We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the B&B Inn at La Jolla”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
Ranked #3 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at this fabulous Inn. The breakfast was great and the service was warm and friendly. We checked in on Sunday and were greeted by one of the staff who was extremely helpful and kind to my daughter who was not feeling well. We were given a larger room- which was very comfortable and cozy. Margaret, the Innkeeper was great-she made pancakes just for my teen who still has a finicky palate. She also gave us a great dinner recommendation. I highly recommend this Inn-it is well maintained, wonderful outdoor patio and garden, great rooms -and lots of little extras like the champagne breakfast, brandy in the room, and a wine and cheese reception every evening. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 521 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We traveled to La Jolla for a wedding weekend in August and as an extension of our 1st year wedding anniversary. The weather was beautiful and the town of La Jolla is wonderful. The bed and breakfast made us feel like we were right at home and it was a nice alternative to other larger hotels. Very welcoming, wonderful service and a beautiful and delicious breakfast each morning. Couldnt' have asked for a better experience. Would definitely recommend! The location is perfect and within walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shopping, etc. Hope to be able to travel back and stay again sometime in the future.

Room Tip: We chose the Pacific View room which had lovely breezes and looked out to the park and museum. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location is unbeatable, because you are within walking distance to everything: beach, restaurants, La Jolla Cove, park, recreation center, while not having to deal with downtown La Jolla parking which is a pain to deal with on the weekends. Its pretty quiet and away from the bustle of downtown La Jolla. They actually have 5 carports behind the B&B - its supposed to be for compact cars only, but we got our CRV in there without much of a problem.

Breakfast was so good! It was different 3 course meal everyday. The only thing awkward being new to B&B was that sometimes you have to sit with strangers and forced to socialize. But the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Everything was baked fresh, including soft chocolate chip cookies that were available the whole day.

The rooms are small, but have a lot of character and history. It feels like we step back in time. Amenities are great.

There are no in house staff overnight, so that is a little different from other B&B. We had no TV in our room which was actually blessing, since we were usually out to the beach.

Its also near 2 churches (a Presbyterian and a Episcopal church) if you decide to worship on Sunday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 610alext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I needed a getaway and La Jolla lives up to it's name, The Jewel (translated). This friendly & charming B&B was perfect; centrally located to the "downtown" area and beaches - so close we walked everywhere.

The food was excellent - breakfast is not ordinary - they take great efforts to not only prepare an excellent meal but presentation is also something that makes the meal all the more enjoyable. Guests are friendly - hey, we're all on vacation.

The wine & cheese reception every night made for a great start to the evenings. We enjoyed ours in the quiet (small) backyard garden before heading to dinner hour in town. We will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OC602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a wonderful B and B.......very quaint, spotless, and very good breakfast. Staff all friendly and helpful. The location is excellent...can walk everywhere. Thank you we had a wonderful stay. Doug and Kelly from Canada.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougKelly2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Without doubt, an exceptional experience in accomodations and ambience. Transitioning from this B & B to The Catamaran Hotal & Spa on Mission Bay was a real let down. Henceforth, we will only stay at The Bed & Breakfast Inn...we've been spoiled. !!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

First of all, here are the cons:
- Air conditioning is a problem.
- Also the plumbing in our room was iffy
- Be sure you know the type of bathroom you have. If you think that all come with luxurious tubs - they don't. We knew in advance, so our expectations were set.
- TV situation is old school, i.e. cable tv with a dvd player. But who comes to La Jolla to watch TV, so not a big deal.
- Parking is a problem. The spaces in the back are super narrow (get the collision damage waiver on your rental car - I did thank goodness, because I scraped the door panel trying to squeeze in). The street parking is problematic during the day with a 2 hour limit.
Here are the pros:
- Fabulous location - it just can't be beat. Close to the ocean, close to great shopping and eating.
- Very clean, bedrooms are nicely appointed.
- Margaret is a gem - don't try to check in early though. She runs a tight ship. Always with a smile!
- Breakfasts are a treasure. You may want to confirm early if you have any dietary needs. And be prepared for luscious rich meals. They alternate between sweet and savory. And they always have homemade yummy granola if the main course is not to your liking. They take some risks, but it mostly works out.
- The people who stay there tend to be pretty interesting people from around the world. Nice bunch.
- Freshly baked cookies and brownies are a nice touch. As is the wine and cheese in the evening.

I would give it a 5 star if the plumbing and air conditioning weren't an issue. But the pros far outweigh the cons.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marvelme_7, Director of Sales at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Your very thorough and positive review is much appreciated. We are in agreement that our location is ideal. La Jolla/ San Diego is America's Finest City, and we are just minutes from all it has to offer, whether business or pleasure. Our Staff, Chef, and Innkeeper/Manager take pride in providing quality service and appreciate your acknowledging this in your review.

There is unlimited time parking within a block of the Inn as an option when next you visit. There is always an on going saga with the low flow toilets - we are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. Air conditioning is normally not required since we are only a block from the ocean and are able to catch the balmy ocean breezes.
Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.1 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#12 of 24 in La Jolla
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla

Address: 7753 Draper Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range: $226 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a Luxury San Diego Bed & Breakfast in the heart of La Jolla only a block from the ocean. Relax in our serene gardens or on the sunny deck. Some of the Deluxe rooms at our Inn in La Jolla feature fireplaces, some ocean views, fresh fruit, flowers, and robes for total comfort. Awaken to unforgettable breakfasts and the ideal location to explore beautiful beaches, shopping and dining and all that La Jolla and San Diego have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b&b Inn At La Jolla
The Bed And Breakfast Inn At La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing