extended lobby and lounge with a spectactular view of La Jolla Cove, towering palms and the Pacific Ocean. Spent the next day totally relaxing at the wonderful pool surrounded by tropical flora and basking in the SoCal sunshine and tempered by the fresh ocean air. Well taken care of by attentive pool staff, had a "to die for" lobster BLT with a glass of Chardonnay. Up the street, take your pick form a bunch of great restaurants for dinner from top notch upscale to just plain relaxed good food. OK, that's just one day. Enough already. If in town, you really should experience this place if even for just one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRGainey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Gainey Guest;
I love your “Casablanca” description – that adds to the allure of our Golden Hollywood days and enchanting classic ambiance. It definitely sounds like you took advantage of all that La V offers including the beautiful surroundings of La Jolla. Next time we hope you stay for more than a day!
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at La Valencia! Love the charm and the history of the hotel, and all the little details, like the stuffed sea lion on the bed, and the adorable iced cookies of sea creatures. My two teenagers had hours of fun exploring the entire hotel, as well as the rooftop, with it's amazing view. The Hotel staff was very friendly and personable! The most comfortable bed that I have every slept in at any hotel, with the most amazing pillows. I highly recommend staying here if you visit the La Jolla area.

Room Tip: If you book a room with 2 queens, request a higher floor........the first floor windows open to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello Sun Valley Guest,
We love that you love La V! Thank you very much for sharing your comments especially those about our wonderful staff. Aside from that fabulous ocean view, the staff is the main ingredient.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel has lots of character, many floors & levels with beautiful views of the ocean. There are multiple choices for food, snacks and drinks from the pool side to the hotel's bar, the Mediterranean Room, Grill Lounge and best of all is the Sky Room on the tenth floor. With a testing menu (only) you enjoy the cuisine of the new Chef who once worked at Melisse in Los Angeles, while taking in breathtaking views of the coast line.
We ran into a few difficulties with neighborhood noise, but the Manager Luigi Califano took care of it and this lovely young man, could not have been more helpful and gracious. With a manager like him, the hotel will never go wrong. We recommend a visit here anytime. Enjoy the hotel, Prospect Ave. with all of its beautiful shops and the wonderful beach and ocean with seals that come right up to you. A great place!

Room Tip: Sleep would have been excellent (bed was great, room nice) if it hadn't been for the horrible no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear LA Guest,
Thank you for heading down from LA for some La Jolla fun – I am happy to see that the hotel restaurants were such a big hit. Thank you also for noting the follow-up of our front office manager – he is indeed a big part of our success and I am glad to know that he was helpful. Our team looks forward to having you back soon.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing