We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attractive hotel and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
164 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Very attractive hotel and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

La Valencia occupies the perfect spot in La Jolla. Its location at the heart of the action and right across a small park from the ocean make it incomparable. Almost everything about the property lives up to that location. It’s a rambling building with multiple floors and wings, staggered down the hillside with a string of bungalows at the foot.
The pool is set in a beautiful location mid hillside, surrounded by luxuriant foliage and partly shaded; the water is warm and inviting.
All of the service worked very well for us. The room service, the waiters, the barman were all good and attentive. There is a terrace which overlooks the pool and gardens which is ideal for drinks or tapas. These are served with style.
We were upgraded to a sea-view bungalow, which was an unexpected bonus. This was a wonderful room and the bathroom was huge, with tub, shower and built-in steam facilities.
A few things weren’t perfect. The restaurant was a great location, but the menu was rather unexciting and pricey. The lounge area ended bar-service very early, leaving only the Whalers bar for a drink, which is fine if you like a fairly loud environment. If you don’t then you are out of options. The lounge should be open until at least 11pm for bar service.
The elevators are annoying. It’s a two stage process to get 5 floors from top to bottom of the cliff. This is unavoidable due to the layout of the property, but the two small elevators that you need to travel in are really ancient, slow to move and even slower to come when called. The alternative is a lot of steps outdoors, which may be good for the health, but not always practical, in evening shoes for example.
In summary, a hotel of generally high standard, but lacking just a few touches to make it excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toofastcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    231
    80
    38
    13
See reviews for
219
557
29
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights a couple of weeks ago while visiting relatives in the village. We got a nicer suite (#25) in the older section of the hotel (The original Calaberio Hotel) ground level from the street, but above one of the meeting / reception rooms. There were two more stories above us, which turned out to be a little disturbing around 2:00 am when a group decided to check in and "check out" the out the room directly above us with small children screaming & jumping on the furniture, Something I would have expected in a motel 6. The suite itself was very nice (newly renovated) with 2 flat screen TV's (living rm & bedroom) and OMG the Bathroom !!!! The BEST part of the suite (to die for) & Brand New! My wife did NOT want to leave after spending an hour in that Tub. My only complaint about the suite was the picture window (nice view by the way) It was Very Dirty, not cleaned in ????? If we had stayed another day I would have made an issue of it. The staff (we did not interact with that many) were for the most part very pleasant. The outstanding employee would have to "Scotty" in the bar! Very nice, pleasant, genuine and made out last afternoon a pleasure. I don't know if we will ever stay here again, but at least we can say we did. IF Price is no object......and you want to say "I stayed at the La Valencia" go for it!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room partial view or ocean view $$$ If you have to ask...............yea....you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I have stayed numerous times at the hotel. We absolutely love it. It's in the perfect location to walk around La Jolla. We have always been very well taken care of...there have been a few times we didn't like our original room and they have always been very accomodating...they want their guests to be happy! Our trip in July 2011 was our "babymoon" and we cannot wait until September when we will be there for a week with our baby. The pool area is awesome and very relaxing with gorgeous views of the ocean. I have nothing but good things to say about the hotel and staff. In fact, I spoke to the manager, Luigi, recently about our upcoming stay and he was extremely helpful! There isn't a better place to stay in La Jolla!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Kelup, thank you for your kind note about the hotel and Luigi , our Front Office Manager. We look forward to seeing you in September with the new addition to your family!!

Vikram Sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have frequented this hotel many times to go to the bar, sit i nthe lounge, lay by the pool but I only stayed here once for one night. I was expecting a beautiful hotel and i got what I expected.
If you know La jolla San Diego then La valencia is prob the best place to stay. It is central to everything. it has perfect views of the atlantic seaboard. right near the seals, great restaurants all around. near to all of La jolla shops. close to everything and perfect if you like running by the beach

Room Tip: make sure your room is sea facing I think they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larryKrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Mr. Krug, thank you for your response regarding your most recent experience at La Valencia. It is a very special hotel in a unique community. We look forward to having you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is about the same price, maybe slightly less than the lodge at torrey pines. It is based in la jolla cove which is a premium location, but i would rather stay at the lodge at torrey pines or hilton torrey pines for much higher quality rooms and more updated furnishings. I have a nice view (better than the lodge at similar price) but i feel like i overpaid by a huge amount given how tired everything is, the carpets are old and very dirty. That is probably the worst offense, but everything is a bit drab. They should really rodo the rooms and hallways. If they did, i think they could charge more than they do. I would rather pay more and feel like i was staying in a clean fresh room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredUSA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear FredUSA2, thank you for your posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We view our guests as family thus we truly value your feedback. As a start, you should know that we are in the midst of refurbishing all of our guest rooms and hallways with new furniture, carpeting, bedding and accessories. This project is on-going and will be complete by the Fall of 2012. In the interim, I would like to speak to speak with you personally to discuss your experiences at the hotel and share many of the exciting changes with you. My email is vsood@lavalencia.com so please send me a note with a good number at which you can be reached.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We just got back from a short getaway to San Diego and we just loved the La Valencia Hotel. We had an upgraded room overlooking the stunning gardens and ocean where I could have sat and relaxed all day. This hotel is stunning. Our room was very clean and comfortable and it was a treat to come back to. Each day we had breakfast in the hotel and the service was warm and welcoming, everyone was more than helpful but not obtrusive. We both had omelettes the first day and they were delicious. The next day I had the french toast and again, really good. We spent one afternoon by the pool and now that we are home I dream of more. Just lovely. Some of the management walking around the property was a little stuffy but this is a more upscale property than we are used to and I understand they are new. The regular staff was relaxed, helpful and very pleasant. I cannot say enough good things about the people that work in this hotel. I would come back in a second....

Room Tip: We stayed in 104 and it had a fabulous view where you could lay in your king bed and be in awe of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Ms. Wilcox, thank you for your very nice posting on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your room, the breakfast , and most importantly the staff at the hotel . The staff at La Valencia has always been the lifeblood of this very special property . We look forward to having you return very soon as our guests.

Thank you again,

Vikram Sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Executive Chef (Lance) and his staff are the best in the business. The beverage captain (Michael) is very knowledgeable and friendly. The resort is beautiful and the amenities are fantastic. A must stop for anyone visiting from in or out of town.

Room Tip: Ocean view and main dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing